We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #19 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was a very nice surprise in Bath. We spent two wonderful nights at the Aquae Sulis. The facility, rooms, and public spaces were exceptionally clean and well kept, especially for an older building. The rooms were very nicely appointed and comfortable. The WiFi was as advertised....super fast. I was able to stream a football game on my tablet without a problem. The breakfast was superb. Good portions, excellent choice, and a lot of flexibility. Best of all were the people. The were cheerful and very helpful. When we ordered in take-out, the prepared a table, provided heated plates and cutlery, and offered drinks. Overall, a wonderful stay and certainly a place I would recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Top floor room was the family room with one double bed and two singles. One window to the street tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the feedback that you gave us on so many aspects of your stay which is reassuring and encouraging. It is good to get feedback on the WIFI and pleased that you were able to watch your football match.
Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    220
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
297
284
57
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I always stay here now when I visit Bath - my son is at university there. It's welcoming, comfortable and clean, with excellent facilities. The breakfasts are really good. It's also such good value compared to hotels or run of the mill lodges, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I've stayed in three different rooms and they are all good. The family room at the top is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks, Colin, for sending in your review and it was good to see you again . . . forgive my bad memory! It is always a pleasure to have 'regulars' return and we look forward to seeing you again - and perhaps trying out a fourth room! Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

fabulous time at the aquae sulis had by me & my daughter .very clean homely warm hotel with the lovely owner jane who puts herself out to make sure her guests are okay..also the breakfast was beautiful (coming from someone who doesn't normally eat breakfast) very well cooked & plentiful with lovely friendly helpful girls who make sure you have everything you need..i will be staying there again on my next visit to bath which I hope is soon ..

Room Tip: the annexe with twin beds (1 double & 1 single was so comfy?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to post it. We hope we will be able to live up to your future expectations and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a wonderful two-day trip to Bath staying at the Aquae Sulis Guest House. The rooms were comfortable, breakfast was delicious and our stay was enriched by our helpful, friendly and knowledgeable receptionist who gave us lots of very useful information. A very positive experience, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your encouraging comments. We will pass your compliments onto Ana-Maria who helped you on arrival and made your stay more enjoyable. Thank you once again for your feedback and for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

spent 2 nights there and stayed in the attic room which was small and very expensive and overpriced,the breakfast was a joke my wife asked for bacon and egg and was served one egg and a rasher of bacon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your comments but we are disappointed that we did not live up to expectations. It is so important to research a booking before confirming to ensure that you have booked the sort of room you want at the price you would like to pay. Photos of all our rooms are on our website. As concerns the breakfast, we have a wide menu choice and guests can order whatever they like. We are sorry that your wife did not understand this. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Could not have found better anywhere. Everything was firstclass and attention to detail highly commended. Staff very helpful, rooms spotless, facilities excellent, breakfast menu top class and free on site parking. 5 minutes bus ride from City centre so did not need to move car. Would be happy to return anytime and recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTULeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We were delighted to read your review and to know that you found so much positive about your stay, our staff, rooms, food and location. All reviews are very valuable and yours was very encouraging, both for ourselves and for our staff. We hope to see you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartagena
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have spent the last 3 weeks touring UK by car and staying in B&Bs sourced through TA. This one was the most expensive and by far the best. The Owners have worked hard at getting things right - decor, amenities, breakfast menu, information and client attention. I am an hotel owner myself so have a particularly critical eye for detail. Congratulations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adolfredis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review and encouraging comments - we particularly appreciate your 'professional view-point'. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it a comfortable and enjoyable one. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
770 reviews
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#28 of 160 in Bath
1,006 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oldfields House
Oldfields House
#23 of 160 in Bath
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing