We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Can not wait to stay again!”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Cranleigh was a truly fantastic place to stay. I stayed for 3 nights with my partner and I can not fault a single thing.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful when needed and were on hand if you ever needed directions or advice on anything in and around Bath.

Breakfast offered a fantastic selection and was delicious. Personal favourite was the 'Special Treat'. The room we stayed in had a four poster bed and the features were in keeping with the buildings Victorian style. It was clean and spacious, with numerous nice little touches.

Cranleigh is within walking distance of Bath town centre and on a nice day it would be a nice leisurely walk past The Weston (nice place to eat) and parks on route. (approx 3 miles) However on our stay it rained a little, so a 5 minute car or bus journey was no trouble at all using the maps provided by the helpful staff.

Overall, if you want a place to stay that you will not forget and want to go again then stay at The Cranleigh!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Cranleigh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just a £6 taxi drive in to bath or a 20min walk to the centre you will find cranleigh guest house,
A beautifull step back in time to the victorian age as soon as you stepped in through the front door,
we were shown to our room on the top floor, and when opening the door it was like looking in to an antique dolls house, from the blue print walls , to the detail on the dressing table, just stunning. and when looking at the mini bar list nothing was to expensive
we started to unpack and enjoy our first night there on our valentine weekend only to discover that the double bed room we had booked was two single pushed together with a sheet over the top not good i spent most of the night trying to get comfortable, and falling down the middle,
when we went for breakfast, we had a wonderful experienceand outstanding service from the gentleman that served us nothing was to much trouble buckfizz was on offer as we sat down and all sorts or treats for breakfast, the food was outstanding,
Apart from the bed our experience was outstanding, and if the hotel wasnt full i am sure if we had asked something would have been done.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knewcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Beautiful room, great breakfast and friendly service. Shame we only could stay one night. A little to far from the city centre to walk.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikesps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed in the Superior four poster and the room was amazing !! couldnt fault a single part of the stay. The breakfast was lovely and had the best selection i ve ever had!
Perfect to for a romantic trip to bath and great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm09NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed for two nights, the rooms were clean and thoughtfully presented. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of options and well cooked. We would book again here with out a moments hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simned01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The hotel was spotlessly clean and all our needs were catered for. The owners were helpful but unobtrusive and there was alot of attention to detail. Maps and information about the surrounding area and restaurants were given to us on arrival and printed directions were available. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Thankyou for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grifmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

After finding it extremely difficult to secure any accommodation in Bath for the weekend, we truly struck gold with Cranleigh...

The staff and owners were very helpful and welcoming and always had a smile on their faces. It was a great fairly central location being only a short pleasant 20-30 minute walk from the city centre. We had a car but it was not really needed as everything is fairly central in the city and traffic can get a bit chaotic in busy periods.

The room itself was lovely with a romantic setting and exactly what I was looking for... Cant go past a big four poster to make a good impression.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj_alder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £71 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing