We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B experience”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #15 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B experience”
Reviewed 21 September 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Cranleigh and were very pleased with the accommodations and quality of service. What you can expect : spacious and attractive rooms, friendly and attentive service, great breakfast experience. The B & B is about a mile from town, so you can either use the park and drive , take a bus or take a cab into town. The Cranleigh has three 3rd floor rooms, which is a bit of a climb - so it's worthwhile clarifying your preference for a 2nd floor room prior to arrival if stairs are a problem . Two rooms had problems with hot water while we were there - also worthwhile asking owners about . The owners recommended the Globe pub/restaurant to us during our stay and we highly recommend it - great quality food, non smoking environment and pleasant staff.

  • Liked — Large, well appointed rooms.
  • Disliked — Stairs to 3rd floor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    149
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
145
474
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

We stayed at this lovely B+B for a long weekend, to celebrate my birthday. This is a B+B which could easily be mistaken for a hotel, way above average for what we expected to find for a B+B. We stayed on the first floor in a four poster bedroom, which had lovely views to the back of the garden and avon valley. Breakfast was absolutley delicious, you could smell the freshly baked croissants every morning. I recommend trying the pancakes with maple syrup and strawberries, delicious.
On sunday we booked the hot tub which is located in the garden, next to it you'll find a summerhouse with a minibar, very useful, and we had a great time in the hot tub!
Cranleigh is situated on top of Newbridge hill, which makes for lovely views, and don't forget to have a sunday roast at the riverside pub The Boathouse, which is in walking distance. the Owners will be happy to let you know directions, as they are very friendly indeed. Bath is a lovely town and the surrounding countryside is stunning, all in all we had a lovely weekend in bath and this B+B, and a well needed break from London. We''l be back asap.

  • Liked — attention to deatil and the breakfast, views everything really
  • Disliked — distance to bath city centre, if I had to choose something at all
  • Tips/Secrets — check out the riverside Pub 'The Boathouse'
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lucien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2006

We spent two lovely nights at Cranleigh during a 10 day trip to the UK. The rooms are beautifully elegant with high ceilings, special details along with terrific furniture. Bathrooms are also lovely. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts are helpful but not at all intrusive. They are also testing email access for guests on the computer in the reception area. We didn't try the hot tub but I am sure it would have been great. The house is beautiful on the outside and our bay window looked out over the city. This is as advertised - I don't have any hesitation encouraging to book Cranleigh.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank phiggmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenagers and we stayed in a family room at Cranleigh.

I must say that after some of the rooms we have had this one was one of the best we had stayed in – and very good value for money. It was huge – plenty big enough for us all – with full size beds and a huge bathroom that even my teenage daughter could not complain about. Breakfast definitely filled us up for the day – and my kids were pleased to see that they could have home made pancakes with maple syrup. All in all this was the best place we stayed - none of the places matched up to the service and standard of Cranleigh.

  • Liked — Room size and standard of fixtures and fittings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book in advance if you want to use the garden hot tub
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing