We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel as part of a family reunion and after reading some of the previous reviews I wasn’t sure what to expect. My previous recent experiences with Travelodge had been less than favourable so this was a watershed moment for us having already made up our minds never to book a Travelodge again.

We arrived on Friday night to the most glorious weather and were thrilled with our second floor room overlooking a lake / canal and willow tree. The bed was obviously a new one and very comfortable indeed and I cannot fault the cleanliness of the room or staff who were most helpful at all times. Breakfast was pretty comprehensive with the usual hot choices and croissants / muffins, yoghurts / fruit with a lovely view over the lake / canal.

We’d booked this before Christmas to got it for a good rate and really could not fault anything. It’s in an excellent location for Bath and the train station which are only about 10 mins walk away (on the flat) or for another variation on your walk into town, take the walk along the river.

OK Travelodge … well done with the upgrades, you have changed my mind and I will be staying with you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn on holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    505
    314
    149
    116
See reviews for
308
715
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
goring by sea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location.Would definetly stay there again.Just a short walk along the river and we were in Bath. the rooms were clean and bright.and our room overlooked a pond .which was full of wildlife,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank northy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chingford
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for one night for a family Silver Wedding anniversary held in Bath. The room was a bit basic but clean, comfortable and importantly quiet...But....only one shampoo/gel bottle in bathroom, tiling a bit dodgy, no aircom but window did open a bit to allow a breeze in. No Hairdryer..but found out we could request to 'borrow' one from reception. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Went for a drink in hotel bar late afternoon,but no draught beers/lagers available until someone changed the barrels. Avoid breakfast !..sorry but fairly basic and not very good quality products. Try and get a room that overlooks the Avon rather that south facing and main road side...some traffic noise and would be hot in the summer

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There is nothing fancy about this hotel, it is clean, basic and very easy walk to Bath, 10 mins if you a slow walker like me. It is value for money however. Yes the food could be better quality and rooms could have 2 bedside cabinets and sofa etc etc - but for the price you cannot complain. The staff work hard, run around to keep the breakfast buffet topped up, serving drinks at the bar and are very pleasant. For the price , if you want a economical place to stay you cannot beat it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

From check-in to check out a truly good experience. The very friendly and helpful staff together with the building and location have made this the best Travelodge we've ever stayed in.

We stayed one Saturday night in early May, along with other family members from across England. The rooms had been pre-booked months before and we'd been allocated rooms close to one another. Nice touch! (We changed ours with no problems because we wanted a quieter one, away from the main road.) The staff were attentive and chatted about the 25th Wedding Anniversary we were there for.

The beds were very comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The room was spacious, but no sofa and only one hard plastic chair to sit on. If this is the way the refurbishment is going, Travelodge put the sofas back! NOT, I hasten to add this site's fault.

The location is wonderful, not at all the shed in a noisy location you normally get with Travelodges! It's on a bend of the river with the canal joining. And the place has a cafe/bar. Way to go, Travelodge!

To get into central bath a back gate leads onto the river path and along the road a short spell to a footbridge brings you out at the Bath Spa station. Or you can walk alongside the river for a pleasant walk.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe or facing the side car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OriginalDickieMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here with friends for a cheap weekend away and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well located about 10 min walk from the town centre and 5 mins from Bath Spa station. Its in a nice setting by the river so was pleased to see the price we paid for two nights.

Rooms were comfortable and adequate and the breakfast limited but again good value.

On the downside there were insufficient staff on duty to deal with arrivals, bar, breakfast etc but I guess the lack of staff/service is reflected in the price. Another thing that sticks in my throat is having to pay additionally for car parking (£5 a night). I realise most hotels now do this but it does not make it right.

I would certainly consider staying again as its good value.

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the river rather than car park at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is good for the money. Very well located, really near the station, right next to the river and a ten minute walk to the town centre. Two things: we couldn't check in unt 3 which wasn't noted on our Skoosh booking, and Travelodge don't have any left luggage facility which was inconvenient. Otherwise, a very good budget hotel experience.

Room Tip: Check in is 3 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Property: Travelodge Bath Waterside
Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing