We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend visit”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekend visit”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Cranleigh have very friendly staff. The room we stayed in was lovely, very well appointed room, lovely shower and big fluffy towels. Nice view from the room. The breakfast was very good and plenty available. I would loved to have been able to experience the hot tub, but a reluctant husband didn't want to. Overall this was a lovely place to stay for a weekend away. Good transport by bus and taxis.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good, the back of the house has good views and no street noise. The breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinem152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    146
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
142
467
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We got upgraded so ended up in a lovely large room that was beautifully presented. It was a shame we very visiting friends so didn’t get to enjoy it for very long! Would definitely stay again as walkable to the city centre and service was lovely, a great spot to explore the city from. The full breakfast was also great. The off-street parking is first in and a little tight but everyone seemed to manage OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C3travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

A lovely homely hotel, nice clean room, bit of a dodgy flush on the loo though! Made us feel very welcome and lots of choice for breakfast, yummy pancakes. Frequent buses to and from the centre that run until late, but not too far to walk.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked a superior room for a couple of nights as a treat after christmas. I was not too sure what to expect as we paid a really good price. When we arrived we were greeted and give maps and useful information about the city. We also were looking for somewhere nice to eat and Denise gave us some very good recommendation about restaurants in the city.

The room was amazing it was huge, with a large tv and nice ensuite with a shower, no bath but thats fine because me and my husband prefer showers.

We got a taxi to the city for dinner and the following day we drove in and parked in the large car park that was recommended by the owners of cranleigh. (We would have like to walked but I don't think its stopped raining whilst we were there).

There was a choice at breakfast and as was pleasantly surprised with the choice of dishes as I am a vegetarian. My husband was very happy with his full english breakfast on both days.

Over all a great stay, very well done everyone at cranleigh.

Room Tip: I didn't see the smaller rooms but the large superior room we have was defiantly worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Subject: Cranleigh
Location: Bath, Somerset, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: Disapointed stay


We were placed us in a room just behind the reception desk where we could hear them moving about and they could hear us nice furnishings in the room but We must say the smallest bathroom well showerroom weve ever seen in a guest house what a let down.breakfast well presented Parking was dangerousl and I would not reconmend any guest even to attempt to park there and reconmend them to park in the street which is residential if close parking in available

Room Tip: Have a look at position of room and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleighbb, Owner at Cranleigh, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We would like to put this review into some context
The guest admitted to illegally smoking in the guest bedroom/bathroom and was asked to stop. This was noticed by one of our staff who informed us. This contaminated the room with smoke odour and put our other guests at an increased safety risk.
As a result we had to deep clean the room the next day and take it off sale until the odour had gone.

In addition we also had to compensate the guests in the adjacent room who complained about the smell of tobacco smoke entering their room

We have charged the guest to recompense some of our costs in deep cleaning the room.
Cranleigh Bath is advertised as a none smoking guest house on our own website and on all on-line travel agent sites. We display all the legal notices to this effect and have no smoking paraphernalia in rooms ( e.g. ashtrays, matches etc)

This guest stayed with us for one night in room 2 which is one of our classic four poster rooms. This was a free upgrade form one of our Classic rooms booked by the reviewer

There are many other reviews, room tips and pictures on the TripAdvisor site of this room for readers of this review to look at to get a different view of what this room has to offer

Parking at Cranleigh Bath is provided free of charge to guests. When we receive a confirmed booking we provide our guests with entry and exit advice to help them decide whether they wish to park in our free car park or park on the road (Newbridge Hill) which is one of the few roads in Bath which is unrestricted for parking. In the 10 years we have owned Cranleigh many thousands of our guests have used our car park without incident
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed over New Year's Eve. We were made to feel welcome straight away and nothing was too much trouble. We did not actually need much extra help because everything was so well organized. The room was lovely: fluffy towels, character-filled furniture and decorations. The breakfasts were first rate. All in all, a wonderful stay; I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the top floor, facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0uren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at Cranleigh. The room was spacious and clean with an amazing corner bath in the ensuite. The children age 10 and 13 had full size single beds and adults a super king size. The beds were comfy and well made. Breakfast was cooked to order which was quick and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our mini holiday. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a great family room at front of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing