We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Priory(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveller rating
700
252
37
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
252
37
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebus stopb bfamily roomcity centrepark and ridebus serviceoff road parkingbreakfast was excellentbreakfast menuwarm welcomecomfortable bedsa great place to stayhonesty barone night staymain roadfull english breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
637 - 642 of 996 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aquae Sulis in April 2013 for two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we enjoyed being on the top floor with a sloping ceiling. We liked the quiet of of the upper floor and the view of the garden from the window and the early morning sun. Delicious breakfast cooked with high quality produce and a varied menu. The guest house is well run and profits help to support an Indian family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOOKSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your review. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much appreciate your encouraging comments. We look forward to seeing you again some day. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you are driving to Bath, then this is ideal. Not in the centre, but easy parking. Make sure you book! It was sold out the Monday and Tuesday we were there, and for good reason. Lovely rooms, fantastic breakfast, super friendly and helpful staff. Clean and updated. We were in the family room on the 2nd floor of the second building. Sloping ceilings mean just be aware of where you are walking. Amenities in the bathroom were a surprise and lovely cuppa available in room. Your room key gets you discounts in town too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate all your comments as a valuable source of feedback. We are glad that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay in your visit to Bath. We hope to see you again sometime. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent location, staff, parking, and breakfast BUT..... We booked 6 months in advance, and on arrival were shown into Room 13, one of the top storey floors. As others have commented, the sloping ceilings in this room are positively dangerous, and both my wife and I banged our heads on numerous occasions. We eventually re-arranged the room to move the drink making facilities away from the restricted height area, and pulled the bed over, but it was still necessary to crouch when entering the side of the bed below the sloping ceilings. I note that other such complaints have been answered with "there are photos on the website showing the low ceilings" - the ones I saw did not make it obvious that this would affect walking round the bed, and I would have appreciated a warning when we were shown up to the room (in fairness there is a small sign halfway down the stairs warning of sloping ceilings, but this was only noticed on our way out).

I suspect a different room would have rated 5 stars, as everything else was great, but would suggest that Room 13 should be a single room rather than a double, and that guests were made aware of the dangers at booking AND arrival times....

Room Tip: Avoid the upper floor - everything else about this place was fine
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a careful review. We appreciate all your comments. We will review how this particular room is portrayed on the various booking agencies sites and our own. We did feel that a picture says a thousand words and we were reluctant to overload our site with too much description. We do strongly feel that people should be aware, as much as possible, of what they have booked. We have noted however that the internet leading booking agency does post numerous photographs of rooms (and this room in particular) which shows pretty much every aspect. Guests appear to post their own photos....which is a great idea.
Thank you again for pointing out this issue and for your other thoughtful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I first visited Aquae Sulis 10 years ago for a 4 day break. The guest house was busier on my recent visit, ? due to increased internet use by travellers.
very welcoming, comfortable place to stay. convenient for the city centre, either by car or regular buses, and easy to reach from M5/M4 without having to drive through the centre of Bath.
fresh milk for the cups of tea and more bar stock would have increased rating to 5*.

Room Tip: if with Mum as I was then the twin room is ideal. previously stayed in the front room above the bar with hubby, more spacious and romantic for couples!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEATHER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you very muhc for taking the time to write a review. We read all our reviews very carefully as a valuable source of feedback. We are glad you were able to revisit after such a long time and we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. We are always able to accommodate people's needs and we provide fresh milk or even alcoholic drinks on request. Thank you and we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a very welcoming guest house. The room was very well appointed and the bathroom too. The breakfast is special. If you're in hurry the scrambled eggs and salmon is a perfect choice. I will definitely stay again. Car parking, wi-fi and Sky Sports all valuable amenities.

Room Tip: Speak to Jane the owner about your requirements and preferences
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review which we very much appreciate. We are glad that we were able to make your stya comfortable and convenient in many respects. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Bath. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews