We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bed & Breakfast We have Stayed In!!”
Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We booked the Hawkins Of Bath after reading reveiews on Trip Advisor and were very luck to have been able to secure their family room at late notice even though there were only 2 of us. The welcome from Diane was very warm and the tea and coffeee served in the beautiful guest lounge was very well received. The rooms, breakfasts and position of the B&B are excellent a nice walk to town and in a quiet area to sleep. On the Saturday Glynn and Diane made us tea and coffee and joined us for a chat which I thought was very nice. Would we go back - can't wait - not to be missed!! Thank you to you both and good luck - not sure you will need it though.

Kind Regards

Madeline & John

Room Tip: The Family room is very nice one room with King Size Bed the other room with 2 single beds a nice br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannyhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great hosts, clean, quiet and comfortable rooms, and great breakfast!
We got to the B&B fairly late in the evening, but the hosts were extremelly kind and helpful in accomodating us.
They also provided great tips about what to visit in Bath, and where to stop on our way back to London.
I just wish we could have stayed in Bath for more than a day...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM_067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Diane and Glynn were very hospitable, attentive and helpful, especially with directions and recommending places to visit.
The decor and en-suite bathroom were lovely and very spacious, especially the en-suite..
Breakfasts were delicious and substantial.
Every-where was spotlessly clean.
Ideally situated only 1 mile from Bath centre, own car park, frequent bus service, close to restaurants, within walking distance of lovely park for children, botanical gardens and riverside walk/cycle way.

Room Tip: Lansdowne Room on ground floor, front room, facing main road. constant traffic but not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlily954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Wished we could have stayed longer in this luxurious, spotlessly clean B&B. The room was spacious with a very large bathroom and the free wi-fi was a bonus. The hot breakfast was very generous and an added highlight was a wonderful freshly prepared fruit salad that included strawberries, blueberries, grapes and even mango. It's a short bus ride or a pleasant 20 minute walk into town. Can't praise this lovely B&B enough. The owners are also a really lovely couple.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickAndLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hawkins of Bath is a very beautiful house and the delightful owners, Glyn and Diane, have furnished and decorated it to an incredibly high standard. This was by far the best B&B I have ever stayed in. My friend and I had the family room which was lovely - spacious, comfortable, restful decor, beautiful bed linen, immaculately clean, - everything was done to perfection. In fact, I can't wait to take my family! Breakfast was simply delicious - I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and my friend had the full cooked breakfast. Both were excellent, as was the fresh fruit salad and the other things on offer.

Glyn and Diane are everything good hosts should be, very friendly and interested in their guests but at the same time giving them space if they need it. It's obvious that they thoroughly enjoy what they do and want their guests to have a good experience. Tea was offered on arrival and nothing seemed too much trouble. We wanted to spend the day walking around Bath and despite the plethora of maps and guides available in the lounge, Glyn took the time to draw a map to show us the best routes to take. The location is great - about 20 minutes' walk from the centre of Bath and very close to a nice pub that serves decent evening meals.

All in all, a wonderful stay and neither my friend nor I can't wait to go back again! Thank you Glyn and Diane!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The quality of the accommodation and the excellence of the breakfast might possibly be equalled in a few other places, but I find it hard to believe the friendliness and heplfulness of the owners, Glyn and Diane, can be excelled. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them and they went far beyond what might reasonably be expected from even the best of hosts. Our two nights here will remain a cherished memory and we very much hope that we will have the opportunity to return

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drnick1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great house, very large and comfortable room, very good breakfast, lovely hosts. An address to remember!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 159 in Bath
251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 159 in Bath
1,682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,892 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#11 of 159 in Bath
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing