We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel ok, restaurant poor, variable pricing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel ok, restaurant poor, variable pricing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on a spa leisure break which included 2 nights accommodation, breakfast and 2 tickets to the Thermae Spa - located approximately 5 minutes from the hotel.
Essentially:
- Room, ok. Little dated, but generally clean;
- Located close to Railway Station, so a little noisy but not too bad;
- Booked parking in advance, turned up and had no record of our booking - Railway Station car park was just across the road and cheaper, so that was lucky!!;
- Restaurant, service was ok, food was poor and overpriced;
- Thermae Spa Vouchers were included, which was good but they didn't tell you that you have to queue for over an hour to get in and even then you're not guranteed entry...!;
- Came to pay, bill pricing difefrent to that quoted...... as expected (we had read Trip Advisor in advance!). Hats off to the Manager though, he did sort it after 10 minutes of duscussion in front of 5+ other guests waiting to pay.

Overall, we had a lovely weekend in Bath. The hotel was average, food poor.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeedonAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    377
    134
    43
    32
See reviews for
154
567
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akira1981
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

The Hotel itself was average, the double bed was two singles, zipped together by the mattresses, in an altogether dark room. We needed the lights on all throughout the day. There was no view, windows looked out onto other buildings and a funny looking inner yard. The bathroom was nice, with a slightly larger than average bath.
My main concern with this hotel is the resteraunt. We paid £180 each night including breakfast and dinner, which would not of been a problem if the food was edible. The menu was altogether too general, which tends to indicate the microwave is going to be set to defrost. My Tuna nicoise salad was not cooked in the centre and the Thai fish cakes were very, very chewy/rubbery. In the morning, the eggs benedict were drenched in vinegar, which made it inedible. By this time I still gave the resteraunt the benefit of the doubt stupidly, and thought it was of just been a one off. However, the second night, the vegetable soup, with no mention of noodles was stuffed with the latter. I counted one bean and two peas which would of been laughable. We both ordered rib-eye steak and received rump steak, however the previous night we returned a wrong order of food and so stupidly we thought oh well, we don't want to cause any trouble. The pepper corn sauce, tasted awful and made me and my partner ill. We left halfway through before the onslaught of desert.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Akira1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

Stayed here with friends in 3 twin rooms, Friday to Sunday. From the hotel web site and general spin I expected somerthing a bit more swish. Many good points as well as negative ones though.
Location: Near railway station, but not especially noisy. Within 10 minutes of main town & the attractions there. Car parking in the railway car park - £15 with no concession from the hotel. Pretty poor!
Reception: Not exactly unpleasant welcome, but not warm either. However took notice of comments and acted on them.
Lift: Just one, slow and with a mind of its own.
Bar: Excellent service. Pleasant surroundings. Bar staff superb. Recommend the olives & bread nibbles. Good range of beer
Restaurant: Didn't use it for dinner but breakfast excellent with wide choice of cold and hot food which was delicious. On the down side I asked for soya milk & was brought an already opened carton which was not as fresh as it should have been. I told the waitress who removed it. Next morning there was no soya milk at all. Knowing there was at least one guest in the hotel who needed it, I had really expected them to buy some more. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful, but on Sunday morning, although there were 4 of them on duty they seemed to be struggling, resulting in long waits for tea & coffee.
Rooms: Rather small. Recently refurbished, but still somewhat lacking. Beds comfy enough, but the pillows were AWFUL.. Why oh why don't these establishments replace pillows frequently? Mine were lumpy, offerred no support at all, there were feathers coming through the ticking and were a tadge smelly. Actually I had two awful nights directly because of the pillows. Considering the number of sweaty heads that lay on hotel pillows they really should be replaced OFTEN.
On arrival there was no hand soap and no mineral water. This was corrected as soon as we told reception. Next day there was no bath mat & hand towel and no teabags. Again corrected when we asked. But why did we have to ask??
My friends reported similar inconsistencies in their room servicing.
They also noticed a lot of dust on the bedhead. Generally we got the feeling that room staff were half hearted about maintaining standards.
But, on the plus side, there are loads of sockets for hairdressing tools etc, which are placed near the mirrors! Hooray!
Bathroom was adequate, we had a bath with shower over. Plenty of hot water. Good lighting for make up etc.
Check out was a pantomine. The (foreign) receptionist had all three bills (one for each room) muddled up. A senior staff member was explaining to her what she should be doing but she just didn't listen. It took 10 minutes for us to complete a simple transaction, and then only after the senior took over. We were not impressed with this performance. I couldn't understand the receptionist because of her heavy accent. While I was there she answered the telephone twice but the caller hung up - I'm not surprised, they probably couldn't make out what she was saying.
There is a terrace outside room 112/113 with benches and flowers where guests can sit to have a cigarette. Lovely idea!
Although we enjoyed our stay in Bath, and our stay at The Royal was acceptable, I don't think it was worth the £130 per night which we paid.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smellywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.k
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Royal Hotel in Bath. After reading various reviews i was very surprized at what we found.
We booked 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. The food was very good and the portion size well was massive, you eat in the same resturant as the paying public and you are treated the same no smaller portions etc. All the food is fresh and not frozen as in alot of resturants, A choice of veg,salad or three types of potatoe.The sweet menu was just as good loads of choice and again all homeade and great presentation. Breakfast again was great you have a buffet with fresh fruit, yoguts, cereals, pastries, then you have a choice of freshly cooked breakfast. The staff very helpfull and friendly. The chef does a fab job. I was not expecting this normally we would eat out the 2nd night due to the food on the 1st. But not here we enjoyed the food.
The two bars are very good and very busy so if your a people watcher your love just sitting there and watching the world go by. The one thing that impressed me on the saturday evening the main bar was very busy and the barman would only serve hotel guests in this bar, thus anyone from outside the hotel had to go to the sports bar, so we didnt have to jump over people to get to the bar giving it that nice feeling.
The room we stayed in was on the top floor facing the road, 304. yes you could hear the noise but it wasnt like other reviews once we went to bed we had a goodnights sleep. The rooms are good sized with everything you need.
The location for us was really good right slap bad in the centre of Bath. 5 mins walk from evertything and what a wonderfull city it is...
The only downside is the parking as i prebooked this to get to the hotel to be told there was no room and i would have to park else where. To be told this on arrival didnt get me off to a good start, but once i checked in to the room and had dinner all was forgotten.
We will be returning to the hotel.... i will be looking out for the offers.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Royal hotel last weekend and would recommend it to anyone. The location is great particularly if you are travelling from Bath by train as it is next door. A short walk (5-10 mins) and you will reach the centre of Bath 15 minutes walk and you can get to the Royal Crescent. Noise wise no problems the rooms had the original sash windows with newer sliding sash secondary glazing.
I would say the corridors and stairs looked rather tired but this did not affect our stay, having read some of the negative reviews I was worried on the way to the room.
We stayed in room 208 which was plenty big enough, good selection of complimentary drinks and mineral water, the shower room was to a good standard (no bath). The bar area had been recently refurbished and was a pleasant place to sit with a good atmosphere.
Breakfast was great all cooked fresh and large selection with good quality ingredients, the floorboards squeak like crazy in the restaurant but I suppose it adds to the character. It's not the cheapest place to stay but I felt I got value for money. Whilst in Bath you must try the Thermae Spa (sitting in a hot tub looking across the skyline of Bath in January is a must!)

  • Liked — Friendly Staff / Location / Breakfast
  • Disliked — Corridors and stairs in need of decoration
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rory_fowdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Very disappointed with this hotel, the website leads you to believe it's going to be elegant and polished whereas all you get when you get there is shabby and run down.

Prior to booking they fail to mention on their website that you will be practically sleeping on top of not only a train line but also a huge construction site that will be starting work at 7am on a saturday morning.

The room was dark and run down and looked like the furniture had been purchased from the local oxfam and thrown together. Dispite being on the third floor our windows were covered over so not only could we not see our there was very little natural light.

The staff and the breakfast were very nice but this did little to make up for the fact we could have stayed at the travel lodge for half the price and a better location!

On check out we had to wait in a queue for 30 mins as they only had one poor lady on the desk for a sunday morning checkout at 11am.

Overall, i'd only recommend this hotel if you were getting it for half the price.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The rest of it
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NattyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

I recently arranged a weekend away to celebrate our 50th birthdays, for 14 of us. I found the communication with the hotel excellent, very prompt to answer queries by email or phone. I was anxious about the standard of the hotel, but we had a great stay, with no complaints. One small problem (the towels had not returned from the laundry on time) was sorted out and the hotel apologised for the trouble caused, although they did arrive later.
The food was excellent, with a great choice, we had breakfast and evening meals on both days, with a lovely table set for the group.
The hotel arranged passes to the Thermae Spa, which was excellent, and a short walk from the hotel.
There has been a lot of negative feedback about this hotel, but don't let this put you off, we had a great stay and would recommend it and go again.

  • Liked — Comfortable, near to station, shops, spa
  • Disliked — A bit noisy as near the station
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing