We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding B & B with a great king size bed”
Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Wished we could have stayed longer in this luxurious, spotlessly clean B&B. The room was spacious with a very large bathroom and the free wi-fi was a bonus. The hot breakfast was very generous and an added highlight was a wonderful freshly prepared fruit salad that included strawberries, blueberries, grapes and even mango. It's a short bus ride or a pleasant 20 minute walk into town. Can't praise this lovely B&B enough. The owners are also a really lovely couple.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickAndLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Hawkins of Bath
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hawkins of Bath is a very beautiful house and the delightful owners, Glyn and Diane, have furnished and decorated it to an incredibly high standard. This was by far the best B&B I have ever stayed in. My friend and I had the family room which was lovely - spacious, comfortable, restful decor, beautiful bed linen, immaculately clean, - everything was done to perfection. In fact, I can't wait to take my family! Breakfast was simply delicious - I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and my friend had the full cooked breakfast. Both were excellent, as was the fresh fruit salad and the other things on offer.

Glyn and Diane are everything good hosts should be, very friendly and interested in their guests but at the same time giving them space if they need it. It's obvious that they thoroughly enjoy what they do and want their guests to have a good experience. Tea was offered on arrival and nothing seemed too much trouble. We wanted to spend the day walking around Bath and despite the plethora of maps and guides available in the lounge, Glyn took the time to draw a map to show us the best routes to take. The location is great - about 20 minutes' walk from the centre of Bath and very close to a nice pub that serves decent evening meals.

All in all, a wonderful stay and neither my friend nor I can't wait to go back again! Thank you Glyn and Diane!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The quality of the accommodation and the excellence of the breakfast might possibly be equalled in a few other places, but I find it hard to believe the friendliness and heplfulness of the owners, Glyn and Diane, can be excelled. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them and they went far beyond what might reasonably be expected from even the best of hosts. Our two nights here will remain a cherished memory and we very much hope that we will have the opportunity to return

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drnick1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great house, very large and comfortable room, very good breakfast, lovely hosts. An address to remember!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Clean, nice room.
Comfortable bed.
Spacious, clean bathroom with tub and walk-in shower.
Very nice hosts.
Excellent cooked breakfast.
Location is a little bit away from the city centre, but very quiet. Pub in walking distance.
Parking available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Just come back from a lovely weekend stay at Hawkins of Bath. Glyn and Diane are wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful. They have a genuine enthusiasm for making sure their guests have a enjoyable stay, and are happy to help with tips about Bath and the surrounding area. Glyn even worked out a scenic route home for us through the Cotswolds by printing off a map with villages of interest highlighted.

On arrival, Diane greeted us with a warm welcome, and then brought out a tea tray with a pot of tea, coffee cafetiere and biscuits. A really nice touch.

The house itself has been beautifully renovated to a very high standard, with plush carpets, stylish decoration and high quality furniture. It really looks as though they have put a lot of time and effort into making everything just right. Our room was very comfortable and large, as was the bed which we were reluctant to leave in the mornings! The bathroom was also a good size with a roll top bath and good shower.

Breakfast was lovely, nicely cooked and also included a fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. All served in a delightful room that was part conservatory.

Bath itself is a pleasant walk of just over a mile that can include a stroll through Victoria Park. Diane provided us with walking directions and a map. Although if you don't fancy walking, there are plenty of buses that you can catch near to the house - buses beginning with X are frequent and seem to be the quickest. Bath is an impressive city with plenty to explore, and surrounded by some lovely countryside, villages and other sights. Definitely worth a visit and Hawkins is an ideal place to enjoy it all from.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si_and_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and our two near adult children stayed in the family suite at the Hawkins for two nights in June. It was exactly what we needed. Clean, comfortable and great breakfasts! Glen and Diane enjoy being your host. They provided good information for an interesting walk to Bath and also plotted out some great sight seeing stops on the drive to our next stop in England. It was a great start to our UK vacation. Redwood City, California, USA.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildRedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,279 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 156 in Bath
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £110 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing