We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have just got back from a perfect stay at this hotel I was part of a party that had booked about 10 rooms for 2 days. Great hotel clean, food good, location good. All staff friendly a young Scottish guy that seemed to be at the hotel for the 2 days we were there (maybe management) was really helpful obviously enjoyed his job as he was talking and smiling to everyone! Good to see an independent hotel doing well in Bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toptravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your “perfect” stay with us. I am delighted that your party found everything very much to your liking.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding Will (the young Scottish guy) who is a very important part of our team and, as you say, he is a friendly, smiling individual.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    392
    137
    43
    33
See reviews for
160
583
81
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Rooms a bit old fashioned ( but i like that ) very clean and friendly . helpful staff. good position in town . chocs biscuits and proper coffee and something to read also in room. warm heated towel rail in bathroom.

Room Tip: look for the dinner one night , bed and breakfast rate mine was £99 per night .The food was good ,bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Royal and I am delighted that you enjoyed the little extras that we provide in the bedrooms and that you found our staff helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is typical of older city center English hotels. Comfortable, very small but well worn and rather expensive. My room was clean and genuinely comfortable, but it is good thing my wife was not with me as the rooms do not comfortably accommodate more than one client.

The staff were surprisingly friendly and helpful -- a nice positive, especially given the fact that most English hotel staff are not very friendly nor helpful.

Room Tip: Hotel is across the street fro the main Bath train station. thus the quietest rooms are on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review which unfortunately was a mix between enjoying your stay with us but with some negatives. I am surprised that you found your room smaller than you would have liked. Unfortunately we are not aware from your review which room you stayed in but if it was a double or twin room, then your comment is particularly surprising as we have never had a complaint about the size of our rooms in the past.

I also, with respect, do not accept that our hotel is “well worn” nor unduly expensive compared to other comparable hotels in the centre of Bath. The whole of the hotel has been refurbished over a three year rolling programme which was completed just over a year ago and we very much believe in the “stitch in time” policy of maintenance after completing such an expensive refurbishment and it is for this reason that we retain the services of a full time decorator/maintenance person.

On the other hand I am delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful as we are very proud of all of them and invariably receive such praise from all guests who stay with us.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel, conveniently located opposite the station and in the centre of Bath. It was excellent value for money and the breakfast was first class. Dinner on both nights was excellent too and the staff were really friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 821Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review following your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you found everything first class and excellent value for money.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I had a very comfortable stay at this clean, tidy hotel. It's very close to the rail station, making it ideal for tourists. Food served in the morning was delicious. Staff are friendly.

We paid £80 for one night stay and breakfast- down from £135. In all honesty, I would have been disappointed if I had paid £135. The decor is a bit tired. However, £80 for a double room was definitely good value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay albeit you felt that the decor is a little tired. We retain the services of a full time decorator and I assure you that our rooms are redecorated as and when necessary but we do strive to maintain a decor style which is in keeping with this lovely Grade II listed building, which we appreciate may not be to the taste of all our customers.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Staying in Bath recently we had to walk past this hotel to get into the town centre. On our way back from an afternoon shopping we decided to call in for a well deserved drink. What a gorgeous place! The bar was comfy and the gentleman behind the bar was lovely. We ended up staying for 2 drinks and booked a table in the restaurant for that evening. We came back in the evening and were shown to a lovely table near the window, the restaurant was pretty quiet but it was about 9 pm and mid week, the staff were wonderful and the food absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend the restaurant here, I can't comment on the hotel to stay at, yet, but plan to rectify that on our next Bath visit! The whole place had a lovely feel about it and look forward to booking in !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheliacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following visit to our bar and Brasserie Brunel restaurant.

I am delighted that you enjoyed both the food and service and am grateful to you for recommending us.

I do hope that you will stay overnight with us when you next visit Bath and perhaps you would be good enough to contact me personally when you have decided on a date.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on business because I needed to be near the station. I was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and standard of the rooms and the choice and qualify of breakfast. Will definitely come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DrA534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much your thoughtful review following your stay with us.

I am delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing