We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian charmer”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Victorian charmer”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed for one night over the holiday. My family of four stayed in a family room on the top level with ample space and alot of Victorian charm. The Cranleigh is on the outskirts of Bath however we had a car. Finding the hotel was not easy at night but do follow the detailed directions on the Cranleigh website. Had no problems parking out front. We ate at The Globe restaurant (5 minute drive away from town center) which I highly recommend as it is an old English country inn with great food and cozy atmosphere. The breakfast at the Cranleigh was exquisite. Perfect for an overnight in Bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokiecouple91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    146
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
142
467
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Very friendly run guest house. Room very comfortable, only minor point for us was washbasin being separate from the en-suite. Nice long walk into Bath which helped to walk off the very good breakfast. Definately would recommend to friends for a very good place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-dronsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The room I booked was very nice with a four poster bed and excellent decor overlooking the garden which is fairly scenic.

The breakfast was very good quality, and with what looked like a family run business they seemed very helpful.

The only downside we had was a minor point when asking for a bucket of ice for some champagne the owner did not seem keen to help. I think this was that we appeared to wake him up but as this was at 9pm or 9.30pm at the latest I didn't think this was too late to call. Either way after a less than keen reception saying he couldn't help us he arrived at our door 15 minutes later with a bucket of ice so may have just caught him at a bad time.

The B&B is not far from the centre 20-25min walk or 10 minutes on the bus which stops not far from the B&B

Would recommend this place to others

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

cant fault this hotel, superior room was beautiful, breakfast excellent, hospitality excellent, would definitely go back and recommend to friends. will be returning in the summer for the horse racing at Lansdown and make use of the hotels hot tub in the garden.

Room Tip: superior room was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Spent a couple of nights here in November and were treated to a very high standard of accomodation and service. Impressed with welcome which included a very useful quick guide through maps and information for Bath and the surrounding area which included transport and eating suggestions which proved reliable. Beautiful room, we stayed in Room #1, stylish bathroom included. Breakfast varied and of a high quality with friendly service once more. A perfect destination for business and pleasure purposes. Good location to visit Bath centre and the nearby area. Quick note the car park is a challenge and best attempted with help!

Room Tip: Four-poster room lovely and worth the upgrade. (Room 1).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Our third visit to Bath and stay at the Cranleigh and we were not disappointed. Room up to its usual very comfortable standard and our hosts were welcoming and hospitable as always. We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a family welcome, lovely views and a delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: side over looking the garden has wonderful views of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Cranleigh. Excellent very clean room and wonderful breakfast (great choice and flexibility). An initial problem was sorted very swiftly and the owners couldn't have been more sincerely apologetic. What more can I say except "We shall return!" A+++++++

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing