We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful rooms, beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful rooms, beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

loved staying here. The suite we stayed in was gorgeous, well-equipped and the hosts were great. Very relaxing and well-kept B & B, although the proximity to town's centre wasn't ideal. Were I to come back to Bath, I would certainly stay here again. My only gripe about staying in Bath is the parking, but that has nothing to do with Hawkins.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sannahadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
284
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I can only echo all the previous reviews - this is an excellent place to stay, run by excellent hosts. Just two things to add - firstly, don't be put off by the distance from the centre - we valued the walk after some very good meals (and the taxis are very efficient!). And, secondly, we hope to come back when the hobbit house folly is completed, weathered into the bank and the roses are out....

Room Tip: (there is no swimming pool, clicked in error)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Diane and Glyn run a wonderful B&B. They are fantastic hosts, very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. They provided us with all we needed to know about the best places to visit and recommended a superb restaurant for us to eat. We stayed overnight in the family room with our two daughters. It is a beautifully decorated, very clean, comfortable and relaxing dwelling which had plenty of space for all four of us. Our breakfast was first class - a veritable feast to be exact! We can't wait to stay here again! Thank you to Diane and Glyn for making our first stay in Bath a pleasant and memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Having read the reviews for Hawkins of Bath it has a high standard to maintain and I must state it lives up to all that is written. We stayed for three nights and had a lovely time, everything was perfect, the house is quiet and has a relaxing feeling, Diane and Glyn were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was cooked to perfection and sets you up for a busy day exploring Bath. When we visit Bath we prefer to leave the car at the Guest House so the off road parking is very useful and at Glyn's suggestion we used Bath Spa Taxi's (01225 313131) and found this Company very professional and always on time. We have already booked for next year and hope to get time to visit in the summer. Book, stay and enjoy..

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, just depends on your requirements, double, twin or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Headbarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have to echo all of the excellent reviews about Hawkins of Bath. We (my wife, daughter and I) booked about 5 days before our arrival on Thursday, November 28. The date is significant because it's also when the Bath Christmas market started, so Bath was very busy. We wanted to stay Thursday and Friday, but Glyn didn't have anything available for Friday. We booked Thursday only. In addition, Glyn only had one room for the 3 of us.

Prior to our arrival, Glyn contacted me and said he had a cancellation and he took it upon himself to upgrade us to a suite (2 rooms and a bathroom) at no extra charge. How cool is that? Glyn also said he would let us know if anything opened up for Friday. Nothing ever did, but, once again, Glyn went above and beyond and found us a room at another very nice inn.

The breakfast was good, Glyn and his wife were very accommodating and informative, and the entire stay was absolutely terrific. We will stay there again.

Regarding the location, it's about a 20-25 minute, very pleasant stroll, into town. There is a nice park on the way, so we slid down the slide a few times. Good fun.

Thank you, Glyn, for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraandrobdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just spent two nights here and would thoroughly recommend Hawkins to anyone. Glyn and Diane are very welcoming and provided us with loads of information on Bath and the places to visit as well as where the best places to eat were. Our room was better than many hotels we have stayed at; beautifully decorated and very large with an enormous bathroom. Great breakfast as well. We wish we could have stayed longer but hopefully we will be able to visit Hawkins again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I booked this on the basis of this being Number 1 B&B in Bath and it lived up to every expectation.
Warm welcome from Glyn and Diane and their detailed knowledge of the city,offers, places to eat, walks to make best use of our limited time here- just 1 night - proved invaluable. Everything they suggested was excellent.
The bedroom was spacious, immaculately clean with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.Breakfast too freshly made to order set us up for another day sightseeing. Coffee was the best we have ever had outside our own home! Glyn even gave us a present of the ground coffee they use to take away with us!
Can't thank you both enough for helping to make our mini- break so special. We will be back to stay next year for the Christmas market and hope to stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 Lansdown- large kingsize ensuite. Have no doubt that all the rooms are excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#6 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Property: Hawkins of Bath
Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing