We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, great staff and lovely room.”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #19 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Well a tiny one. Our bed was a little hard but someone else would like it firm. Spotless room and communal areas. Perfect locationwith a bus stop right outside and you can text to find out when the next bus is coming so you don't have to wait! Very regular buses. Good breakfast. Everyone was friendly. Would recommend to friends and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemimalollipop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review which is always a valuable feedback for us. We are glad we were able to make your stay in Bath a pleasant experience. We make a serious effort to make all aspects of the stay as convenient as possible. Thank you for the useful tip about texting bus times, of which we were unaware. The choice of beds for guesthouses is always a tricky area and we have had to take the advice of our hotel bed supplier to try to please the majority. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very comfortable room and friendly service. Excellent breakfast. Good location with a bus stop right outside and a 10 minute bus ride to city centre with a bus every 15 mins. Possibly a little overpriced but nothing too serious. If you're planning a weekend break to Bath check if this place is available

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our business. We value very much our guests' feedback. We are glad we were able to provide you with the convenient and comfortable place to stay during your visit to see the unique sights of Bath. Our local bus company has also put in place an all day ticket for Bath for only £4.20 which guests also find very welcome and helpful. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking meant we took the last room which as we found out on arrival was in the loft space with very low ceilings. Not ideal if your 6 ft plus! The positioning of the bed in the eaves meant it very difficult to reach the bed from that side and even my wife had to bend and indeed banged her head a few times (she's 5ft 2!!!!)
The bed was a standard double and provided not the best nights sleep for either of us.
The room was fairly clean with a large shower.
Breakfast on offer was a wide selection with full English , scrambled eggs and salmon and eggs benedict as well as fruits, cereals etc. all sounded great but was all a bit greasy and sat heavy on our stomachs for the rest of the morning.
On balance it's not a bad place to stay for the odd night but steer clear of room 13 if your taller than 5ft 2.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our business. We appreciate the feedback. We hope you had a pleasant stay in Bath in spite of your booking being a last minute booking. We do have a very comprehensive website explaining in detail our facilities and services, including room photographs. We make a great effort to make sure that guests are comfortable with their booking, but I understand that there is not always the time to study the website. However, we are pleased we were able to tick some of your boxes and we always note carefully our guest comments. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very comfortable B & B, very welcoming and well located. The owner was very helpful, friendly and even did our lauhndry ! There is aq nice garden and the breakfast is great. For a nice evening meal close by i recommend the BoatHouse
Excellent ..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate very much your scores and comments as a valuable feedback. We were glad that we were able to provide a comfortable and convenient place to stay while you visited Bath. We are always happy to help our guests in whatever way we can. Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The accommodation is full of English charm from the building, the rooms, the dining room and the staff. The teapot & cosy in the room was a lovely touch. The breakfast was excellent and Jane and her staff were friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. In our business we very much need reviews as a good source of guidance and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the special charms of Bath and your stay at Aquae Sulis. Whilst keeping up with the modern world, we do like to preserve some of the best of tradition. Thanks once again and we hope to see you on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our family stayed at Aqua Sulis for two nights in July. The room was nice and clean, but on hot days like that the lack of ac and fridge is obvious. Nice breakfast and friendly staff. We had good tips from the staff on restaurants and parking in the city. Easy to get to town by car, bus or by a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Muri58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review - we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, in spite of our unusually hot period of weather in July. Thankfully our British summer has returned to normal now! We are pleased to have been able to guide you to a good experience of Bath. We hope to see you again and thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at Aquea Sulis in June for only the one night and our only regret is that we were unable to stay longer. Beautiful rooms and gardens, friendly staff and great location with a bus stop out the front! There are a flight (or two) of steps so just be organised so the larger bags can be left for safe keeping with reception. Hope to return one day!

Room Tip: higher floors will have steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mamkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is of course very valuable to us and to any guests looking to stay in the future. We are glad you were able to enjoy the garden. We are always looking for ways to make our guests' stay as smooth and convenient as possible and we look forward to your return visit. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 32 in Bath
194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 32 in Bath
2,949 reviews
2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £73 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing