We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
669
163
22
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
163
22
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre honesty bar guest house breakfast was delicious four poster bed royal crescent little extras discount card victoria park stayed for nights lovely room lovely touch fresh milk street parking a lovely stay breakfast room min walk
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just got back from an amazing mini break to Bath. We stayed at Cranleigh they have super friendly staff with nothing too much trouble, they even gave us a lift into the city. There in a nice pub about 10 minutes walk and Denise recommended Hudsons Steakhouse for the second evening, top choice.

Large room, very clean, loads of facilities, great breakfast.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room, large spacious & comfy bed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveyPHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose this place because I'm allergic to dust and the rating for cleanliness was very good ... we couldn't guess how wrong we were. On the photos we could only see two rooms with king size beds so we asked if we could have the one we liked the most. However, we were never told that instead of a king size bed we would have two single beds put together... which was uncomfortable and annoying. Our poor experience started with the lady not introducing herself, giving us a different price from the one we were supposed to pay and providing very little information about the place. A few minutes after we got in the room, I was going to use one of the towels to clean my hands when I realised that there was what looked like a pubic hair on it. We took the set of towels to the lady who shook the hair out of the towel like it was nothing and prompted to bring another set to the room. The room was full of dust on our arrival and we informed the lady when asking for a different set of towels. She assured us that she would ask the girls to carry out a special cleaning and asked us to write a list of places that needed to be cleaned. In our opinion it wasn't a special cleaning... the room should have been cleaned in first place. We made the list (which included lots of places with dust, dirty toilet glasses - one with a white thing and the other one with a hair inside it - and a very dirty bath with tiles that had clearly not been cleaned as dirty and with several hairs on them). The pillows didn't have pillow protectors, only pillow cases and the sheets had several holes on them. When we returned to the B&B after dinner, the room was cold as it happened very often during our stay.
On the day after, someone cleaned everything we had on the list but didn't do it properly... you could still see dust everywhere, specially on the chandelier and inside the toilet glasses (someone actually cleaned the cups on the inside leaving them impossible to use).
The toilet switch didn't work properly so we just had to pull it until it worked. Also, the toilet seats kept falling down which annoyed my partner very much (men, be aware!).
The good thing about the room was that it was very big and had loads of storage options. However, the mechanism that holds the wardrobe door was broken and several drawers were dirty inside.
In our opinion the breakfast options were odd... a full English didn't include baked beans (in fairness we didn't even ask if they could do it as so many bad things had happened and no one asked if we were happy afterwards) but there was an option that only consisted in beans on toast. The menu didn't mention veggie sausages for vegetarians (I don't eat meat) and there were options that only included eggs. I ended having the same thing every single day. The fruit as good though.
During breakfast we realised that the butter pots were refilled with butter put on the top of crumbles from previous days, which didn't seem very hygienic. To make it even worse, I found a hair in the butter on our second breakfast there.
On the 3rd day we realised that the bedroom door had been left open...!
At the end of this overall poor experience, we were again told the wrong price and were never asked if we liked the place or what they could do to improve the service... We couldn't believe that absolutely no one apologised to us during our 4 night stay with all that happened!
The only reason why we are giving more than 2 stars it's because the place fulfilled our basic needs.

Room Tip: Refuse room number 10 if you are a couple.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo_Durao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Cranleigh. We have considered aspects of your review and discussed these with the partners and staff with some action points created for improvement in some areas. We have also considered other guest remarks before and after your stay which on the whole have been very positive.

As you did not express at the time about your dissatisfaction and given the number of issues you have written about in your review we would have really like to have had the opportunity to resolve this before you left us. We do not want any of our guest to leave unhappy and we certainly would have done something to make you feel more positive.

Again we are very sorry we did not meet your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovey house and very friendly owners which made for a fabulous city break. I would recommend Cranleigh to anyone visiting Bath. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating and picked us up and dropped at back at the train station.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jgilks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Bath and found everything perfect. Nice spacious room, good bathroom, all clean and exactly as it should be. The highlight is the breakfast, really excellently cooked and served and a nice buzz in the breakfast room, just hate those places where you can hear a pin drop. Not in the centre, but the courtesy ride in to town was a surprising and much appreciated extra, and the walk is pleasant through the park if you have time. Parking is snug, down a narrow drive, but we managed fine.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front on the first floor, but no noise at all from the road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marionjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Cranleigh's web site is very helpful especially in things to see and do and a quick way to the B&B while avoiding downtown. Our room was beautiful and very clean and well decorated and breakfast each morning was delicious especially the fresh fruit and outstanding coffee. It's only a 1.5 mile walk to the center of Bath through a beautiful park with quick access to the Royal Crescent. We even walked back that evening! The 2nd day Timothy gave us an easy way to drive to nearby parking and directions so we could easily leave Bath after morning touring and visit Wells. He also gave us a great way to leave town on the 3rd day without entering the center of town. The Big Ben card that came with our key was a great way to save money in Bath. We would definitely repeat our visit here and recommend it heartily!

Room Tip: Twin rooms have lots of steps! If you have big luggage ask for a lower room if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews