We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
668
162
22
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
162
22
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehonesty barguest housebreakfast was deliciousfour poster bedroyal crescentlittle extrasdiscount cardvictoria parkstayed for nightslovely roomlovely touchfresh milkstreet parkinga lovely staybreakfast roommin walk
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a lovely stay in may :) the service was great, the brakfast and the room too. We just loved the victorian style in the house. They gave us lift in to the city!!!! We will come back to this b & b :) Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillemyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a lovely stay, although we arrived wet & muddy the lady couldn't have been friendlier, she carried one of our suitcases, gave us lots of local area info & showed us to our room (no. 5). We'd slept in 6 b&b's on our walk but this was by far the best. The room was very large & clean & the bed was very comfortable, we couldn't fault it! Breakfast was delicious with friendly service & a good variety if you don't fancy the standard fried option. All in all a great stay & somewhere we would happily stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PetalHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just a short note to thank everyone at Cranleigh for a lovely end to my holiday. The little cake for my birthday was delicious and a lovely touch. It was such a surprise when we walked into our room and saw it with a little sparkler on top and all my birthday cards arranged around it.

Just wonderful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just got back from an amazing mini break to Bath. We stayed at Cranleigh they have super friendly staff with nothing too much trouble, they even gave us a lift into the city. There in a nice pub about 10 minutes walk and Denise recommended Hudsons Steakhouse for the second evening, top choice.

Large room, very clean, loads of facilities, great breakfast.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room, large spacious & comfy bed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveyPHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose this place because I'm allergic to dust and the rating for cleanliness was very good ... we couldn't guess how wrong we were. On the photos we could only see two rooms with king size beds so we asked if we could have the one we liked the most. However, we were never told that instead of a king size bed we would have two single beds put together... which was uncomfortable and annoying. Our poor experience started with the lady not introducing herself, giving us a different price from the one we were supposed to pay and providing very little information about the place. A few minutes after we got in the room, I was going to use one of the towels to clean my hands when I realised that there was what looked like a pubic hair on it. We took the set of towels to the lady who shook the hair out of the towel like it was nothing and prompted to bring another set to the room. The room was full of dust on our arrival and we informed the lady when asking for a different set of towels. She assured us that she would ask the girls to carry out a special cleaning and asked us to write a list of places that needed to be cleaned. In our opinion it wasn't a special cleaning... the room should have been cleaned in first place. We made the list (which included lots of places with dust, dirty toilet glasses - one with a white thing and the other one with a hair inside it - and a very dirty bath with tiles that had clearly not been cleaned as dirty and with several hairs on them). The pillows didn't have pillow protectors, only pillow cases and the sheets had several holes on them. When we returned to the B&B after dinner, the room was cold as it happened very often during our stay.
On the day after, someone cleaned everything we had on the list but didn't do it properly... you could still see dust everywhere, specially on the chandelier and inside the toilet glasses (someone actually cleaned the cups on the inside leaving them impossible to use).
The toilet switch didn't work properly so we just had to pull it until it worked. Also, the toilet seats kept falling down which annoyed my partner very much (men, be aware!).
The good thing about the room was that it was very big and had loads of storage options. However, the mechanism that holds the wardrobe door was broken and several drawers were dirty inside.
In our opinion the breakfast options were odd... a full English didn't include baked beans (in fairness we didn't even ask if they could do it as so many bad things had happened and no one asked if we were happy afterwards) but there was an option that only consisted in beans on toast. The menu didn't mention veggie sausages for vegetarians (I don't eat meat) and there were options that only included eggs. I ended having the same thing every single day. The fruit as good though.
During breakfast we realised that the butter pots were refilled with butter put on the top of crumbles from previous days, which didn't seem very hygienic. To make it even worse, I found a hair in the butter on our second breakfast there.
On the 3rd day we realised that the bedroom door had been left open...!
At the end of this overall poor experience, we were again told the wrong price and were never asked if we liked the place or what they could do to improve the service... We couldn't believe that absolutely no one apologised to us during our 4 night stay with all that happened!
The only reason why we are giving more than 2 stars it's because the place fulfilled our basic needs.

Room Tip: Refuse room number 10 if you are a couple.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo_Durao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Cranleigh. We have considered aspects of your review and discussed these with the partners and staff with some action points created for improvement in some areas. We have also considered other guest remarks before and after your stay which on the whole have been very positive.

As you did not express at the time about your dissatisfaction and given the number of issues you have written about in your review we would have really like to have had the opportunity to resolve this before you left us. We do not want any of our guest to leave unhappy and we certainly would have done something to make you feel more positive.

Again we are very sorry we did not meet your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews