We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The positives outweigh the negatives - just!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The positives outweigh the negatives - just!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Having read the recent reviews I would almost think that there were two Royal Hotels in the same location in Bath! The positives (for us) friendly helpful restaurant staff (but there should have been more of them at breakfast as the two ladies on duty were run off their feet although they kept smiling and apologising for delays); good food; great location; excellent selection of beverages and biscuits in the bedrooms.

The negatives: the very unfriendly older receptionist who was quite off-hand when we arrived and each time we spoke to her thereafter - reception is the face of the hotel and even if staff are having a bad day, they should be pleasant to their guests! There was a thick layer of dust in the bedroom on bedframe, radio, t.v. and a dead wasp on the window which had clearly been there a while! The towel rail in the bathroom was stone cold at the top and boiling hot at the bottom and obviously needed the air bleeding from it. A halo of light shone all night around the bedroom door where it didn't fit the doorframe meaning difficulty in sleeping and the conveniences on the ground floor were in need of a good clean!

Overall conclusion: the owners have worked hard to upgrade the hotel to a generally good standard. It could be a great hotel if they could sort out the apparent understaffing in the restaurant , improve the standard of cleaning and sort out the maintenance issues.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Royal and for your helpful comments.
It is totally unacceptable for a member of staff to be rude or off-hand no matter what.
I know who was on duty and she will receive a written warning.
Bedrooms are checked by my housekeeper and the duty manager daily and I have no
explanation as to why your findings were not dealt with and for that I sincerely apologise.
The cloakrooms on the ground floor are constantly monitored.
All food is grilled to order and unfortunately a slight delay will occur if everyone decides to have
breakfast together and i am delighted to read that the waiting staff were polite and apologetic.
All bedroom doors are now being checked for light seepage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    377
    132
    42
    32
See reviews for
150
565
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

I have just returned from an overnight stay booked through Travelzoo and have to say I was most impressed. Good size room, very clean, bedside radio included I pod station which I wasn’t expecting. Food and service was excellent, couldn’t fault it. Location fantastic, within walking distance of Therma Spa, Pump Room and The Royal Crescent. Would thoroughly recommend……….

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKear315966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I have just spent a a 3 night break with 2 friends booked through Travelzoo. For the price we were paying I went with no great expectation as I remembered the hotel looking rather run-down and in a not particularly pleasant part of town. What a surprise! Although the building is not very exciting from the outside it could not be more conveniently situated. The railway station is directly opposite with the new bus station just a little further along the same road. A car can be a liability in the centre of Bath so this proximity to public transport is a real plus. The ugly 50s and 60s buildings I remembered had been demolished and a new sympathetically designed shopping area was in its place giving easy access to the other side of town. The parade where the tour buses stand is just up the road and the Abbey, Pump Room and Roman Baths are only minutes away.
The public areas of the hotel were quite compact with a public bar to the left of the main door and a very small Reception desk and lift down a narrow corridor. However we were given a very warm welcome and our room on the second floor was spacious and had everything we needed. The quality of the furnishings was good with very comfortable beds and pillows and large fluffy towels which were changed daily. The hospitality tray was generously stocked and replenished and the room was cleaned to a very good standard. There was secondary double glazing to the window but our room overlooked the road so I would imagine it could be noisy if you had the windows open.
We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal which represented excellent value for money. The food was very good with generous portions. I enjoyed one of the best- cooked steaks I have had in a long time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast service was excellent though the evening service was a bit hit and miss especially on the first night. The small bar did a good all day trade and was particularly busy in the early evening but did not seem too noisy. The bar food served there looked good though I never tried it myself.
The hotel is old so the floorboards are a bit creaky and I imagine that not all the rooms are uniform in size but for a short break with easy access to the main sights of Bath I could not fault it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We were here for two days on a dinner, bed and breakfast, afternoon tea inclusive break. Our room was comfortable with everything at hand, although we faced the station we were not disturbed by traffic noise. The new shopping area was two minutes away and the Abbey area just 5 to 10 minutes walk. The hotels parking is area is just round the corner providing six or so parking bays, need to book them. The evening meal was excellent with a varied menu (look after the chef) and very good service but the dinning room needs updating other areas have been done already. We would recommend our friends to stay.
CS Derby

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

This was the second time we four female friends had stayed at The Royal. We travel to Bath by train and the hotel is right outside. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the food (we went for the dinner B&B option) was excellent. Nice to stay somewhere individual and having the public popping in and out of the bar makes it more atmospheric too. We also loved the connection to Brunel.
A great base for visiting Bath, we came to see the Christmas market and to visit the shops and the Spa. And I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edith52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bugibba, Malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Excellent location as it is opposite Bath Spa Station, friendly and helpful staff that go out of there way to help you in any quieries that one might have. Retaurant very nice ambience, great food, efficient and polite staff.
Rooms cosy beautifully decorated spacious quiet and clean.
Bar also very well stocked great atmosphere layed back and nice setting all in all it has been a short memorable but wonderful stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaCassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

My wife and I stayed for Valentines weekend including a spa break at the Royal which
we really enjoyed.The rooms very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpfull.We
had our evening meals in the restaurant which were excellent especially the Valentines
evening,Would definately stay again as a lovely hotel and ideally situated for
everything in Bath.
John Roberts

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shapsrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing