We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Bath Waterside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location and price but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Location could not be better, good parking and a short walk to anywhere. Typical Travelodge, room too hot, and shower with all the force of a coffee percolator. Staff were friendly and welcoming and good value for Bath. You get what you pay for.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    465
    294
    137
    106
See reviews for
277
660
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nearly didn't book on the basis of some poor reviews, but so glad that we did. Such an easy location for a stay in Bath, less than 5 minutes' walk brings you to the SouthGate shopping area and various restaurants close to the train station. A very easy walk, out of the hotel car park, a short way along the canal, across a pedestrian bridge and you're there. Parked in the hotel car park (plenty of spaces) and paid just £5 for 24 hours. We stayed in a family room which was very spacious, comfortable and clean, albeit just basic as you would expect from a Travelodge. Staff were helpful and friendly. Can't comment on the food as we did not eat in the hotel as there was so much choice nearby. Overall very happy with our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkfwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here last Christmas and New Year. It was beautiful. We had a nice room that over looked the pond, and had all kinds of wildlife to watch as your partner is taking ages getting ready to go out.

Would highly recommend this hotel, it was so cheap, I would of paid double the price for a room this good normally.

The hotel was nicely located. It was approx a 10 min walk into the centre of Bath, and the walk was a very peaceful one along the river. Lots of nice places to eat out around this hotel too, and little cafes just a stone throw away.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the pond. So peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at Bath warerside three days brilliant location for railway station bath and easy walk into bath town centre. We took our little jack russel terrier with us on this occasion. Room was clean warm and had standard tea/coffee TV not a great selection of TV stations but we were there for a break from normal christmas repeats.
opted for breakfast on our first morning great selection of cereals buns and cooked breakfast such a treat paid for another 2 days breakfast. The staff were first class, friendly, polite helpful nothing to much bother. Had one evening meal in the hotel piri piri chicken and chips to put this meal into perspective we also had a meal in town at Graze chop house, our travelodge meal out classed Graze in price and flavour and we felt as if we had eaten a meal at travelodge.
we will certainly be booking another trip to this hotel the manager of this hotel should be proud of their staff and the welcome given, ten out of ten thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

It seems reasonable to rate this hotel well based on its good points, rather than bad. You can't pay less than £50 for a hotel and then rate it as if it were the Ritz and you'd been terribly let down. Unless you're very lucky, or you know someone who owns a hotel, this is the cheapest hotel within walking distance of Bath by a long, long way.

It's not very modern. The room was clean (but probably wouldn't have borne too close an inspection). The bathroom was very much in need of refurbishment, but it wasn't awful. The staff were friendly and attentive at check in.

We didn't eat at the hotel. Why would anyone in their right mind eat at a Travelodge, especially one as close to the centre of Bath? Apart from two cafes (one of which we tried and was pretty decent) on the other side of the road there's a new(ish) parade of chain restaurants next to the station, which is barely five minutes' walk away.

Normally I would spend as little time in a Travelodge as is humanly possible (which, given its proximity to the city, is perfectly possible). As it happens we spent most of the evening in the hotel because of the needs of a baby, and even then I didn't think this place was all that bad.

The place was fully booked the night before. There can't therefore be much of an incentive for the hotel to do anything different.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_DBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Worst Hotel I have ever staid in despite its great location the inside is a horror story, the place is just dirty the staff are in denial of what the actual situation is and the management rather than getting out and making sure the hotel is ok for its guests seem content to sit in a side room by the reception aria holding a perpetual paw wow, Its a brave person that ventures in to the dining room I have seen more appealing dining rooms in a building site cabin, what food there is either warm or cold and bears no resemblance to the glossy picture, I over heard one gentleman ask were the fried eggs were and he was just ignored, the plate warmer did not work so to had to the misery you have use cold plates, the management of Travelodge have gone on the defensive rather the fix the problem with there shabby hotel they are now taking bookings through a agency third party this is so when you ask for a refund they have an excuse why you cant have one, what a dump.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review christopher b. We do expect our hotels to be up to a great standard of cleanliness so we are truly sorry to learn you felt the hotel was not clean and fresh. Our bar café staff are fully trained on how to present our food to great standards and we do expect the pictures in our cafe menus to be a good representation of the food that we provide. It is regrettable to learn you felt our staff did not provide a great service on this occasion. Our customers do have the option to book online or by calling up our call centre to book rooms however some rooms are also available by a 3rd party travel agent. We would like to be able to further understand the issues you have highlighted and be able to investigate further, by doing this we will be able to liaise with your 3rd party in order to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights and were given a room in the annex and could not believe the state of the room. There was a big white stain on the carpet, un-cleaned room, bathroom was filthy, black mould on shower curtain, shower was filthy as was the toilet. We complained and were given another room, marginally better but stains on carpet and cushion on third bed. Bathroom dirty, filthy shower holder, stains in toilet, dirty paintwork and floor. Communal areas in the hotel were not cleaned during our stay and the gents toilet in the communal area was filthy. Breakfast was a shambles guests were just pointed in the direction of un-laid tables and left to get on with it. The hotel offers an all you can eat breakfast but that would be difficult given the amount of hot food on offer, When we arrived in the restaurant there were three sausages on a tray, a tray of cold bacon, a tray of scrambled eggs and a bowl of beans. The sausages quickly disappeared but were not replaced so we had to ask for more and then wait for them to arrive. We complained to the Assistant Manager but were met with a rude, aggressive couldn't care less attitude and were told that our room was dirty because we had spent the night in there! I offered to take her to the room to point out what I was talking about but she declined. When we asked for a refund (we paid £200,00 for two nights) we were told we could not have one as we had not booked direct with the hotel but through a third party! We pointed out that our complaint was with the hotel (who now have our money), but we were unsuccessful in getting any refund. We are now going to complain direct to Travelodge but if our experience is anything to go by at the hotel I don't hold out much hope of a refund.
Our experience at this hotel left us feeling like we had been cheated and it spoilt our weekend in Bath, I will never stay at a Travelodge ever again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We can confirm that we would expect all guests to be allocated a room that is clean and fresh on arrival Jackie M. We would like to apologise that our high cleanliness standards were not met on this occasion. In addition we are very sorry to learn that the breakfast offered did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that a copy of your review has been sent to the Hotel Manager to allow them to investigate and rectify these issues. Every contact to our Customer Care team is investigated and taken seriously, please be assured that you will receive a comprehensive response to your contact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Property: Travelodge Bath Waterside
Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing