We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very welcoming on arrival”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I recently stayed at this guest house with a group of ten for a hen weekend. The group consisted of 8 lovely young ladies aged between 28 and 31 the brides mum and brides aunty. On arriving at the guest house we were checked in but then the lady owner proceeded to give us a lecture on not making any noise and behaving ourselves whilst there particularly when leaving and returning to the property in the evening, also stating that she would not hesitate to ask us to leave if we did not abide by these rules, we were all completely shocked at the way this was said to us as we felt we had been made to feel very silly and spoken to like naughty schoolgirls! I can understand they are a family hotel and the comfort etc of all guests needs to be considered however I do object to being spoken to like this, the group as said was not a group of unruly teenagers and the hotel owner knew we were coming as a large group . Surely if they do not want to accomodate hen parties etc they should say that when you book! When we left the gentleman owner commented that he hadn't heard us come in the night before but if he had of done would have been 'straight up there' We had a lovely weekend in Bath and did not cause any problems for the hotel - the rooms were beautiful and the food was good it was a lovely guest house ....just a shame about this attitude and sweeping generalisation that all hen groups are going to be noisy/unruly and not respect other guests comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenni5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

This hotel offers great value for money, in a building which has so much character. Much thought has been put into the furniture and decor. I visited with a friend, we were on a shopping visit to Bath. We had a twin room at back of the building, it was a good size and had lovely views across to the other side of the city. There was plenty of on street parking available with no restrictions. It took us 20 minutes to walk into the city through the park, a very pleasant route on a nice day. The park and ride is also only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We had a fantastic breakfast, the service was excellent. Shopping in Bath was great, makes a pleasant change from the standard shopping mall. We visited the national heritage village of Lacock en route home, which was not too far from the hotel, and also went to the outlet centre in Swindon town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very comfortable stay, about 30 minutes walk from Bath City centre, but plenty of buses and you can park a little closer. The room (4 poster bed) was just as advertised, excellent breakfasts and service throughout the stay was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We had no idea what to expect when we arrived at the Cranleigh, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our beautiful room was superbly decorated and overlooked the front garden. The devil is in the details, and the owners had thought of every fine touch to make our room pleasant and in keeping with the theme. We love walking through the towns we visit, but the walk to the Cranleigh was at least 40 minutes to city centre, maybe more. It was a lovely walk, but be sure to eat before you leave town. We found it difficult to find places in thge area to eat after 6 p.m. Aside from that, we truly enjoyed our stay here and would absolutely recommend others pay the Cranleigh a visit if they are in Bath.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed at this beautiful guesthouse for two nights with my partner. We had a lovely welcome by the owner who honestly couldnt do enough for us. We stayed in the superior four poster bedroom, which was stunning and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The breakfast choice was great and very tasty. It was a easy bus ride into town and back. We really didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Charming place to stay,helpful staff ,great breakfast, very clean plus a 6 foot 4 poster with a view. try The Boathouse pub near park & ride very good value for a quick meal & drink for £20 for 2. Happy bunnies.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yurtaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I've been reading reviews on Trip Advisor and realised I'd never written one myself. This hotel deserves a great review and thought it only fair I give it one. Firstly, the staff were so accomodating; we got stuck in traffic and didn't arrive until 11 but the receptionist was completely fine about it. The room was superbly clean (not decorated to my taste but nice all the same), had everything you'd need. Breakfast was delicious. The only difficulty was it's distance from the town centre, which I don't believe was walkable but a very short trip in the car. Overall it was simply lovely and the staff so friendly. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DangerMouse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,287 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,887 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £64 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing