We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average but nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
1 review
“average but nice”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

i have just returned from a lovely weekend in bath.We stayed at the royal hotel which was in an excellent location for us as we travelled from bristol airport on the train the hotel is directly opposite the train station.when we arrived we found the staff helpful and friendly. we were in room 205. The room itself i would describe as dated and too warm.it wasnt sparkling clean but it wasnt dirty either if that makes sense! we stayed on a b&b basis, there was a good selection in the breakfast buffet although on my first morning i had to wait quite a while to recieve my cooked breakfast as the resturant was fairly busy at that time tho i must say the waiter did come to me after and apoligise he was very friendly. the evening meal i have to say was just average but again the staff polite and friendly. the menu needs to be reviewed as the food could be compared to that of a weatherspoons restaurant!!! i also ordered a cappuccino from the bar with scones and there was no sauces or chocolate powder to make a proper cappuccino much to the bar tenders annoyance as i heard him give off to the manager himself, my scones also tasted like thay had been warmed in a microwave, now i have to say i did find the bar nice and relaxing. i did feel sorry for a young couple who had come in with a young child in a buggy who had sat down and were in the bar for at least 10 mins before they were asked to leave because apparently it is hotel policy that residents children are aloud in the bar.and so to the end of our stay we checked out at 11am and were able to leave our luggage in a secure cuboard until we had to get our train. we decided to go for a walk, when we came back we had about 45 mins to kill b4 we got the train so we waited in the bar as we were all "tea d" out we didnt want any thing to drink. we were waiting for about 15 mins reading our magazines when a man asked us if we would like anything we politley told him no thank you unaware who he was. He then said to us "well this is not a waiting room u no" we explained to him that we were resisdents just waiting on our train so then he offered us a drink again explaining who he was " the owner"! Again we declined he continued to talk to us in away to compensate for being rude to us my partner ended up taking half a larger to keep him happy needless to say he drunk it rather quickly and politley left and waited the remainder time at the train station! So all in all the royal hotel has lovley staff but is very average i have to be honest i have stayed in better premier inns!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakegirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    377
    133
    42
    32
See reviews for
150
566
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boscastle
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We found everyone helpful, friendly and professional. We were very well looked after. The food in the restaurantr was excellently presented and cooked. There was a wide variety on the menu to suit all tastes. The rooms were very spacious and clean, and a lot of thought had gone into providing you with anything you might need and more for your stay. We met the owner on our last day. He was very friendly and concerned that we had had a nice stay. He even gave us a bottle of champagne to take with us as we had been celebrating two of our parties 40th birthday! Would highly recommend this Hotel. If returning to Bath would definatelty stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We had a very enjoyable weekend at this hotel. Fully recommend the restaurant, staff very friendly easy access to the railway station everywhere within walking distance

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I have stayed here a number of times as it's very handy for the train station and always get a warm welcome.

The bedrooms are recently refurbished, very clean and comfortable.

Whenever I stay I always make a point of eating in the restaurant as I have not been able to find a better T Bone steak anywhere!
If like me you like red wine give the L.A. Cetto from Mexico at try - its fantastic.

As always very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB_Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed for two nights and wished we had booked for longer. The staff were very friendly and helpful.After a long journey we were booked in to a very nice room and asked if we would like to reserve a table in the resturant. We had intended to eat out but decided to give it a go, so glad we did. We were greeted by name and made to feel very special by Lila and Gemma for whom nothing was too much trouble. Food and wine were wonderful. So good in fact we ate there on Saturday as well. All in all a great break even though we had to diet the next week!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cougarladynorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Disclosure: I am an experienced world traveler (15+ years) and I work as a freelance consultant to the hospitality industry, specializing in aiding the remediation of under performing properties. I have 20 years of experience in the industry and I was trained by one of the best in the business.

My wife and I went to the Royal Hotel in Bath on September 14th in the short time gap between returning from our trip to Stonehenge and the train departure.

We had about 70 minutes to kill and it was around dinner time, so we went to the nearest available place to have something to eat (Royal Hotel, which faces the station).

What a disappointment. It appeared to my experienced eye that the General Manager was absent and perhaps has been absent for some time. The Maitre D was also nowhere to be found.

The entire establishment appears to be staffed by pampered University students from the two colleges that bracket Bath. This isn't necessarily a bad thing but there was NO adult supervision of these people and none of them displayed the depth of training, maturity and presence of mind that would be required to pull off running a 100+ seat collection of hospitality establishments with any kind of professionalism.

All of the important areas of the hotel (sports bar, front desk, pub, restaurant) were under-manned. Nobody opened the door of the hotel when we arrived, there were no doorment/bellhops.

The service levels at all of the public interfaces of the hotel was of stupendously poor quality, with perhaps the exception of the sports bar (we didn't stay there because the smokers outside were fumigating the place through the open windows and we are not cricket fans)

Throughout the rest of the public space of the hotel I saw multiple instances of college-aged staff not attending their posts, giggling in the corner with friends, oblivious to clients, being inattentive, etc... It was a horror show.

Example. Looking for a beer, I approach the bar. Affable enough guy, BUT when I note to him that two of the bar taps were sweating water onto/into the bar surface and say, "hey, you'd better watch that, the bar will eventually rot around the tap fixture" his response was "Good thing it's not my bar then, isn't it?".

Restaurant completely empty and missing hostess and waitress after 18h00

20 minute delay and three requests for service before waitress showed up, who was then defensive and told us that due to our now quite real time constraints (under 40 minutes) that we could not feasibly order from the restaurant menu and to order from the bar menu. With that, she turned away and vanished. The restaurant is connected physically to the bar and the bar I had to get up and consequently order from was about 5 feet behind her. I ended up leaving my seat SIX times before we finally got our food.

We ordered a SALAD and Potato Jackets, which then took 25 minutes to show up. This left us about 10 minutes to gobble down our (overpriced) food and then rush to the train station.

70 minute time budget + untrained, resentful kids serving = 10 minute eating experience

Not recommended under any circumstances.

For 1/4 the price a fast food venue would have been a better choice for an equivalent (i.e. non-existent) level of service.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Having read previous reviews on this hotel, we were on two minds whether to forfeit the deposit we had already paid, and look for an alternative hotel. Glad we never! What planet do these people come from? From the time we arrived to the time we left, the staff couldn't do enough for us. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis, and I must say every meal was of a very high standard, and piping hot! If you are going to compare this hotel with cheaper national accomadation and want a breakfast plate full cheap ingredients, then perhaps that is where you should stay in the first place.

Our room was on the first floor, and was a good size with a four poster bed, which we weren't expecting. The bathroom had been completely refurbished to a high standard. All in all it was clean and tidy.

The hotel is also conveniently situated for the city centre, bus routes and railway station.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satisfied_cus2mers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing