We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, breakfast, extras you don't expect!!”
Review of Pulteney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pulteney House
Ranked #22 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, breakfast, extras you don't expect!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Pulteney House is a higher end traditional English B&B experience. The location is an easy walk to Baths many attractions, onsite parking is a great advantage. The breakfast is excellent with a long menu. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable. The Manager and staff are very helpful and assisted us with computer and fax for an over seas real estate transaction. We would stay here again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    164
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
123
206
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a great place to stay with easy access to the city of Bath, and would definitely recommend to others.

The welcome we received on arrival was great. It was lovely to be offered a map of the city and given an idea of places to visit. An update on the weather was also much appreciated.

Being able to leave the car in such a central place was really nice and a much added bonus to this lovely place. It meant that we could go off exploring and not have to worry about returning to put more money into the ticket machine.

We stayed in the coach house, and yes you can hear the trains, but we are not talking about a modern hotel, so it is to be expected, and it didn't bother us at all. The charm and character of the place far superseded this. The room was spacious and had everything we needed.

One thing we would ask other travellers to be aware of, is that they will really annoy other people if they are not courteous in the way in which they conduct themselves. The building is not a modern building and it should be treated with the respect that it deserves, so please be aware that when you are trying to break a door down (quite a few times) at 2am it is not fair on those who are trying to sleep as it makes the room above rattle. **PLEASE NOTE THIS IS NOT A FAULT OF THE GUEST HOUSE AND PROPRIETORS AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE ABOUT IT** other than for others to be aware of how they act in this lovely property.

Breakfast was really good, with great efficient and friendly staff, who were always willing to chat if you wanted to. Great selection of freshly cooked food and ample tea and coffee on offer.

A great place to stay, friendly staff who are willing to help out wherever they can.

Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely elegant place to stay. We had the large room at the front which was tastefully decorated, warm and cosy. We did not hear any traffic from the road or the train. The people there are extremely friendly and helpful and breakfast is perfect, with so many choices. The free parking is a bonus as it is difficult to park in Bath and even on the day we were leaving they allowed us to leave our car there until the new guests arrived which we thought was a lovely gesture. We will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to Bath and would highly recommend to others. You can actually walk into Bath centre within 10 minutes. The gardens are lovely and on a warm summer's evening I bet it would be lovely to sit there. Must go in the warm weather next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogrhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a perfect one night stay at Pulteney followed by a hearty breakfast in the morning to set us up for the day. We took into account previous reviews that identified the proximity of the train line as a problem, however, we found no issue and had a sound nights sleep. Will be staying here again when we next visit Bath.

Parking and distance to town were also brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We have visited bath many many times over the years and stayed in the best to the worst ,yes baths got them all folks
Having used the same hotel for years ( name excluded you know who you are ) as it was going down hill we decided to give the pultney a go having stayed 4 times now I feel I can give a balanced view IN A WORD IT'S VERY VERY GOOD the owners are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them ,they greet you on arrival which is nice
The hotel is very nice ,it's well looked after and very clean ,the rooms are very good and the breakfast menu is outstanding!!!!!!!!!!
It's location is good just a short stroll into town
Parking is very good at the hotel which was a must for us
So book a visit you will not be disappointed and if you are there on the first or last Sunday in the month visit the bath antiques fair at the old green park station where you can see me and even buy something from me Dave

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackbess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This B&B was a short walk to the centre of Bath. We had a room in the basement, it was small, but clean, and we were out all day anyway. We could hear the trains, but it didn't bother us too much, but it might bother a light sleeper. Also you could hear the other guests coming down for breakfast, but a good wake up call, as breakfast was only until 9.15am. A good selection of hot food for breakfast, plus cereals.
We especially liked the tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
I would definetly recommend this place, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lornie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Pulteney house is in an ideal position, a very easy walk from the centre of Bath and has free parking which is a must in Bath as parking is scarce and very expensive. The staff were charming and the breakfasts were generous and always cooked to order so any permutation possible. My room was beautifully decorated, with new Wall mounted TV and lots of lights in the right places. The rather sad electric shower was a disappointment. The room was quite small, and the noise of the traffic and trains could annoy some people, but overall I was pleased with my choice and on balance I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
2.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 157 in Bath
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Property: Pulteney House
Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath. We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance for our guests' cars, so once parked you can forget worrying about your car; Free Fibre broadband use in all rooms (Wi-Fi). Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing