We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure awesomeness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pure awesomeness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great hotel with phenomenal breakfast. International staff gives the stay added interest. Very convenient to all that Bath has to offer.
Room was very comfy and quiet.
There was not a heater in the bath and taking a shower in colder temps was not a nice experience, but overall I loved everything.
Looking forward to next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestKYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    365
    132
    42
    31
See reviews for
146
555
76
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2013 but we kept all of our paperwork as a means to post a review on TA.

Our booking was two nights with dinner on the first night worth up to £22 (excluding drinks), and a bottle of house wine in the room. At £99 per head this appeared to be a bargain, and it certainly was. The only grouse was the room which was very basic but that was our fault as we should have upgraded

Location
Central location and perfect especially if you come by train as the railway station is a stones throw away. We parked the car up in the small hotel car-parking area that cost £8.20 per day, but ensure you book car parking in advance. Well worth it as we travelled around on foot or public transport.

Food
Everyone has different views and opinions on food, but from our point of view this was faultless. Food was cooked exactly as ordered.i.e. I like rare meat and my wife likes her meat very well done i.e. burnt to a frazzle. You can select a number of dishes from the menu in the three course meal with a £22 allowance on the first night. These are by no means basic dishes and we were offered the same deal on night two for £15. As my steak meal was more than this itself, three courses are exceptional value for £15. As far as we were aware there was no point in looking elsewhere to eat.

Full English Breakfasts are not one of our passions so we had a variety of items. No complaints and the local sausage was very tasty. Tea and coffee were good quality, and not the basic rubbish served up in some hotels.

Drinks
The first night three pints in the dining room and two bottles of wine cost £44; we considered this very good value. We did not use the bar for drinks.

Room
We were in room 106-this is a very basic room and my wife was disturbed by the fan in the adjacent bathroom. Put that down to me as I should have upgraded.

Staff
Very polite and helpful. No wine in our room on arrival and my wife needed extra pillows. This was pointed out to reception and dealt with in minutes. Staff also gave us some local knowledge about local tourist attractions

Overall
This hotel is a gem and as we both like Bath, we would not bother looking for alternative accommodation when we return

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

So then, Six months later,we went back for a birthday treat.We also had our Spa visit, as it had been too busy back in April-and the vouchers were valid until June 2014! Not that we needed an excuse to go back, to Bath or the Royal Hotel!
We changed rooms this time-and had 103...which was a standard double-having had a superior last time.Although smaller, as before, it was clean and fresh-with a lovely big bathroom.Both rooms we have stayed in, face the main street and the railway station...But were both quiet, and a good night sleep was had.
The hotel is beautifully kept, and ALL the staff have a smile and nothing is too much trouble from booking to checkout-Mike (the manager,who remembered my name-which may mean I was trouble lol) turns his hand to most things,and was found in the kitchen on the night we ate.Although I am guessing Chef has to take credit?? But the food-all of it-is so consistently Superb! beautifully presented,fresh and plentiful.Breakfast is a feast-you may not need to eat for the rest of the day! But the little touches, like real tea (LEAVES-in a pot!) and GROUND COFFEE, are what you can expect at The Royal.
So needless to say, we have booked another stay in January, and are already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a beautiful city Bath is for a short break! But the weather was awful when we arrived by train but no worries we just had to cross the road with our bags. I travelled with a friend and we both booked single rooms...mine was a lovely double room, plenty of space and everything that was needed- double bed, toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits, bottled water...great. But my friend was in a room half the size with a single bed - same price. So if you are travelling on your own ask a question or two before booking!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mandc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend and didn't realise that this hotel is directly opposite the train station-so no taxi transfer needed! It is in a great location for not only the train station but also for some of the sites-eg the pump room within walking distance and also the many shops. Also near to the open top tour bus stop! Cannot beat location. The hotel itself was nice, helpful reception desk, rooms spacious (although very warm without heating on!), great tea and coffee making facilities-even had a coffee maker! Breakfast included which was nice, tried the dinner facilities once and that was ok-ish, depending on what you ate. Overall a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicFD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at the Royal Hotel Bath for a weekend break to celebrate our Silver wedding anniversary.
We had caught the train to Bath and the hotel was just across the road from the station so we did not have to struggle with our bags. Our welcome at reception was excellent, both friendly and efficient and we were settled in our room in no time at all.The room was clean and had every thing in it you might need however we had upgraded as it was a special occasion but both felt that the room was not much different than others we had stayed in for less money. All staff in the hotel provided excellent service. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice and the bar was a pleasant place to relax in the evening. The hotel locks it's doors at 11 o' clock ( guests are provided with a front door key )which was great for us as we like to settle down for the night before midnight and there was no noise from downstairs to disturb us, Enjoyed our stay at the Royal and had a lovely time in Bath we would recommend the Bizarre Bath Comedy Walk (fun evening entertainment) and Yak Yeti Yak restaurant for good value excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gintymaginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Adequate, comfortable rooms and very polite service on the front desk. For those travelling by train, the location could not be more convenient; the hotel is directly opposite the train station.

To top it all off, the breakfast was excellent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing