We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best travelodge...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I arrived quite early into bath so thought i would take advantage of the onsite parking. £5 for 24 hours with a permit from reception. The city centre is a very easy ten minute walk away and the hotel is set in a lovely spot on a mill pond between the canal and river.
When i checked in i was given a room on the first floor over looking the canal. Its evident that this use to be a different hotel chain prior to it being a travelodge. It has a bar thats open all day and night, which i had a drink in. Its actually very nice and reasobably priced for a hotel bar. The resturant was busy too. Which says a lot for the menu and quality.
The room was very nice. A great bed with lots of nice new pillows. It was clean and i had a great nights sleep, even though there is busy road near by.
Im not usually one to have brekfast but i decided to sample this one. It can be added when booking your room or paid on the day. As far as the go breakfat buffets and be hit or miss. This one was very good. No cheap pink sausages here! Again it was busy in the resturant.
Overall this hotel is in a great location, its reasonably priced if you book in advance, the roons are lovely ad the staff very friendly and helpful. I would definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butchers_boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Bath Waterside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,447 - 1,453 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We booked the Travelodge Waterside so we could take advantage of the Therme Bath Spa.
Location:
Next to the river/canal & about 10 mins walk to the city centre. Close to the A36 a fairly busy road, but did not cause any noisy in our room.
Room:
Reasonable deccor, bathroom could do with a facelift, but was clean & tidy. Average size for this type of budget hotel. Did notice that there was no fan or hair dryer in the room, but you can get these in reception but Premier Inn have these as standard in the room. No toiletries in room just a tiny bar of soap, again Premier Inn have shower gel & hand wash in the room.
Service:
Very quick check in & help with directions & parking.
Value:
We paid £55 for 1 night (Sunday) + £5.00 for a 24 hour parking permit. We rate this as great value.

We would use again & recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugbyman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

As far as travelodge's go this really isn't bad, unless you are paying last minute and top dollar, then the value is questionable.
This hotel used to be a Macdonald hotel, so it's got rather more to it than regular Travelodges. Welcoming staff, good size rooms, a proper hotel bar, car park AND the mattresses were the most comfortable I have slept on for many years, very impressive.
Good location especially if you are arriving by train, just a few minutes from Bath Spa, and a short, pleasant walk into the city.
I've noticed a few negative comments about the breakfasts, but come on, who on earth chooses to eat in a budget hotel? We all know its going to be average, and there are always lots of really good alternatives within easy reach and this place is no exception.

Room Tip: It has to be on the riverside, better views and quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here for one night (Sunday)
on arrival early saw instructions for car parking, went into reception and got voucher before checking in, followed instructions on meter - very easy. (note - if price is good expect easy car parking, if expensive - might be difficult)
spent a few hours in Bath prior to going to room, access to city centre very easy along canal. Got room 24 - first from reception facing the canal. Small, basic, but nonetheless very pleasant. Refurb had done it's job.
TV was a pain- channels were all over the place and took a while to find what channel was what.
now for the bad bit - in the early hours of the morning we could her a door slamming - same door over and over, and not from the direction of other hotel rooms - so must have been from staff area. This was followed by what i can only guess was a floor polisher going in reception for 20 minutes, followed by more door banging every ten minutes or so for amother hour.
If this was a Premier Inn would have been a free night!!
Breakfast was ok - just about good enough for price.
All in all what could have been a good stay was spoilt by inconsideration of staff

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear alandevon, we are very sorry to learn of your disappointing stay at our Bath Waterside Hotel. We expect all of our hotel staff to be polite and considerate to our customers. We will also make sure any noise staff make around the hotel is kept to a minimum. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a lovely trip to Bath. The journey by train was really good and the position of the hotel is good for access to the station and the city. It's a shame that you cannot check in till 3, earlier would be better, never experienced not being able to check in till an exact time. We could really have done with being able to open the window a bit more as it was quite warm. Breakfast is a total shambles and for £7.95 it is also not worth having. Firstly no one around to book you in, then coffee machine no milk, then no small plates, no serviettes, no continental choices, bacon like cardboard, sausages with no taste, dried up scrambled eggs need I say anymore. Gave up on coffee machine after day one and just used it for hot water and made tea. They managed to find serviettes but then there were no spoons, also had some cold croissants but nothing else. The waiter should also have taken 5 minutes to iron his shirt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Lindai499, we would like to apologise for the concerns you have raised over the bar café. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made. We can confirm that our standard check in is 3pm, we do offer an early check in service from 12pm for a fee of £10.00; this will depend on availability of rooms available to be let to customers and can be purchased during booking or at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times as it is very convenient for the city centre, is easy to get to, and is quiet enough.
HOWEVER - the rooms are far too hot and do not have air con, this is not a problem IF you can open the window more than 3 or 4 cm. The staff had closed the curtains to keep the sun out of the room but on arrival it was far too hot and the temperature did not drop significantly overnight. When i complained the following morning as I left, the issue was blamed on health and safety - absolute TOSH - that is a pathetic excuse from staff who can't be bothered to question or interpret the rules. I had to sleep on (not in) the bed and in the nude and even then was too hot!

I would suggest the manager abandon his office and use on his rooms to work from for a day to see if he can actually do so without overheating.

Picking up on previous comments - cleanliness seemed ok, decor, a bit faded but not an issue, breakfast not the best but again at £7.99 you should not expect 5* food, what was there was OK.

Overall you need to accept that you are not paying top price and for what you are paying, this is OK EXCEPT for the stupid issue of temperature and the inability to open the window! This totally spoils an otherwise perfectly adequate establishment!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howard_keith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We’re really sorry to learn you had a disappointing stay with us howard_keith2. We do not offer air conditioning in this hotel as part of our brand standard however in an attempt to make your stay more comfortable we do offer fans which are available on a first come first serve basis from reception. Our windows have restricted opening in all of our hotels for our customer’s safety. Our hotel staff try to keep rooms cool by ensuring the lights are switched off, the curtains are closed and the windows are left open prior to your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a rugby weekend.

All reception staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Our room had recently been refurbished and therefore was modern and clean. Our room was on the ground floor facing the car park and no noise was heard until 7.10am when a delivery lorry arrived and made a bit of a racket, which was rather annoying.

Breakfast was ok. Pretty much as expected with Travelodge, although staff were a little slow in topping up clean plates and bowls etc.

Location is perfect, just over a 5min walk into the centre of Bath, yet far enough out to be away from bars, pubs etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srdavies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £60 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing