We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house”

Walton's Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walton's Guest House
Ranked #143 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Within walking distance of the town centre which was perfect during the busy Christmas market weekend. Friendly welcome from the owner and we stayed in a small but clean and comfortable room on the top floor with ensuite shower and loo. TV and tea/coffee facilities and cosy and warm. Good English breakfast with very attentive waitress. A great find as all of the larger hotels weren't interested in putting us up for just the one night - would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here with my two little kids. It was the only place available at very short notice. The room was cold and the wooden floors weren't very child friendly. The bathroom was rather dirty and the dining room shabby. The landlord kept pretending to shoot the kids (2 1/2 year olds), which unnerved my little girl. The landlady and her sister were friendly though. You were served breakfast so it was limited. No cots available but the landlady helped move the twin beds together. What came as a big shock was the price: £120 for a triple for one night - the room was for me and two 2 1/2 year olds!!! We'd stayed the previous night in a much more comfortable and welcoming guest house that cost £40 less per night with far superior facilities. I wouldn't recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyH0ls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Room was fine, though we faced a busy street and it was noisy. But we arrived at around 4:30 and had to ring the bell for 10 minutes and then the guy was a grouch and acted as if he couldn't be bothered. Next time we are in Bath, we'll stay somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I noticed that there had been some poor reviews but I need not have worried. This Guest House is located near the Centre of Bath. Both rooms were perfectly acceptable for our one night stay. One room, with twin beds, was really nicely appointed and modern. The other smaller, but fine for a night or two. The breakfast was excellent. The welcome very friendly and helpful. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: The twin room at the top of the house was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Two of us stayed at this guest house for a weekend trip. The welcome was very warm and owners very accommodating, considering we arrived very early! The hotel is neat and tidy although some extra "spring cleaning" could be done in places eg. flight of stairs, bathroom accessories. However, overall the stay was enjoyable, the beds comfortable and the breakfast full and appetising. I would support a previous comment suggesting the serving time for breakfast is extended on a Sunday morning! Would revisit when in Bath again - location is great and just a 10 minute walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomin2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

This was the only room left in Bath. We could see why instantly. It said in the blurb "Warm welcome awaits" this was far from the truth and we were quickly shown the sign saying that breakfast was to be taken by 9 a.m. Even on Sunday! The room was furnished in 1950's shabby (not chic) furniture and an extremely tired set of old bed coverings and flimsy curtains. Our hearts sank at the prospect of even an hour in this cramped and space. The towels and sheets were clean but that is all that was positive. The next morning on trying to use the cramped bathroom the shower was so hot with no way of controlling it that it was impossible to stand under it. We mentioned it to the proprietor and he just shrugged his shoulders. The breakfast - well there was certainly no self service here. We were doled out some cereal and orange. Then we're were asked if we wanted anything else - yes we said we would like cooked breakfast. When it arrived the egg was the only item that had not been reheated. Definitely not a place we would ever stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneswinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

stayed here while working in Bath, found the rooms to be clean, comfortable & plenty of tea & coffee ( travelodge could take note), showergel also provided. Found the beds to be comfortable & breakfast served with a huge portion of cereal. owners are quite odd though lol

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.2 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,218 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton's Guest House

Address: 17-19 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walton's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing