We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, clean and quiet.”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed four nights here in a very large, well appointed twin room with a lovely view. Clean and quiet with romantic room design. Breakfast to order in a big, bright dining room. Lots of tour info available at reception. This is a little way out of Bath but it's right on the city bus route.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I were keen to find authentic B and B's in the UK and Cranleigh exceeded our expectations. A charming place to stay and the owners have thought of everything. From the 'emergency supplies' left in your room, to the toiletries, DVD's, restaurant guide, map, WIFI, wine, it felt like we were long lost relatives being welcomed home. The breakfast was the best we have had in the UK. If you are after a more personalised service to the large hotels, this is certainly 5 star as far as facilities go. Just brilliant!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LDB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here two nights. Beautiful house and bedrooms, immaculately presented and clean. I really liked the peacefulness and serinity, never heard a sound. Hosts are lovely people . Breakfast was well cooked and presented. Hope to stay again, many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgtips451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Best recommendation I could give for this B&B is to say that I would stay there again when I next visit Bath. Clean, superbly maintained, centrally located, and just off the Cotswald Way. A welcome retreat after the 102 mile walk through the Cotswalds. -- Gary A

Room Tip: The top floor is a hike on some steep stairs. Stay on the second (referred to as the first in the UK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Cranleigh for just one night, arriving late and leaving early, but the patrons ensured we knew how to get in if there was nobody on reception, although as it turns out there was. This is a lovely old house and the atmosphere is pleasant and welcoming. Our room was on the top floor and was spacious and clean. The ensuite shower room was well equipped and clean. If you're looking for modern rooms with no personality this isn't for you as it's an old house with the odd squeak here and there adding to the charm. But all mod cons were there, tv, wifi, coffee and tea etc. Breakfast was good and the service was excellent. If we travel to Bath again, I'd happily stay there if I didn't need to be in the centre of town. Thank you for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hils753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I regularly stay at corporate hotels, and it was a real pleasure to stay in this establishment. The room was huge! It is appropriately decorated and extremely clean throughout. Lovely touch with not only shower gel but also hand and body wash, beautifully presented with a complimentary 'emergency kit' if we had forgotten anything. We were provided with maps of Bath and the local area, with hints and tips on where to eat, which was really helpful (we went to the local indian restaurant which was very nice, and reasonable).
As early risers, we might have preferred breakfast before 8am however it was well presented, plenty of choice and no 'extra charges' for smoked salmon etc. If we had one criticism, it was that the cooked breakfast was cool, not hot.
Parking was limited, and accessed via a narrow, steep hill (good job him indoors was driving not me!).
The hosts have an open and honest approach - DVD's available to borrow, no charge. Mini bar in the breakfast room - just help yourself and tell us what you had so that we can add it to your bill. We really appreciated the trust element.
Unlike busy corporate hotels that I am used to, it was odd that we didn't see any other guests whilst we were there....even though we didn't leave until around 0845
I had noticed they mentioned
We would thoroughly recommend this homely, local and welcoming guesthouse

Room Tip: Room 6 was on the second floor so lots of stairs, but very quiet and views were lovely (providing yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our room (4 poster bed, first floor) was great, with a lovely view. It was quiet at night--great for sleeping. The innkeepers were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was really good, and there were ample vegetarian choices. It's a bit of a walk into town, which we enjoyed, and has a few pubs and shops very close by. Parking was no problem. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 159 in Bath
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing