We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be recommended”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Cranleigh. Lovely large room with great views and everything we needed. Breakfast very plentiful with good choices. Excellent value. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend. Only drawback is the very steep narrow path down to the carpark which is exceptionally small, very difficult to turn round. Would recommend anyone with a large car to park on the road.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the back which had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for her birthday. The four poster room was beautifully decorated and was very clean and well kept. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. A wonderful place to stay whilst visiting Bath and will definitely use again in the future.

Room Tip: Four poster rooms are the move if you're with your wife/girlfriend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a lovely night at the Cranleigh at the start of March. The whole building was immaculately presented and our room was lovely with a fantastic big bathroom (with amazing-smelling hand wash!). The owner was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast really tasty and plentiful (really nice fresh fruit salad). Our only complaint was that we didn't get the room that we booked through the Bath tourism website - this showed pictures of each room and instead of the one we booked (a double room on the first floor), we got a room on the 2nd floor which wasn't a double but two single beds pushed together with separate matresses, so one of us ended up falling down the gap in the night! Fantastic apart from that though. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devongal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My hubby and I stayed here for 2 night at the end of Feb, we didn't spend an awful lot of time in our room, but it was very spacious with an enormous bathroom. We had 2 double beds in our room so 1 each so had a very comfortable nights sleep!!! It was approx 30mins walk into Bath but we chose a beautiful weekend to go so was a very pleasant walk. The bus stop was just down the road if you dont like walking. All in all we had a fab weekend in bath and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nethertonwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I booked this at the last minute so were very glad to have found somewhere so nice. It's a fair walk out from town but the weather was so nice we didn't mind the stroll in and out.
Room was lovely, very clean, lovely fluffy towels, nice touches of high class hand wash, shampoo etc. Great tv in room with dvd and selection of dvd's to choose from. Fresh milk available in fridge in hall.
The breakfasts were super, fresh fruit salad of the highest quality (with all the pith cut off the orange segments!) fabulous cooked breakfast and lovely toast and different jams.
Good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in a four poster room for 4 days at the end of February. It was overall a lovely experience and one that I have recommended to both family and friends.

Pros

• Owners and staff are lovely and helpful, and quick to resolve the minor issues we raised. They even left a number to reach them on when they popped out.
• Lovely breakfasts (full range of sweet and savoury)
• Very competitively priced

Room was very well furnished with everything you could hope for plus a few unexpected touches
• Big TV with freeview
• iPod docking station
• DVD player and an extensive communal library of DVDs
• Free WiFi and a pc for guests to use in reception, also for free
• A forgotten toiletries box (sanitary pad, make up remover pads, razor etc.)
• Exquisite smell and texture of toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion & soap)
• Bath robes in the cupboard
• Iron and ironing board

Cons

Very few really

• The room had energy saving light bulbs, so at times the room could be a little bit dark
• The travel hairdryer provided wasn’t terribly powerful, but to be fair it was a nice touch that one was afforded to us.
• The bed was a bit too hard for my liking, although not for my girlfriend’s -this comes down to personal preference!

There is no finer compliment I can pay them than by saying that I would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Three nights at the end of February may not be a typical visit to the Cranleigh, but nevertheless we were made very welcome on arrival and shown to a lovely room - large, bright and beautifully furnished, really clean and with everthing we were likely to need.
Breakfast was a wonderful experience - terrific choice, excellent quality and very relaxed. The staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful.
While we were there parking proved not to be an issue, though with just 5 spaces at the bottom of an incredibly narrow access we had to resort to on-road parking which I could imagine being problematic at busier periods.
The only poor aspect of our visit was the comfort of the bed which was hard and not condusive to a good night's sleep - interestingly, this is the opposite of many of the reviews, so maybe it is more a matter of personal preference and not so much grounds for complaint!!

Room Tip: The climb up the stairs to rooms at the top of the house is not recommended for the unfit - especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £72 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing