We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, would go again”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #19 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Beautiful house, lovely staff, great breakfasts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purfler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
There are newer reviews for Aquae Sulis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

A lovely guest house. Very clean well appointed rooms. The staff were very polite and welcoming (whatever the late time you arrive!).
Breakfast was delightful - the ham and cheese croissants and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were firm favourites!
A short stroll (20-25 mins) from the Royal Crescent or quick bus ride away from the town centre, so can leave your car in the hotel car park, or there is plently of free parking on the road.
Overall a great place to stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherlock2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My wife and stayed at the Aquae Sulis Hotel overnight on the 19th of March 2011. We booked the “Disraeli” Room and it was well furnished, clean and tidy, equipped with a flat screen TV etc and we enjoyed the stay.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the full English breakfast the next morning set us up for the day.

The next time we plan a weekend in Bath, we will without doubt be booking into the Aquae Sulis Hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This hotel was just what we wanted for a short stay in Bath: clean, warm and welcoming. From the moment we arrived, the staff were helpful and pleasant.
We were staying in one of the smaller, cheaper rooms, in the attic. It was bright and clean with loads of drawers, a flat screen TV and facilities to make tea, coffee and chocolate (fair trade). It also had free wi-fi.The bed was large and comfortable, with cushions as well as pillows. The only negative could be the sloping ceiling- we did have to take care not to bang our heads.
The breakfasts were great, with a menu that could be adapted to suit every guest. The waiting staff were cheerful and efficient.
The hotel is about 30 minutes walk out of town, either by the river or along the main road. There are frequent buses however, and for £4 you can buy a day ticket- much cheaper than single fares if you want to make several journeys.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Lovely. Fantastic service! Great food great room great location. We stayed in the Annex nice spacious room, very clean. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Jane and David were extremely helpful and friendly. We slept well and the breakfasts were yummy. Bath is a wonderful destination but parking and driving in the city are woeful. Aquae Sulis had a guest car park and a bus outside that took us to town in a few minutes for £2.40. Irish senior bus passes were accepted! Taxi fare was £6 to £7. There was a nice friendly vibe at this hotel, other guests were friendly and everyone appeared to be having a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255068Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I stayed at Aquae Sulis with my two grown up daughters and an old school friend. We all shared a family room, which was spotlessly clean, well appointed, and with enough room for four adults. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £75 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing