We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back!!”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #15 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our 1st year anniversary. We booked it through last minute.com and are very glad we did.
The room was huge and the bed very comfortable with a plasma tv, sky channels and the dvd player especially was an added bonus.
The only slight downside was the sze of the bathroom but it is worth the compromise for the size of the bed and bedroom. Who spends long in there anyway?
Breakfast was amazing with a good variety of choices and in addition you are able to help yourself to cereal.
The staff are very friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble.
The walk into the city centre only takes 25 minutes and is ideally situated if you want to stroll through the Royal Victoria Garden taking in the Royal Crescent, Botanical Gardens and The Circus before heading into the city.
There is a lovely bar just down the road called The Weston which we would highly reccommend for food, friendly staff and atmosphere.
All in all, it was a perfect weekend in a perfect location

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    149
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
145
474
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The owners are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely with variety and choice and good service. We stayed in room number eight. The bathroom is modern and clean although I do not believe mats at the base of toilets are hygienic or necessary. The room was full of frilly bits and pieces (not my style). There was a good size flat screen TV and CD player with a CD library in the entrance (nice touch), a tea and coffee maker which was great. The lamps next to the bed need to be replaced and both my husband and I found the mattress too soft and the pillows very uncomfortable. This was the only bed and pillows we had a problem with out of 8 hotels on this trip. To be fair the owner did state that if we had advised him of our problem with the soft bed he would have had a topper removed which may have helped solve the problem and also advised that the mattress was top quality memory foam (again perhaps just not what we find comfortable). We parked our car in the street free of charge and it was a very short drive to the bus stop where you could leave the car and catch the bus into the centre of town. We loved Bath and provided the bed could be made firmer, choice of pillows provided and the lamps and toilet mat removed then I would stay here again as the people running this B&B were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickilovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

My wife, my daughter and I spent two nights while visiting colleges. The B&B is in a lovely late Victorian house at the outskirts of Bath with a little garden and gazebo in front. The couple running the establishment is very friendly and helpful and so is the rest of the staff. We had a very spacious room with a huge bathroom with shower and bathtub. The rooms were very well kept with tasteful furniture and nice small touches such as box with sewing and shaving kit, band aids and even some paracetamol. The choice of breakfast was more than adequate, including fruit salad and toast. The price was very reasonable for this level of establishment and service. The only drawback is the distance from town and from the closest restaurants. Two bus lines stop close to the Cranleigh, but they were very infrequent during the weekend. A taxi run to town costs approximately £10. Altogether, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was a "surprise" overnight stay from my partner to celebrate our anniversary. Beautifully presented building which felt immediately inviting as I walked through the front door. Our room was stunning - we had the superior Four Poster bedroom with lots of lovely touches and spectacular views over garden and beyond! We walked down to the Weston Pub for dinner (only 10/15mins depending on how high your heels are) - food and service was very good and competitively priced too!
Breakfast was excellent - the only downside was having to leave this morning to go to work! We will definitely be returning - this is a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZenaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lovely house, furnished in Victorian style. Room was lovely with excellent facilities and a wonderful power shower. Friendly staff welcomed us at breakfast each day. Easy to find and a good 35 mins walk into city centre which kept us fit. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Bath.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triciawales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had room 9 on the top floor which was lovely and big with all the mod cons you could ask for in a Victorian style hotel. The staff were wonderful, polite and friendly throughout the stay.

Our room had a very large, comfy bed which was furnished with all you need for a short stay. The bathroom was also spacious and had a bath and shower over, and plenty of toiletries for the stay.

The breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh fruit and yogurt, cereals, and a selection of cooked foods to order all served by lovely, smiling ladies in a bright and airy dining room.

We were given 2 maps on registration showing where we were and where places of interest were. Also she pointed out bus stops and routes in case we wanted to leave the car behind. We walked into town the first day which was approx 1 and a half miles downhill into the centre, passing the park on route that you can walk through to get to The Crescent.

We had a lovely stay at the Cranleigh and would recommend it to anyone who wanted a cosier style hotel just outside the city centre.

Room Tip: Room 9 is where we stayed for 3 nights. As long as you can climb 2 flights of stairs you get a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Cranleigh for two nights in August. Really enjoyed our stay, great room and cracking breakfast! Would also recomend the Canal Visitor centre and the comedy walk around Bath.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing