We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service”
Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at Hawkins 22 Feb 13. The rooms are well equipped including DVDs (with films available foc). The breakfast is excellent including an interesting and rich fruit salad (not from a tin) plus "the full English" and versions of it. However, what truly shone out was the service - (1) we had to have a v late check out, to allow for an extended business call, (2) they pointed us to a city discount card which we used a lot, and (3) my wife left her scarf which was promptly posted back to us. Outstanding!

Room Tip: Tall travellers should ask for beds with no footboard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Diane and Glyn were so kind and helpful - always willing to offer advice without being instrusive about any and everything "Bath"! Found out about lots of spectacular views from "back streets" which were absolutely stunning and very interesting narrative from them both about the area. Breakfast was fantastic: cereal, yoghurt and fresh (really fresh!) fruit salad with fruit juice. Cooked breakfasts were a real treat, not only full English, also had choice of scrambled egg on toast with smoked salmon (my personal favourite) was superb. Thank you so much, hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbird62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed for two nights at this wonderful guesthouse with two friends in the family suite. Could not have asked for a better accommodation set up when exploring beautiful Bath town centre with girlfriends!

Diane and Glynn Grimstead made us so very welcome throughout but were especially attentive upon our arrival. They were a fountain of knowledge, suggestions and recommendations for our time spent during our stay and nothing was too much trouble. (Make sure to use the "Big Ben" discounts/benefits card they suggest as there many money-off places throughout Bath that this can be shown. Even the local taxi firm Diane and Glynn recommend for an evening lift back to the guest house from Town, gave us some money off the final fare!)

Our accommodation comprised of a spacious double bed area with large en suite and a separate twin bedroom. Exquisitely furnished and decorated throughout. Exceptionally quiet stay even though the house is situated on the main road into Bath (which made it easy to find even though we were given detailed directions by email anyway). Stunning double-fronted Edwardian building with use of a large guest lounge and PC on the ground floor. Ample parking. Bath town centre a pleasant walk via the main Victoria Park (running along side the spectacular Royal Crescent).

Breakfast? What can I say?! Simply superb! Choice of cereals, very fresh delicious fruit salad, yoghurts, fresh fruit juice to start, followed by a list of cooked breakfast choices. I opted for the full English breakfast on both mornings - highly recommended! Absolutely scrumptious!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellbelle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Glyn and Diane are fantastic hosts. So very kind and helpful.

My husband and I spent two nights there whilst visiting the City of Bath.

Excellent ,generous room on ground floor, beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Lovely big bathroom ,with good shower aswell. Free WiFi, choice of dvds to watch in your room and a few games available, if you fancy a change. We played Scrabble, good fun!.

Such a warm welcome when we got there too, tea and biscuits in the lounge room for us!.

Scrumptious breakfast, all my needs taken care of, as I suffer with a Wheat and Dairy intolerance. (Thank you for that Glyn and Diane, I did appreciate it)

My husband also thoroughly enjoyed the full english breakfast !!

Easy walking distance to City Centre, plenty of regular buses near there , which will take you into the centre .
If you are looking for somewhere to stay thats ' home from home', look no further.

I would definitely recommend 'Hawkins of Bath. Its worth a visit, I know that if ever my husband and I are in Bath in the future and need somewhere to stay, this is the place for us!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valleygirl1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My father and stepmother stayed recently for a night and they were very happy with all aspects of their stay at Hawkins and I am sure they will book in again when they visit again. Must be good! It's so nice to have a B&B I can recommend for being so comfortable and welcoming for visitors when my house is full. Thank you Hawkins.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lophead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

If you are going to visit Bath and surrounding area, we strongly suggest you stay at Hawkins. We spent two nights with two children in the Widcombe Family en-suite suite. Very good room, clean and tidy, good beds, good shower, ideal for a family. Diane and Glyn best hosts: friendly, always ready to help and suggest the best options (thanks Glyn, today's itinerary was great) but never intrusive. Great breakfast in a nice conservatory. Kids happy with the DVD selection that you can watch in the room. Private parking another plus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattteo-Giorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Off-street parking. Warm welcome with tea, biscuits and great chat with hosts (Glynn and Diane) in lounge room. Room very generous, comfortable bed, free wifi, great hot shower with room to move. Very helpful and informative hosts that ended up taking us on a driving tour of Bath, and dropped us off close to a great restaurant (Aqua). Quiet and cosy night with breakfast served in a new sun room (great - even in the rain - could watch the birds in the garden). Not situated right in Bath but an easy 20 minute walk or 3 minute drive to central parking. Would definitely stay again if we ever return.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevergrim, Owner at Hawkins of Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you Brian for such a kind review. It is always a pleasure for us when our guests appreciate any added value we can offer. It is fotunate for us that the short journey into the City centre takes in one or two Iconic landmarks . We are glad that we were able to encorporate a lift into town for you with a shopping trip of our own. Unfortunately, we cannot offer such lifts as standard, but we are always pleased to assist if we can. Best wishes, Glyn and Diane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 159 in Bath
251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 159 in Bath
1,682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,887 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#11 of 159 in Bath
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing