We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to Bath”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #18 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Handy to Bath”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Chose this accommodation because there was parking and a direct bus route into the centre of Bath. Good clean room, compact bathroom with shower, friendly staff. Good choice of food at brekfast and bar snacks in the evening which saved a trip to a restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Manager at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate all your comments as a valuable feedback in the running of the business. We are glad you were able to make use of our car park and good public transport from our doorstep! Thanks once again and we hope to have the pleasure of a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    227
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
309
300
60
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Small room, but more than adequately appointed and quiet with a comfortable bed. Friendly staff and very nice breakfast with lots of choice. Not really close to central Bath, but excellent bus service to Centre right outside the front door.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madam_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review - we appreciate as much feedback as possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bath and the peace and quiet of our B&B. Thanks once again and hope you will get back to Bath next time you are in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Once again a most enjoyable short break in Bath at the Aqua Sulis. Excellent room professional staff both at reception and in the dining room at breakfast.

Ideally located for visiting our Daughter attending Bath Spa University, I will look forward to the next 3 years on weekends at the Aqua Sulis

Thanks

Wayne

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always a pleasure to look after our regular guests and with another three years to run of your daughter's course we look forward to seeing you on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for a night on the way down to Cornwall.
Parking on site was a bonus and we were able to get a bus into the centre from outside the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a very small double room which had a separate but private bathroom. The breakfast was fine and overall, it was good as a stop over.
This is definitely in the category of "traditional British B&B" and compared to others in Bath we checked out, offers good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review which is always helpful to us. We are glad we were able to provide you with a 'stop-over' but sorry we only had our smallest room available for that night. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again if you are 'en route'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a lovely en suite room. Was greeted very warmly by Jane who was quick to let us know that we could stay an extra night if we wanted (we did). The breakfast was great and served for ages which meant we could have a bit of a sleep in. On site parking a definite plus. We were on the road but double glazed so no noise!

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdahlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments as a valuable feedback on what contributes to a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We were glad you were able to stay the extra night! Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aquae Sulis in April 2013 for two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we enjoyed being on the top floor with a sloping ceiling. We liked the quiet of of the upper floor and the view of the garden from the window and the early morning sun. Delicious breakfast cooked with high quality produce and a varied menu. The guest house is well run and profits help to support an Indian family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOOKSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your review. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much appreciate your encouraging comments. We look forward to seeing you again some day. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you are driving to Bath, then this is ideal. Not in the centre, but easy parking. Make sure you book! It was sold out the Monday and Tuesday we were there, and for good reason. Lovely rooms, fantastic breakfast, super friendly and helpful staff. Clean and updated. We were in the family room on the 2nd floor of the second building. Sloping ceilings mean just be aware of where you are walking. Amenities in the bathroom were a surprise and lovely cuppa available in room. Your room key gets you discounts in town too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate all your comments as a valuable source of feedback. We are glad that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay in your visit to Bath. We hope to see you again sometime. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing