We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
668
162
22
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
162
22
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehonesty barguest housebreakfast was deliciousfour poster bedroyal crescentlittle extrasdiscount cardvictoria parkstayed for nightslovely roomlovely touchfresh milkstreet parkinga lovely staybreakfast roommin walk
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Positive notes for this B&B, comfortable bed and excellent freshly cooked breakfast.
Negative notes, dark and very dull bedroom, hot and stuffy, not helped by the thick drapes on the four poster. Need to supply a fan Parking not good. Very narrow approach road to the parking area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you have enjoyed the hospitality, comfortable beds and varied breakfast menu we provide. Obviously we are disappointed that the room was not to your taste.

Cranleigh is a Victorian period home located in the Bath conservation area. As we advertise our guest rooms are all individually styled to complement the Victorian features of the building. The room you stayed in has a hand carved dark, oak four poster bed which is dressed with a regal blue fabric to complement this. This room also has very 2 large sliding sash windows which extend to the full height of the ceiling which also open to provide ventilation.

We appreciate that your stay was during very warm and humid conditions we have ensure all our room have fans and would like to encourage our guests to ask us or a member of staff if they are unsure about any of the features at Cranleigh.

Finally I would like to reiterate your comments regarding our car park, as we stat on our website and other communications. We do have a small car park but the entrance is very narrow and sloped, turning around is not always possible so you may be required to reverse back up the driveway onto the road. Free and unrestricted parking on Newbridge Hill is available as an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My family and I (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed here for 3 nights in the family suite. The room was spacious and charming. The bathroom had a LARGE soaking tub, plus a shower stall. The room had a king bed and 2 twins, plus plenty of room to move around and for luggage. The room was on the second floor (room 5, I believe) and had a nice view of the quiet,residential neighborhood. The breakfast room was small, but lovely, and the food was delicious. The owners were very friendly and even drove us to town and the train station in their personal car! They made good recommendations for restaurants (we particularly enjoyed The Weston and Hare & Hounds). We highly recommend this charming Victorian B & B!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family stayed at the Cranleigh for two nights while we visited Bath and took a trip out to see Stonehenge as well (gorgeous drive to/from Bath). The owners were extremely friendly and their home was beautiful. We stayed in one of the family rooms that faced the street and although we were worried about room noise, the street became extremely quiet at night. Beds were comfortable and kids had a single bed each. Bathroom was huge. The breakfasts were lovely and made to order. The coffee was delicious French press coffee. One perk was the honest bar downstairs that had beer and wine at what must have been nearly no markup - 1L per beer. Very nice touch. We walked a number of times to/from the hotel to town. About a 30 minute stroll. There's really a lot to Bath - moreso than we expected! Definitely recommend staying at the Cranleigh and visiting Bath on your trip to England.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheerMom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Cranleigh, Bath. Our honesty bar offers guests the opportunity to help themselves to a selection on beers, wines and soft drinks. We consider this more of a service to our guests so we have tried to keep cost of the product very reasonable.

We also have self serve refreshments such as tea & coffee with a selection of cakes or biscuits available in our dining room during the afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Me & my husband stayed here for a couple of day on our way down to Devon. Cranleigh has lots of character and has been kept in a Victorian style but not over the top. The service here is great got load of information on checkin on attractions and restaurants, I didn't realise there was so much you could do in Bath. In the mornings we used the free shuttle in to town, we could have walked but where feeling lazy. On the second day we tea and cakes in the afternoon which was very nice. Really clean comfortable rooms, we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was really large and views over the garden. Nice to have somewhere to sit.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Mac958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've never really stayed at a bed and breakfast before as I prefer a traditional hotel however our stay at the Cranleigh has changed my mind. Its a perfect mix between a B&B and a boutique hotel. We recently stayed there for 3 nights and our hosts were gracious and helpful. The breakfasts each morning were excellent and our room was quite large (we chose a family room for 2 adults and two children). It also had a good sized bathroom and a nice sitting area with a comfy sofa and coffee table with a great view across the valley. The location was close to the main centre of Bath and we could walk there (about 20-30 min.) if we wanted to. I suppose some may find the decor to be a bit tired or dated however it was very clean and tidy. In the end, we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Try and request a room facing to garden instead of the road - much nicer view as the B&B is at the top of a hill.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loveagoodroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Cranleigh. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and changed your opinion about B&B's.

We try to have very high maintenance standards, as our rooms are decorated in keeping with the Victorian features of the building and we tend to use antique / classic / restored furniture and styles rather than more modern designs. We are very busy almost year round so our rooms require refurbishment on a continual 5-6 year cycle.

Unfortunately not all of our bathrooms are as large as the one you stayed in but the all do have a good sized shower, basin and toilet.

Again thank you for staying at Cranleigh and taking the time to write about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews