We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We found this little gem of a B&B only because of all the positive comments from people on tripadviser,the comments certainly proved right and we were delighted. Diane and Glyn were the perfect hosts and a couple of times went out of there way to drop us in town,even took us on a little sightseeing detour up the hill on the way. Breakfast was lovely and room was exceptionally clean and comfortable,even tho we spent very little time there. When we left to go to Bourton on Water in the Cotwolds we went armed with maps and little towns to visit on the way. It ended up taking us all day to get there with such wonderful places that Glyn had mapped out for stop offs,thanks for everything Diane and Glyn,you deserve every success

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevergrim, Owner at Hawkins of Bath, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hello Yvonne C, Thank you for such a kind review. It is always a pleasure for us when our guests appreciate any added value we can offer. It is fortunate for us that the short journey into the City centre takes in one or two Iconic landmarks . We are glad that we were able to incorporate a lift into town for you with a shopping trip of our own. Unfortunately, we cannot offer such lifts as standard, but we are always pleased to assist if we can. Best wishes, Glyn and Diane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
299
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The accolades and positive reviews of Hawkins of Bath B&B are well merited. We stayed here for 3 nights in August of 2013 and, from the perspective of experienced B&B patrons, we can truly say this is one of the loveliest, most well-run Inns we've ever seen. Diane and Glyn were gracious, warm, and genuinely caring hosts. Location is excellent, rooms and beds very comfortable, and breakfast was always lovely. At one point, I experienced weak reception of internet WIFI to my laptop in our bedroom, and within the blink of an eye, Glyn had secured a signal booster for me to use for the remainder of our stay. Hawkins is our natural first choice for any return trips to Bath.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It has been said on all the reviews before but this really is the most perfect place to stay in Bath. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed with tea and coffee after a journey that had been made so much easier with the directions that Diane and Glyn had provided us with. We had done only a little research about Bath prior to our visit and so without a second thought Diane sat down with us and gave us maps, recommendations and ideas on some of the things to see and do.

The surroundings are just perfectly put together and so comfortable, from the fresh flowers in the living room to the amazing bath in our room. We all agreed that if we could stay at Hawkins of Bath forever - we would! Breakfast each morning was also the perfect start to our two days of sightseeing and exploring. We can all be a little fussy yet every morning all our breakfasts were exactly what we had wanted and were absolutely delicious!

In addition to the fantastic food, good location, wonderful house it is Diane and Glyn that make this such a wonderful place to stay. Thank you for having us - we're already looking for our next opportunity to return!

Room Tip: Despite being four adults, we stayed in Guest Suite 3 (The Widcome Suite) which was the perfect size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stunning house, spotlessly clean. Our room was decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Our bed was the best we've slept in in a B&B, also with an amazing en-suite. The hosts are very genuine and down to earth with some good tips for your trip!. We couldn't ask for anymore from a B&B, for us it was perfect, and with a really good breakfast what more could anyone want

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

What a wonderful place to stay with the greatest hosts. Diane and Glyn were so attentive. When she found out I had to eat gluten free, she bought me a package of gluten free cookies to go with my tea in the room at night. The B & B is close enough to town to walk, and it's right on a direct bus line. Their breakfast was super good. Thanks for your kindnesses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

An old house lovingly updated into a fine B&B. Our room was airy and spacious with a full modern ensuite bath and our hosts, Glyn and Diane were the most gracious of hosts. Diane joked that Glyn was becoming renowned for his breakfast fruit salads, but it must be true! They both went out of their way to make recommendations and gently steer us away from making mistakes. The location is great -- minutes from the centre of Bath, but outside the traffic and tourist frenzy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumshoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A lot of planning goes into any trip-especially when travelling from Australia for a month's stay in the UK. My wife Lyn did our planning, and could not have picked better in Hawkins of Bath. What a wonderful 3 nights. Diane and Glyn helped us plan each days travels and activities, and they went out of their way in doing so. They were also genuinely interested in what we had seen and experienced, and shared our enthusiasm and delight in what Bath and it's surrounds had to offer. Breakfast was plentiful and in addition to the cereals and fruit salad, we had a hot breakfast cooked to order. We over indulged. Our room was excellent, and the bed extremely comfortable. We were fortunate to meet another couple staying for the 3 nights who were down from up North of the UK, and along with them, shared many a laugh at breakfast time with Diane and Glyn. So, overall, we could not have had a better experience, the hosts and the premises deserve all the praise they get, and it would be an injustice to themselves for other people wishing to stay in Bath not to select a stay at Hawkins. All the best for the future, regards Lyn and Darryl - New South Wales, Australia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 157 in Bath
233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 157 in Bath
1,738 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 157 in Bath
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Property: Hawkins of Bath
Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing