We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in October. Twin room. Very clean, with lovely decor. We sat in the armchairs in our room in the afternoon with the sun streaming through the window. After a long drive it was wonderful. Parking on site but also plenty of street parking available. Received a comprehensive check in when we arrived with maps, suggestions where to have an evening meal and the best way to get into the city. Breakfast was great. Everyone was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 4 at the back of the house with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

have recently had the pleasure of staying at this special little gem.
I spent hours looking at hotels and B&B's online in Bath and came across Cranleigh on Laterooms
The photos looked great and the price was reasonable. Luckily I took the time to check their website directly and saw their best price guarantee. I am happy to report they delivered exactly that. It worked out over ��50 cheaper booking directly so if you do visit please dont waste your time with comparison sites.
Now down to the important bits.
The location = great���The Room = amazing���The Staff = perfect
Free wifi���Great breakfast
Overall the perfect experience. I couldn't help snap up photos and sen them to family and friends as I was so impressed with the room.
We went for the superior four poster room which to be fair was not expensive in the slightest compared to the superior rooms in chain hotels. This room was huge. The photos will not do it justice. Everything about the room was picture perfect and so clean it felt like we were the first people to have stayed in it.
Breakfast was all you could ask for with the staff more than happy to accommodate wherever they can.
Some of the nicest features were a mini bar that worked on an honesty policy. Take what you would like and just make a note of what you had. DVD's available free of charge, just pop to the reception and select what you want from the shelf. Its these small trusting touches that make you appreciate the amazing venue and people running it.
Will I go back? Of course and wont bother looking for any other options when i next go to bath.
Excellent place, thank you for a lovely stay Cranleigh

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrInfluential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had a lovely stay here, the room was very quaint. It was quite a small room, but had everything in there and was well thought out. The breakfast was very tasty, lots of choice, great service and the tea pots were awesome.
The locality of the B&B was a bit far from the town, and we were on a birthday weekend, so we were getting taxi's in and out of the town, which was about £9 a time, so it was starting to add up. I would recommend here for a more relaxed weekend, when you're not on a timescale, and can walk into the town, as it's actually not that far away, but it's a trek if you were in heels.
I was really happy with my room, but the bed was a bit creaky, one of the towels had a massive hole in it, the shower rail was hanging down a bit and was held up with sticky back plastic. When we were leaving, the cleaning staff seemed in a hurry to get on with the job, and we seemed a bit in the way. The minimum stay was also a bit off putting, but I wanted to stay with our group, as they had booked to stay here,
The car park is on a huge hill, it required an Austin Powers style shunting to get into the space, I would recommend to park on the road.
It's really lovely here, it's only a few minor things that I've commented on, but all in all a great stay, lovely owners and a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macadamia4444244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our visit. Facilities were of a very good standard and we received very friendly service from the moment we arrived. Good choice for breakfast in the morning and we appreciated being able to have a decent coffee. Would certainly recommend to others & if we are ever back in Bath we would use again. Rating should be closer to 4.5, wasn't perfect but was certainly very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingScorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed four nights here in a very large, well appointed twin room with a lovely view. Clean and quiet with romantic room design. Breakfast to order in a big, bright dining room. Lots of tour info available at reception. This is a little way out of Bath but it's right on the city bus route.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I were keen to find authentic B and B's in the UK and Cranleigh exceeded our expectations. A charming place to stay and the owners have thought of everything. From the 'emergency supplies' left in your room, to the toiletries, DVD's, restaurant guide, map, WIFI, wine, it felt like we were long lost relatives being welcomed home. The breakfast was the best we have had in the UK. If you are after a more personalised service to the large hotels, this is certainly 5 star as far as facilities go. Just brilliant!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LDB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here two nights. Beautiful house and bedrooms, immaculately presented and clean. I really liked the peacefulness and serinity, never heard a sound. Hosts are lovely people . Breakfast was well cooked and presented. Hope to stay again, many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgtips451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 159 in Bath
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing