We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay over Easter”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay over Easter”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed the night on Easter Sunday.
Excellent location opposite the station, and close to the new underground car park
Staff were friendly helpful and courteous throughout our stay
The coffee & tea-making kit in the room i) had a tea pot to make a proper cup of tea, and ii) a cafetiere and fresh ground coffee - which was a very nice touch.
Breakfast on the Sunday was very good.
Overall a very good stay at a reasonable - for centre of Bath - price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the trouble to highlight some of the enjoyable aspects of your stay, not least being the fresh ground coffee and proper tea!

We look forward to seeing you on a future occasion.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    388
    137
    43
    33
See reviews for
159
581
80
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Location: very good. Right opposite the train station. Can get slightly noisy with revellers and traffic but windows are strong and not much of the noise comes through. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Staff: courteous and friendly.

Hotel: very pretty structure - blends in with the stunning Bath buildings. Nice, comfortable, clean rooms with a nice bathroom. Lobby area is small but you don't really want to be sitting in a hotel lobby when in the Bath. Did not use any of the facilities so don't know if they have a gym and how it is etc.

Summary: value for money. Great base for a weekend break in Bath.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toppdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review following your stay with us.

I am delighted that you feel that we offer good value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having taken ages to find somewhere to park on a busy Saturday in Bath it was nice to be met by a cheery smile and welcoming face at reception. Our superior room at first glance looked great. Very well cleaned and presented. A nice room. That's the good bit.
Later at night we realised that there was no way of controlling the temperature in the room. There was no thermostat or air conditioning and no obvious way to open the windows. The room was like an oven overnight. Add to that the creaking floor boards from above and around and the general lack of sound proofing and you start to realise how dated the room/hotel really is.
Unfortunately I wasn't one of the lucky people on a room deal so £160 was in my opinion excessive for this quality of room.
Breakfast next morning was very good with very attentive service. The receptionist on exit was very pleasant.
In summary I found the staff to be very good but the hotel is dated and therefore the room was over priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for posting this review.

I am delighted that you found our staff welcoming on arrival and that the room was well presented and overall a “nice room”.

You are quite right in stating that we do not have air conditioning in our rooms but with large windows which can, with respect, easily be opened this should provide sufficient air circulation and cooling at this time of year.

I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and that you found our staff to be pleasant.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this perfectly located hotel in the heart of the city centre, literally a stone's throw from Bath Spa station. Excellent, knowledgable staff who knew who you were and your room number without being asked; All meals taken were faultless, and service extremely good; bedroom and bed was very comfortable, with lots of extras which we didn't expect for the price (trouser press, fan, real coffee granules and cafetiere and Twinings English Breakfast tea). Perfect hotel for a short break in Bath. Our package included 2 hours at the Spa, half board (excellent choice from menu) and a champagne cream tea which we were able to take after checking out and was a perfect end to our stay. 10/10 Royal Hotel - more upmarket hotels would have a hard job offering anything better or even as good - I will recommend to everyone I know who would enjoy this experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceyloufreebushl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review that you have given us and for taking the trouble to detail some of the aspects of your stay which you so much enjoyed.

We look forward to you visiting us sometime soon for perhaps another Spa Break.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The service was second to none. The staff were always pleasant, helpful, happy and knowledgeable. They knew all about your booking and had everything you needed to hand. They explained about dinner, breakfast, WiFi etc without you having to ask. The food was excellent. The room and facilities were lovely and more than adequate. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Bath.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknTrish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
A lovely review – thank you very much for having taken the time and trouble to post it.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Check in was smooth and the man on the desk very helpful. When I got to my room I checked the sheets to make sure they were clean and they were crawling with some sort of insect which jumped when I tried to squash it. They looked like head lice but bigger.

I reported this to reception and they moved me to another room - a twin. I didn't like the rooms at all - very old decor, musty smell and windows which didn't lock. As a woman travelling alone this isn't ideal. In addition, there was a nest of pigeons outside my window - you can imagine the noise. The blankets were old and very scratchy material - I suggest that duvets are more practical.

Although the man at reception apologised for the bugs in the bed and said he will report it to the manager, I heard nothing from the manager and didn't receive any sort of recompense for the issue.

The breakfast porridge was like soup - very odd! Eggs Benedict were fine though.

I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Krobbo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
As one of the owners of The Royal Hotel, I wish to reply to the above review.

Immediately this guest brought her concerns to our attention, we arranged for her to move to another room and subsequently the Duty Manager, accompanied by our housekeeper, inspected the room which she had complained about for any evidence of insects of any sort and they failed to find any trace whatsoever. This is not surprising as we do not have any history of bugs or anything similar and we retain the services of a national company to carry out regular inspections and preventative treatment against all bugs and the most recent inspection was just 2 weeks prior.

I regret that she did not like the decor in the replacement room but of course decor preferences are very much a personal choice, however, it is not an “old” decor as it was redecorated only 18 months ago. During the servicing of a bedroom, all windows are opened but once the housekeeping staff have completed their jobs the windows are closed and the room is sprayed with a lemon scented air freshener spray as a final task and, given this, we are surprised that the guest found the room musty. As for the windows, with due respect all windows in our bedrooms are lockable and we have many female guests who with us on their own.

There are no pigeons nesting outside of this particular bedroom or any other bedroom in our hotel but there are a lot of pigeons in Bath and this is something we have to live with.

Our blankets are soft Merino wool and not at all scratchy and, as promoted on our website, the sheets and pillowcases are of Egyptian cotton

Our receptionist did not apologise for the insects in the bed as there were not any and as there was no trace there was no need to apologise. Also we did not feel there was any need for compensation as the guest was given a double/twin as opposed to her single room, at no extra charge.

Our porridge is freshly made and is milky as opposed to the rather “pasty” porridge that is often served in some hotels.

We very much regret that this guest did not enjoy her stay with us but hope that she will accept this explanation as unfortunately on departure she did not complain to any member of staff nor did she complain via the customer comment card in her bedroom, which would have enabled our management to cover all of the points with her prior to her leaving.



Ron Zanre
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my husbands birthday at the end of March in a superior room. Lovely room with lots of extras like proper coffee with a cafetiere. Breakfast was just right nice change from self service. Ate in the restaurant both nights food excellent! Service was top notch throughout, especially the waitress didn't get her name just that she was from Leeds and the reception staff, nothing was too much trouble. Location is fantastic you virtually step out of the hotel into the centre of Bath. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darnylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful complimentary review and in particular for highlighting some of the attractions of staying with us at The Royal, not least being the quality of our lovely staff.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing