We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately recommend”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Would definately recommend”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed at this beautiful guesthouse for two nights with my partner. We had a lovely welcome by the owner who honestly couldnt do enough for us. We stayed in the superior four poster bedroom, which was stunning and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The breakfast choice was great and very tasty. It was a easy bus ride into town and back. We really didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    149
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
147
478
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Charming place to stay,helpful staff ,great breakfast, very clean plus a 6 foot 4 poster with a view. try The Boathouse pub near park & ride very good value for a quick meal & drink for £20 for 2. Happy bunnies.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yurtaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I've been reading reviews on Trip Advisor and realised I'd never written one myself. This hotel deserves a great review and thought it only fair I give it one. Firstly, the staff were so accomodating; we got stuck in traffic and didn't arrive until 11 but the receptionist was completely fine about it. The room was superbly clean (not decorated to my taste but nice all the same), had everything you'd need. Breakfast was delicious. The only difficulty was it's distance from the town centre, which I don't believe was walkable but a very short trip in the car. Overall it was simply lovely and the staff so friendly. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DangerMouse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We booked very last minute but this was still great value.
Georgous Victorian panelling in reception and halls makes an impressive first impression. The room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and served in a light and elegant breakfast room, and the staff were all friendly. We booked use of the hot tub for the first night we were there, and enjoyed a wonderful soak down the end of the garden.
Rather than attempt to have a minibar in each room, each floor has a concealed fridge in the hall, from which guests can help themselves.
The only downside was trying to find parking. The first night we lucked out and there was a space at the end of the drive, but there are only three of these, and the scaffolding currently in place for work on the building makes reversing up the steep drive a tricky prospect. The second night we had to circle a bit on return from sightseeing till a park opened up - but then it was right in front of the hotel. Others I suspect might not be so lucky.
Cranleigh is near town, although those with mobility problems might struggle as it is an able-bodied 20 minute walk. Taking a car to the centre of Bath is a whole different problem though, as there is very little parking anywhere in town.
Staff were able to recommend several restaurants around town, and we tried two, both of which were great.
I would be very likely to stay here again when I return to Bath.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopazMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Very nice B&B with great owners. Bath accommodation is expensive and this is true here but it is reasoable for the area. Breakfast was great. We stayed on the top floor which is fine for fit people but a climb for older folk. Room was delightful, really comfortable beds and very nice bathroom. Plenty of fresh tea and coffee and even fresh milk in a fridge just outside the room. Parking very tight - would advise parking on the road.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupinfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was my second time to stay at the Cranleigh . When I travel from Texas I wouldnt stay anywhere else . You get the English feel you cant get in some big hotel chain . Service is wonderful . Staff makes you feel at home .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhopper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Lovely room. Quiet location and only a short taxi ride to the center of Bath. Owners were very accommodating when we arrived before check-in time. Great choice of breakfasts. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGALWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing