We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #19 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Brilliant service from arriving to leaving only stayed 1 night but I will use the hotel again.The breakfast was Excellent and staff were excellent too. The location is excellent for travel to and from. Thanks very much

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkD77Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us in running our business. We are glad we were able to provide you with a good service and that you found Aquae Sulis a convenient place to spend a night. We hope to have the pleasure of a repeat visit soon and thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    220
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
297
284
57
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljungsbro, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Aquae Sulis four nights and we had a very nice time here.
Very helpful staff and the breakfast was excellent.
Lovely room and comfortable beds.
The hotel is situated outside the centre, but the local busses go very often and you are in the centre about 15 minutes.
We are sure that we stay here next time we visit this part of England.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you, Marianne and Bosse, for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. Your feed back is very important to us. We are glad that we were able to help to make your visit to Bath a pleasant one and look forward to seeing you on a future visit to England. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Excellent accommodation; good nights sleep; clean; wide choice for breakfast which was perfectly cooked. Friendly and helpful while keeping a low profile. Location is conveniently close but not walking distance. Bus routes outside or our preference was a short drive to the Charlotte Street long stay car park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your review. We really appreciate the feedback on the business. We are pleased we were able to provide you with a good service. Charlotte Street car park is convenient, and it is also possible to buy an all day bus pass for Bath for £4.20. Hope to see you again in the future and thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for one night at short notice recently. We were very happy with the room and quality of service. Breakfast was excellent, good position near to the Bristol end of the town. Very helpful staff. we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We read our reviews very carefully and appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and we were able to provide you with a comfortable and convenient stay. We hope to see you again and thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Aquae Sulis is a beautifully equipped guest house , with lovely furnishings and thoughtful touches to ensure a relaxing stay. We had a family room for 4 which was spacious and beautifully presented. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast which would put a lot of hotels to shame.
Everything was cooked to order and delicious. Easy access to the City centre and free parking. Will definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: The family rooms are on the upper floor with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are a great encouragement to us all and we are very happy that we were able to contribute to an enjoyable visit to Bath. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Aquae Sulis hotel is situated in a victorian building, from the first step I felt quite at home there! I was delighted with everything: nice and cosy room with a lovely view on the garden, beatiful served breakfast and dishes, beautifully decorated hotel inside, personal attitude from the owners - Jane and David. On the arrival, Jane had given me keys from my room and a Big Ben Card, which I showed in Bath Thermae Spa and got a free prosecco )) Every breakfast was very delicious and cooked with love. Jane asked me twice if everything was ok. The service was perfect. If I would travel to Bath again, i will certainly choose Aquae Sulis for my accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anastasia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We very much enjoyed helping to make your stay in Bath such a memorable one and very much hope you will make a return visit soon. Thanks very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was a very nice surprise in Bath. We spent two wonderful nights at the Aquae Sulis. The facility, rooms, and public spaces were exceptionally clean and well kept, especially for an older building. The rooms were very nicely appointed and comfortable. The WiFi was as advertised....super fast. I was able to stream a football game on my tablet without a problem. The breakfast was superb. Good portions, excellent choice, and a lot of flexibility. Best of all were the people. The were cheerful and very helpful. When we ordered in take-out, the prepared a table, provided heated plates and cutlery, and offered drinks. Overall, a wonderful stay and certainly a place I would recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Top floor room was the family room with one double bed and two singles. One window to the street tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the feedback that you gave us on so many aspects of your stay which is reassuring and encouraging. It is good to get feedback on the WIFI and pleased that you were able to watch your football match.
Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
770 reviews
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#28 of 160 in Bath
1,006 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oldfields House
Oldfields House
#23 of 160 in Bath
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing