We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curates egg- but way more good than bad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Curates egg- but way more good than bad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Royal Hotel Bath does some things really well first off is the location especially if you arrive in Bath by train. The entrance to the hotel is bang opposite the station entrance. Secondly the food and service in the restaurant is really good, well cooked food served by enthusiastic and informed staff, good choice and excellent portions, recommended. Customer communication prior to arrival was also really good. I particularly liked the crisp sheets and non duvet bedding and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

The room we had looked over Manvers Street and as we stayed over Friday and Saturday nights it was noisy, the sound of groups of braying males went well into the small hours! If you value your sleep take ear plugs or ask for a room at the back. My one beef and this is a big one because I think it is dangerous was the towel rail in the bathroom which was burning hot and which was positioned right next to the toilet and almost impossible not to touch. I am not talking a little bit warm I am talking burning hot, take care. Overall a good stay but pick your room, beware of the burning towel rail and check the details of whatever deal you are on carefully, there isn't any deviation from what you have booked and you will be reminded!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one, which probably means at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    377
    134
    42
    32
See reviews for
152
567
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was travelling by train and was so pleased to find such a good hotel opposite the station. The receptionist was friendly and helpful, stored my luggage until I could check in. The room was quite spacious, the bed was very comfortable, with good quality linen and a very good real coffee and cafetiere. All the shops, museums, Roman Baths and Abbey were a short walk away. Breakfast was generous, individually cooked. I would stay again next time I'm in Bath.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MermaidSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Bath at the Royal Hotel, It was in a convenient place for us. Beds were very comfortable.
The staff at reception were very accommodating and helpful. The maid service was very good.
We had a lovely, large, front bedroom facing the railway station which was a bit noisy at night. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

There was a good selection for breakfast. Again, the staff were very good.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was ok, but nothing spectacular.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuelphJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Royal as a couple in mid-week.

Situated right opposite the railway station and with easy read of the city centre and all the main sites of Bath, the Royal is very well located.

The rooms are a bit old and need some tlc, although the bathroom was spotless and had all the toiletries. Towels were good and changed daily. No bed duvet's, old fashioned blankets. Our room faced the front and was a bit noisy because of the traffic, but that is the price you pay for the location.

Breakfast was good with an excellent selection of pastries, cereals, yogurts and fruit. Cooked breakfast, and there was a choice, were prepared to order.

We ate in the evening once and the food and service were of a very good standard. I would eat there again.

One thing that rankled, and it's a minor thing. As part of our deal we had an ‘afternoon cream tea’. Now I don’t drink tea but wherever I have been before, they have substituted coffee – no quibble. At the Royal they would not do this unless I paid. Given that tea and coffee were available in our rooms, I found this attitude to be scrooge like penny pinching and it spoiled part of the experience for me. So, not good there.

Overall, the stay was enjoyable and I would use this hotel as a base again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
I wish to reply to this review as one of the owners of The Royal Hotel.

Firstly I would like to apologise to the reviewer for the inexplicable behaviour of the member of our staff in not substituting coffee for tea as part of the afternoon cream tea offer as this should have been done automatically and certainly not at an extra charge. Action has been taken to ensure that this will happen on future occasions.

We are obviously pleased to read the reviewer enjoyed the quality of our food and service in the restaurant but are disappointed to note that he felt that the rooms were a “bit old” and needed some attention. As is clearly stated in our publicity The Royal was built in 1846, is a Grade II listed building and we have endeavoured during the 18 years that we have operated this business to maintain the character of this lovely old building which was designed by Brunel and this includes decor and furnishings as far as possible to be in keeping. To assist us we retain the services of a designer to advise on decor schemes and we simply do not accept the rooms are in need of redecoration as we have a rolling programme of redecorating all the bedrooms at least once every three years. We accept, of course, that views on decor are very much personal.

Yes, we do provide blankets as opposed to duvets, but they are not as described by the reviewer, “old fashioned”, but high quality Merino wool blankets and the bed linen is Egyptian cotton.

Last but not least we are pleased that overall these guests enjoyed their stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming them back on a future occasion.

Ron Zanre
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Royal Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it, very convenently located within easy walking distance of all of the city attractions, the room and bathroom were both very clean & comfortable with plenty of room, the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the food service in the dining room was excellent to the extent that we ate there on both nights. Breakfast was also very good.
In summary a very well run, centrally located, friendly old fashioned hotel with all modern facilities & great value. We would definitely stay again if we are back in that part of the UK.
David & Jill

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Royal Hotel is very conveniently situated directly opposite the station and within easy walking distance of the central city attractions. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well-stocked with beverages. The restaurant had very tasty food and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the ambience of an historic and elegant hotel, which was very much in keeping with the city itself. We would rather have liked to stay longer.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have recently had a very pleasurable 2 night stay at "The Royal". The Manager & staff work very hard & succeed in creating a friendly atmosphere throughout. The restaurant produces good, well-presented food..... and the tea.... is made with traditional loose tea-leaves..... although if your preference is for strong tea, make it known.
A very well-run, period hotel, well placed for all amenities. Excellent for visitors arriving by train, as car-parking is very limited.
Will we stay at "The Royal" again?.... a resounding YES!!
Ralph & Marie.

Room Tip: Ask questions and state preferences at time of booking,as all rooms have their own individual charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REB547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing