We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Brilliant”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buckley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here 26th - 17th June 2012. It is a lovely B & B; the room we had was really comfy with a spacious bedroom and smallish bathroom but who spends much time in a bathroom. The room had everything that you may need during your stay. The breakfast was really nice with a lot of choice. The staff were really friendly and helpful. What more could you ask for!! The location is not central but we didn't find the walk a problem at all, it took us about half an hour. You can either head straight down the main road or you can cut through Victoria Park and the Royal Crescent if you find the walk a touch tough the Weston pub is an ideal halfway point food is excellent
All in all this was a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalumabuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    149
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
147
478
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked a weekend break and the hot tub for one evening. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent. The staff were eager and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieCouple_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This was our second visit to Cranleigh, although perhaps not the cheapest or most central B&B in Bath, the 4 poster rooms and the hot tub more than make up for this. The 4 poster room that we stayed in this time as on the ground floor and not quite as spacious as the first floor room we stayed in a few years ago, however we still had plenty of room and an amazing bed! (The bathrooms in both rooms were small but nicely done out and perfectly adequate)

The hot tub isn't for those on a budget but we thought it excellent value for money. The price included 2 hours and a bottle of decent cava. The inclusion of a shiatsu massage bed since our last visit was definitely an added bonus.

Breakfast next morning was swift and tasty. We had to leave early but the staff were happy to serve us before breakfast officially started which was very much appreciated! The choice of food on offer was appetising and everything was of good quality.

I would definitely recommend Cranleigh as your base if you're planning a trip to Bath.

Room Tip: Choose the four poster room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clandestine_Nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed here 15th - 17th June 2012.

It is a lovely B & B; the room we had was really comfy with a spacious bathroom. The room had everything that you may need during your stay. The breakfast was really nice with a lot of choice. The staff were really friendly and helpful. What more could you ask for!!

The location is not central but my boyfriend and I didn't find the walk a problem at all, it took us about half an hour. You can either head straight down the main road or you can cut through Victoria Park and the Royal Crescent.

All in all this was a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have never encountered better service or value out of any hotel I have stayed in during my travels. The staff is friendly and informative. The room service was excellent and I cannot think of any way they could have made my visit a more pleasant experience.
As for the location, it is true that it is a little out of town, but there is an easy taxi system and a frequent bus route. Also the walk into town is extremely pleasant and takes you past several lovely gardens and parks, and the Royal Crescent and the Circus, which are two tourist destinations anyway.
Overall, the visit was completely delightful and I will definitely visit again the next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: The building is old, so the lower levels can sometimes hear creaking from upper levels. So perhaps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

A really pretty B&B, beautifully made up. Spacious room for the four of us, with a very nice en-suite bathroom (which was also very large). Liked their little touches - PC available for free Internet access, DVDs for borrowing etc. Breakfast was also very good.

Its probably not the best location for walking into Bath, but the parking lot is only a short drive down the road and from there the Roman Baths etc are only a short walk away.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofofficeautoreply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

What a lovely b&b. The room was really comfy and well equipped, with everything you could need. Definitely recommend the hot tub. We sat in it for 2 hours with a bottle of bubbly, with the rain pouring, but as the hot tub is covered we were safe from the elements. Delicious breakfast, had the english grill on day one and smoked salmon & scrambled eggs the next. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizabelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing