We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #18 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

A bit pricey but otherwise great value. Next to bus stop with frequent service to center of Bath. Room well appointed and clean. Excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    228
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
309
301
61
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

stayed here in a family room, very comfortable, staff professional and helpful, good car parking available on site.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptrio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel August 2011 and was pleasantly surprised! Stunning hotel with the largest room we had since staying in Paris and London. Good location, easy reachable with bus from Bath city centre, about a 10 minute drive. Janet was so kind to meet us at the metro station just to pick up our luggage, so we can spend some time in the city. Great pubs and restaurant walking distance from the hotel. We had a scrumptious breakfast in the morning with the best cup of coffee since arriving overseas! Absolutely loved the hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilseuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have stayed at this b&b twice now (first time in 2009) as it really is a nice place. We have had the Dr Oliver suite because it is out the back and separate from the rest of the building so it's really quiet. You can park directly at the front of the entrance also which is a bonus.
We have stayed for three nights on both occasions and have not been let down by the standard of accommodation, friendliness or the quality of food for breakfast.
We stay there also because our friends live just along the road which is great for seeing them and it Is well served by buses into the city centre.
It's the only place to stay for us when we are visiting Bath.

Room Tip: Really like the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MahoneyclanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My family of 4 including 2 teens stayed at the Aqua Sulis just outside Bath for one night. We stayed just one night because we wanted to stay within walking distance to the Bath sights and this inn was about a 5 minute cab ride from downtown. Other than that, the Aqua Sulis was excellent. Impeccably clean, very well appointed, spacious room, excellent breakfast, very nice innkeeper (Jane) who picked up our luggage from the train station so we could stay in town and sightsee. I think they are willing to take you in town and pick u up, or will call you a cab. If you can't find a nice b&b in town this is a wonderful alternative.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cashfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just arrived back after spending 4 nights in this friendly, comfortable hotel. The service was excellent and the hotel had a "homely" feel. The ground floor room was spacious (as was the bathroom) with access to the garden. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Location was a little way out of town, but was serviced by local buses with the bus stop only a few yards away. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here for a night with my fiancee. We just had a day in Bath, and I wanted to make the most of it for us. I called ahead, and they had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room that night. It was a very easy cab ride to the B&B from Bath. Everyone there was so nice and friendly. We had to leave earlier than they were going to have breakfast available, but they were kind enough to make us a very delicious breakfast extra early for us. And then it was another easy cab ride back to the train station.

I've stayed in several B&B's around London, but this was by far my favorite one. The rooms were large, and ours was actually a separate unit in the garden, so it felt very private. This is the perfect compliment to the beautiful city of Bath. We will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0gerthealien3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,742 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing