We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience”
Review of Komedia Bath

Komedia Bath
Ranked #3 of 13 Concerts & Shows in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Komedia Bath operates in the beautiful former Beau Nash picture house, a grade one listed building on Westgate Street. Since opening in 2008 it has become an important element of the arts quarter in Bath and presents a large and diverse programme focused on comedy and music, and extending to cabaret, spoken word and kids events. Cornerstones of the programme include the all conquering Saturday night Krater Comedy Club, and the bi-monthly Ministry of Burlesque’s Twisted Cabaret. The venue has become a feature on the comedy touring circuit, hosting acts such as Russell Howard, Ross Noble, Jenny Eclair, The Boy With Tape on His Face and many others. Music shows have constantly increased in profile since opening with a wide range of genres attracted to the Komedia Bath including The Feeling, Kate Nash, Ronnie Size, Lulu, The Levellers, Ash, Bellowhead, Clare Teal, Candi Staton, Noah and the Whale, Dry the River, Fink, Frank Turner and Chase & Status.The venue boasts a 615 standing capacity and a 427 cabaret seated capacity which includes a balcony seating 173 people. Komedia Bath also operates a daytime Arts Cafe, offering the only menus in Bath that are accredited to the Soil Association Gold Standard. The Arts Cafe is host to VIP customers at the weekend and on weeknights often operates as a studio venue, with the regular Komedia open mic nights for aspiring performers. The project to develop the Beau Nash to host Komedia Bath won The Building Excellence Award for The Best Renovation of a Listed Building in the UK. Since opening the Komedia Bath has also won The Chortle Award for Best Venue in the West of England five times, cementing the venues position at the top tier of venues in the UK.
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was mine and my wife's 1st time at a a Comedy Club, where we'd been taken by friends. The organisation is really good, and so, with the tickets we had, we were able to secure seats at a table at the front near the bar. The tables are numbered and are served, so you don't need to queue at the bar, and if you get there early enough you can eat too, which we did. The beef bourguignon was lovely, tasty and tender, and the potato wedges were massive and tasty. The cocktaisl are good and the service from the staff was top notch.

There were 3 comedy acts The Noise Next Door, Mitch Benn and Paul Chowdhry who were all good the best being The Noise Next Door, and the MC - Mark Olver - is simply brilliant; side splittingly funny.

Once the acts finished, a Motown disco took over which had the floor filled and when we left, there were people queueing to get in. What better endorsement could you ask for?

2  Thank rivbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Komedia Bath
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Spent the evening here with the VIP package.
3 course meal and a glass of bubbly. Food was excellent, service a little slow. Followed by the evenings line up of 3 comedians and an MC. Very good quality laughter. Don't go if your easily shocked. Table service during the show was excellent. Staff were polite and helpful. However they could do with a few more.

1  Thank tpeters1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Club is less intimate ie bigger than most comedy clubs I've been. Seated on long tables not facing the stage. First two acts were ok, last guy was great, seen him before. What me and my wife really found interesting though is that half the audience loved it, Half seemed offended and too uptight to laugh. Maybe bath needs a more gentile comedy night. We enjoyed it though !

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went to see DJ Derek at Komedia. Derek was of course great but the venue was a very bad choice. Seemed to me that Komedia had oversold the event then decided to give the majority of their staff the night off! Night began with ridiculous queues stretching up the entire road to get in as you were unable to collect tickets in advance so one member of staff was checking e-tickets manually; which clearly caused huge delays. Once inside you were treated to yet more lengthy queues to hand your coat in. Once you had completed all this we went inside to realise Komedia had only opened one bar and were running it with minimum staff; waiting for over 30 minutes to get served drinks is simply a complete joke. Surely the management at Komedia were aware they had sold all the tickets and might have thought that perhaps around 4 bar staff might struggle to serve 600 odd people? All in all; if you want to spend £15 on a ticket, then spend the majority of your night queuing for entry, drinks, the toilet etc and subsequently miss most of the acts you paid to watch then go for it; Komedia's for you!

Thank TheClarkster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KomediaBath, Manager at Komedia Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Firstly many thanks for your comments. We are committed to ensuring the best experience possible for our customers and are constantly looking at ways to improve our service.

I can assure you that we in no way ‘over-sold’ this event. Our capacity allows for 615 people downstairs and 168 on the balcony. In the event we sold all of the downstairs tickets but only 22 tickets for the balcony.

When 637 people are waiting to get in to the venue a queue is inevitable I am afraid and it is not always possible to open the doors early, particularly for an event like the one you attended when sound checks and stage set up need to be done for multiple acts.

With regards to your tickets we are in fact a ticketless venue so there are never any tickets to collect in advance. All ticket holders are sent a confirmation email which is checked on arrival in the same way that a paper ticket would be so this caused no extra delay on the night. Entry was slower than usual because we had been made aware earlier in the day of potential under age ticket holders and as with any busy show we need to be extra careful to make sure that no fake tickets are presented that could take us over capacity. In addition our security team were also carrying out bag searches on everyone which does slow entry down but is obviously necessary.

Our main bar was fully staffed with the maximum 8 bar tenders but as we needed to get 637 people into the building in one hour to comply with our licence conditions this has an obvious impact on how busy that bar is. In addition we were not able to open the second bar for the first few hours because we need to maintain clear and safe access to the main auditorium whilst people are entering the building. By the time we were able to open the second bar the queues had already subsided and so the decision was made to keep all bar staff on the main bar.

We regularly deal with shows with 783 people but on this occasion, everyone arrived in a very short period of time and this had an effect on how busy the bar and cloakroom were. I am very sorry that you felt this spoilt your evening with us. Please get in touch with us directly to discuss this in further detail by emailing infobath@komedia.co.uk.

Komedia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

25 chaps all celebrating a friends 50th went for a good night out. Meal first in komedia, (ok) followed by comedians! All decent blokes and all well behaved.
Before we went in to the club the door supervisor gave us all a 'three strikes warning'. No heckling or talking or we are all out! Suddenly I am not feeling very humourous any more. Feeling like naughty children now not group of well behaved chaps. Nice start!
Didn't get better. Threatened with expulsion as some lads were talking and they had complaints from comedian. Rubbish!
The officious staff did good job souring what should have been good night. We paid over £1500 incl drinks and we got very poor service. Comedians average.
Would give it 2/10 at best. Don't waste your money. It wasn't funny!

1  Thank mybestfriendsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KomediaBath, Manager at Komedia Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

mybestfriendsparky - Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to our Krater Comedy Club.

Given we run a live entertainment venue the enjoyment of our customers is paramount, and as such we ask all our customers to enjoy our events and not spoil the enjoyment of others. Unlike some comedy venues, we don't ban single sex groups, or turn them away if they are in fancy dress. We welcome them but we do ask one favour, and that is not to talk during the acts, as this does ruin the night for other customers.

We run a three warnings rule, and if parties want to chat after this, the honest answer is they would be better off in a pub. As you note, your party had complaints from the comic (who at the time was on stage trying to entertain an audience), which does indicate this was affecting the night for the 200+ other customers.

If we overstepped the mark, then we officially apologise, and if you were inclined to come back to watch the comedy, we would welcome you. If you want a night out chatting with your mates through the comedy, perhaps a night in the pub would be a better plan though.

Thanks for the 2/5 star rating in any case, 4/10 must mean we did something okay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Komedia Bath also viewed

 

Been to Komedia Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing