We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B Excellent hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blayney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B Excellent hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in April 2014 and received a warm welcome from Glyn on arrival. Our room was large with lovely furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a separate bath (with claw feet) to soak in after a day of sightseeing. The B&B had a sitting room for guests to enjoy and I was able to use the computer in that room free of charge.

The breakfast room is beautiful and the breakfast was great with cereals, juices, toast, etc plus Glyn and Diane cook whatever you want.

Glyn and Diane very proudly showed me a book with lots of photos of the house during the renovation process. This has been a labour of love for them and they can justifiably be proud of the finished product.

I would definately stay here again if ever visiting Bath again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
287
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tairua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

we have just spent two days with Diane and Glynn in their recently renovated home. Everything is high quality and very comfortable. We were upgraded to their two bedroom suite which was so roomy. Breakfast was a beautiful full breakfast beautifully cooked. They went over and above by running us down to Bath on two occasions. It is about a £7-8 taxi ride to the city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BettyOudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to spend 4 nights at Hawkins of Bath. Diane and Glyn, as mentioned by other reviewers, are the perfect hosts. We felt immediately comfortable on meeting both - warm, friendly and most helpful.

Directly to the left as you enter their home is a cozy sitting room for guests' use with many books, DVD movies and access to a computer if needed.
Glyn and Diane have done a huge amount of work on their beautiful Victorian home and garden since its purchase a few years ago, completely renovating and decorating it for comfort and beauty, while maintaining its original character. The location at 88 Newbridge Road is convenient, and a nice walk to the town centre, or if you prefer, the bus stop is close by.

Our room was The Lansdown - ground floor opposite the sitting room - spacious, light-filled, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. As well, the ensuite bathroom is large and includes a towel warmer. Very cozy touch. Having a kettle, cookies, teas, coffee and chocolate in our room, as well as water and yogurt in breakfast room fridge available was very much appreciated after a busy day.

Breakfasts are served in the sunny breakfast room which is located at the rear of the house overlooking their garden - delicious, starting with juices, yogurt and fresh fruit salad, coffee or tea, and a large variety of cooked food from which to choose.

Diane and Glyn have thought of everything a guest might need and enjoy for a pleasant stay in beautiful Bath. Highly recommended by us!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank heeljoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at Hawkins B&B on Sunday evening with my Mum and sister - a girly weekend to celebrate my Mum's birthday. It's been a while since the three of us have been away together as little ones have consumed our time of late so we were looking for somewhere to relax, unwind and spoil ourselves. we could not have chosen a better place to stay.
Diane and Glyn were great from the word go. We were able to park our car in their free car park early in the day so that we could make the most of our stay. We were given refreshments, advice on places to visit and even dropped us off in town to start our shopping spree.
Our room at Hawkins was fabulous. We stayed in the Widecome room which houses a king size double and two single beds plus en-suite. The beds were very comfortable and the towels in the bathroom extremely fluffy.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious - plenty of fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals. And if that was not enough Diane and Glyn also provide a cooked breakfast with toast. We will not need to eat for a week!!
I've stayed at a number of B&Bs now and I must say this is one of the best and a lot of that was down to the hosts. We were made to feel very special during our stay - what more could a girl ask for!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

An absolute delight and would highly recommend. Glyn was so helpful and friendly on the phone when I made the booking I did wonder if it was going to be that good. Hawkins of Bath exceed all our expectations very warm welcome, spotlessly clean, maps and tourist info provided. At time of booking we were concerned being on the ground floor there would be traffic noise and we hear all the comings and goings but nothing. Easy to walk into Bath or hop on a bus we liked being just a little way out and we could leave the car so no silly parking prices to be paid.

Room was sumptuous, towels fluffy and we both slept very well. Glyn and Diana were happy for us to chill a bottle of bubbles in the breakfast fridge as we stayed as part of a birthday celebration and even left the appropriate glasses out for us to use – very thoughtful and much appreciated.

Breakfast was beautiful in quality and quantity and having more tea and toast was not a problem. The breakfast room is bright and airy looking out onto the garden so a lovely way to start the day.

Hawkins of Bath is perfect for those of us who like good service and standards but not the big chain hotels. Faultless - if you are going to Bath stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ti11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

When Luck runs well, it runs really well! We found Hawkins of Bath entirely by serendipity. A friend was visiting us from Canada, my daughter who lives in Bath could not accommodate all of us and we sought a place nearby. My visitor was used to more luxurious accommodation than is normal for us, so we were a little apprehensive. The chain hotels that she would have recognised were beyond our budget, so we searched in hope rather than belief.

The host and hostess make this guesthouse very special. They combine the comfort of excellent accommodation, spotlessly clean accoutrements and delicious food with the homeliness you'd expect from that side of the family that love you most. In short, more than 'it says on the tin'! This is a conveniently-located, competitively-priced accommodation that will make your trip to Bath as good as it could be.

We recommend them unreservedly. Thankyou Glyn and Diana!

Room Tip: Few rooms - all equally pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwilym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at Hawkins of Bath for two nights in May. The house is a delight and has been sympathetically restored by Glyn and Diane. The house is spotless and offers some nice touches. Fresh milk for your in room coffee or tea. Bottled water chilled in the fridge. Breakfast is a delight and you are afforded time to relax and savour the full English accompanied by lashings of toast, fruit juice and an amazing mixed fruit salad and the morning newspapers. Glyn and Diane will offer you wonderful recommendations of what to see and where to eat whilst in the majestic city of Bath. Believe the reviews and book early. A little Gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#4 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Property: Hawkins of Bath
Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing