We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch in many ways.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
fethiye
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top notch in many ways.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location excellent ......... Next to bus and train station; airport bus across the street; rıver bank and all major attractions within minutes away.
Evening meal was included in package and offers a good range of choice, excellent quality and faultless service.
Reception was helpful and welcoming.
House keeping was thorough.
Shower was always hot and easily controlled.
Room 111 had no view but was comfortable and well equipped.

Having said all of the above, why only a 4 rating?
The creaking of every floorboard was a little annoying.

If ever going to Bath, consider this hotel because it has top notch staff and dining and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomamca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and in particular the appreciative comments with regards to our “top notch” staff who we are very proud of.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    382
    135
    43
    33
See reviews for
159
575
78
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

1. Staff; could not have been more helpful.
2. Sleep Quality; located across the road from the Train Station and Bus Terminus, drunks up an down the street all night looking for transport home.
3. Sleep Quality; high winds all night, existing wooden sash windows rattledal night, secondary glazing usless unable to shut properly due there being no catch.
4. Cleanliness; cleaner's left new clean towels on the hallway floor while cleaning the rooms for the next guests.

Room Tip: Ensure your room doesn't face the street..................!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EdmundNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We very much regret that you were disturbed by some late night revellers outside of the bus terminus and because of high winds. Thankfully such incidents are rare

I am surprised that you were unable to fully close the secondary glazing as there is a very effective locking mechanism

With regards to your witnessing a member of our staff leaving clean towels on the hallway floor, although our cleaned laundry is wrapped in protective coverings which would ensure that it would not become dirty even it was left on the floor, we do provide our housekeeping staff with trolleys for the very purpose of transporting laundry between the rooms. I regret that this appears to not have happened on this occasion.

I am pleased, however, that you did find our staff helpful.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay in this hotel over the May Bank Holiday.
The staff really couldn't do enough for us - the young ladies at the reception were particularly helpful and always cheerful and very pleasant.
We booked a superior double and it was definitely worth the extra money as the room was extremely spacious with chairs and a settee comfortably placed in front of the very large flat screen TV. The food too was delicious and very good value for money as we had booked the dinner B&B deal ( I particularly recommend the desserts!).
Everything was spotlessly clean and I can't recommend this hotel enough. If you are looking for a hotel only a short walk from all the attractions of Bath you really can't go wrong with this one - especially if you are going by train as the station is just opposite the hotel
Can I say thanks again to all the wonderful staff who made our stay such an enjoyable one..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneG220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review following your stay with us

I am delighted that it was a wonderful break for you and your daughter and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night on a Friday. Having arrived at 10.00am at the hotel we were pleased to be able to leave our bags returning in the late afternoon to check in. All the staff are very friendly,helpful and courteous, I feel nothing would be too much trouble. Our room was large with a four poster bed.Everything we could need was available,in the room we had ground coffee,bottled water,biscuits as well as fluffy bath robes and slippers. I am quite fussy about mattress firmness and quality of pillows and I have to say both we're brilliant. Yes I agree with some of the other comments that reception is a little small and unimposing but the rest of the hotel accommodation the bar and restaurant are fine. In a nutshell if you want a comfortable hotel,with easy access to the station,bus station and the attractions of Bath,priced favourably and with good service then you can't go wrong with The Royal!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireRugbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for highlighting the attractions of your stay with us at the Royal

The space available for reception is constrained by the design of the building, which was built in 1846, and being a Grade II listed property we cannot alter the structure. That said a hotel reception is primarily designed to be functional but, of course, clean and tidy.

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights midweek under the hotels leisure break deal. Advertised on their website and for the price of the room per night we got Bed, breakfast, 3 course dinner and bottle of wine in the room.

The hotel is near the station so is easily accessible but we drove so prebooked one of the 6 car parking spaces at the rear of the hotel.

Our room was a superior double and was clean and comfortable. The rooms are decorated to match the architecture of the hotel, which I understand was designed by Brunel! The only quirk which I can see annoying some people is the noisy floorboards but we weren't bothered by this. I did however use the lift down each time as the stairs are a little wonky and not the best in heels!.

We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food. My husband had the shoulder of beef and was impressed with how this had been cooked. The desserts available are fabulous.

All the staff here are very welcoming, pleasant and knowledgeable. Emily and Charlotte on reception are lovely and the young lady in the restaurant very helpful. In fact, all the staff here are great!

The hotel, is in a great location, you can walk to all the attractions. Very good value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Bath or the surrounding area!

Room Tip: Choose a superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your thoughtful detailed review following your stay with us and for, in particular mentioning the quality of our staff and especially Emilie and Charlotte and the waitress who served you in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a birthday treat for him as we love to drink and relax in bath and we were meeting family for a meal.
On entering the hotel I have to say it needs a very slight improvement as not much room to the reception area .however its perfectly located and we were welcomed very well. Our room however large and beautifully decorated had two single beds making up our double which I personally hate I went to complain which I never do but was a special occasion and straight away they understood and even upgraded us to a superior room even more beautiful and with no quibble we enjoyed our stay and would like to thank the staff for being so lovely and making sure we had a fab stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you consider your stay with us was “great” and I am especially pleased that we were able to upgrade you to superior room given it was a birthday treat for your partner.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

First impression of the hotel as you walk in the door is the exceptionally tired and drab reception area. If you are expecting anything special or even half decent then you will be disappointed. The only cheery part of the greeting is the helpful and friendly reception staff. Apparently the rooms are decently refurbished ...apparently! The room was ok...just. The floor boards were incredibly creeky and there was little or no sound proofing. The bathroom could have done with some attention. The hot tap in the sink didn't work and the shower control knob wasn't attached to the unit. Perhaps my expectations were too high as they seemed to offer a decent deal but I wouldn't pick this hotel again. The breakfast and dinner were good and service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TF3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We were very surprised to read that you found the reception area unattractive. We accept that it is a small area and, of course, a very busy working one but we do not accept it is “tired and drab” as it has been nicely decorated.

Turning to the bedrooms, yes some of the floor boards are “creaky” but the building was constructed in 1846. However we do not accept the suggestion that the decor and furnishings are anything other than of a good standard and in keeping with the style of this 1846 building.

Regarding the bathroom, unfortunately we were not aware that the valve in the hot water tap was sticking and that the nut on the shower handle had fallen off and, therefore, the shower knob had somehow been lost. Our housekeeping staff should have picked this up before this room was let but unfortunately it only came to light the following day when both items were repaired. My apologies for the shortcoming with regards to these two issues.

I am pleased that you found our reception staff friendly and helpful and that the food and service at breakfast and dinner was excellent.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review and once again I apologise for the lack of attention to the faulty items in the bathroom.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing