We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #15 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The service was friendly & we were made to feel very welcome. We had a room with a four poster bed - the bed was very comfortable & the room was clean, not very big - but we didn't need a large space.
The breakfast was very nice in the morning.
It was easy to get to the main attractions and we had a lovely weekend in Bath, I would recommend staying at Cranleigh. It is quite expensive, but that is largely due to the location - you get what you pay for & you have to remember you are not just paying for the accommodation alone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    149
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
145
474
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nesodden
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The very nice and big room with a fantastic vieuw gave a feeling of comfort.
Close to town in a quiet area.
This old victoiran house give a feeling of luxuryl
The bed was very big and very comfortable

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berger_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I had a lovely few nights at Cranleigh. The staff are friendly and welcoming and Colin was most helpful with all the local info you need. It is a pleasant 30 mins walk into Bath and there are plenty of local buses if you don't fancy the walk. My bed was a really comfortable four-poster in a lovely room with all the facilities you need. It was a very quiet room at the back of the house with views of the countryside. I would definitely recommend this B & B and would stay here if I visit Bath again.

Room Tip: My room at the back of the house was quiet, sunny and with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieScan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had 2 rooms here in July 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. Cranleigh is a little distance out of the main "old" town but it is easy to walk downhill and through the park to town, and then catch a taxi back home later in the day. Cranleigh itself is a beautiful house that has been restored. The rooms are a good size, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms (en suite) were good. The street was quiet at night. The owners were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with more of a choice than at other B&B's. We had a great time in Bath and particularly liked staying at Cranleigh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredS3124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Owners are very nice showed us to our room which was the 4poster room the biggest one for £120 A night. Was lovely but I cant say id pay that again. Also the hot tub was really good but at £30 for 2hours is alot esp as we stayed 2nights. Breakfast was really nice. Not to far from town but very hilly. Lovely weekend tho.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle01uk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is one of the best B & B's we have stayed in. The rooms were very clean and the standard of decoration was excellent. Excellent breakfast served by very friendly owners and staff. we were supplied with a discount card that could be used in Bath - we used this on 2 occasions when eating out in the evening. Car parking was the only problem as they have limited space available although they have free parking on the main road. I would have no hesitation in recommending this to others

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We only stayed at the Cranleigh for one night but I would most certainly stay there again.We had the 'four poster'room,and it was immaculate.Everything in the room (and in the rest of the house)was in keeping with the period ,and had obviously been carefully sourced to be both useful and pleasing to the eye.The bottle of wine in the room was unexpectedly reasonably priced and little touches,e.g the 'emergency' box on the mantlepiece,were very thoughtful.The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean,and there was a good view of the city.There is parking at Cranleigh,although this is a little awkward,but we found a spot on the road opposite the house.We used a local taxi firm during our stay but the city is only a short drive away,and information can be found,at the house,about local attractions.The breakfast room is lovely,bright and welcoming ,and there is a good choice of dishes on the menu,plus cereal,fruit,juices etc.My daughter and I had scrambled and poached eggs,both well cooked,and i enjoyed some very good coffee.It was a very enjoyable experience and one I would happily repeat.

Room Tip: look online for information about the rooms , and book early at peak times
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing