We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at Hawkins and fully agree with the fabulous reviews. In addition to the lovely accommodation, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, Glyn & Diane were the perfect hosts from the moment we arrived. They provided us with a wealth of information in relation to places to visit in & around Bath & recommended restaurants which fully met our expectations. Our stay in Bath was certainly enhanced by the Hawkins experience and if visiting the area again this will be our number one choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Glyn and Dianne not only have an amazing eye for detail and their B & B (a true home away from home) is absolutely beautiful but they are two of the nicest people you will ever meet on your travels. My husband, his brother with his wife, and I enjoyed a wonderful stay her in bright spacious rooms with lovely ensuites. There is a welcoming and comfortable lounge area for guests and this welcome also comes with coffee/tea and something yummy, as well as a friendly and informative introduction to Bath from Glyn and his obvious pride and love of this city is contagious. You not only get a chance to discover Bath for yourselves but get to see it through Glyn's eyes as a resident and business owner - if you can really call this B and B a business. It is much more than that - Glyn and Dianne open their home and hearts to you and the breakfasts satisfy all who enjoy them. Thank you both for a wonderful stay - if in Bath again we will see you again and never hesitate to recommend you to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Glyn and Dianne have a stunning B&B. They went out of their way not only to make us feel welcome, but to do anything for us that they could. We stayed in The Lansdowne room and it was as beautiful and spacious as the rest of the house. As well as our room and the large bathroom we had access to the large lounge area and made good use of the DVD collection and board games that Glyn gladly showed us.

Diane was able to advise us on the best places to eat and visit in Bath before we made our way into town.

In the morning Glyn cooked us a superb breakfast, the bacon was the best I've ever had (outside of my own kitchen!) and the sausages were sumptuous. Alongside the cooked breakfast there were juices, yoghurts and cereals to choose from.

Hawkins of Bath is not only the best B&B we've ever stayed in, it is better than any hotel. We'll gladly go back again and will happily recommend any of our friends or family to stay there

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you are travelling to Bath and want quality accomodation then Hawkins is perfect, We have just stayed there for one night and we were treated like real friends. Nothing is too much trouble whether you want a taxi, restaurant, pub, a walk or even just a cup of tea.
Fantastic hosts who run an amazing business because they are real and know how to treat guests.
Many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Found via Tripadvisor, Hawkins is everything it says on the tin (Glyn and some guests will understand that!). We spent three nights in Bath to visit our new granddaughter and were made very welcome on our arrival later in the evening after a horrendous journey with a closed motorway. The room was spacious and comfortable. Glyn and Diane are friendly and helpful hosts and do everything to make sure guests have everything they require (including brown sugar!). A healthy walk into Bath after the full breakfast is highly recommended, although bus and taxi services are readily available. We were very impressed to see how American guests were helped to find their way around locally and to plan and book their onward journeys. On our future visits to Bath we shall definitely come back to Hawkins if we are not staying with the family, who are very occupied with new parenthood!

Room Tip: We did not see any other rooms, but ours on the ground floor was fine with plenty of space and stora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipPHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hawkins of Bath was the best B&B experience of our 3 week trip to England. Glyn and Diane are extremely personable and really go out of their way for their guests. They made us feel special and very welcome in their home. Unlike some other guesthouses, they were flexible about our arrival time. Since we had just arrived from Texas that morning, we were exhausted and wanted to check in and freshen up. Though it was only 12:45 PM, the room was ready; and Glyn greeted us with tea and biscuits in their inviting guest lounge. We discussed our plans for our 3 day stay in Bath, and he gave us several valuable tips. 



We stayed in the Bathwick Room, which was lovely. The bed was very comfortable, and the extra large en suite had everything one could want-- a roll top tub, modern shower, and even a shower cap and sewing kit. Breakfast was served in their beautiful light- filled conservatory. It started with Glyn's picture-perfect fruit salad, and then there were several cooked to order options, including the full English, or an English muffin with scrambled eggs and abundant smoked salmon. There were also juices, yogurts and cereals. It was delicious and satisfied us until dinner time!



Staying at the Hawkins of Bath was a wonderful way to start our long-awaited trip to England.

Room Tip: The Bathwick Room was beautiful, comfortable, quiet, and had a modern extra- spacious en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in Bath for two nights on our trip around UK. We found this place on trip advisor and were happy to find all the good reviews are true. Our hosts were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely and the small touches were much appreciated. The walk to town was do-able but a little further than we would have liked. However not so far that we didn't walk it each time! Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,935 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 159 in Bath
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £113 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing