We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service from very kind staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #21 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing service from very kind staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in Aquae Solis B&B last Saturday and Sunday night and really could not rate it highly enough. The rooms were perfectly adequate for our stay but it was the little extras that set it apart from the rest for us. We were delighted that the bathroom contained large bottles of excellent quality shampoo, conditioner and shower gel , which from experience can be sorely lacking in other establishments.
The beds were extremely comfortable and had lovely soft linen of very high standard.
Breakfast was faultless with a very large selection available on the menu along with proper fruit salads and yoghurts at the buffet.
While we were delighted with all of this it was the service that really set it apart. My Mum (who myself and my sister were travelling with) became extremely ill after we had checked out and we began to panic as we had nowhere to go until our flight. In desperation we went back to the b&b and asked if we could sit somewhere until our taxi came. The lady there could not have been nicer or done more for us. She showed us into a private sitting room, got Mum a blanket and turned up the heat full blast for her....all with a smile. This was so kind of her and not something she had to do as we had already paid and checked out.
I would not hesitate in recommending Aquae Solis to family and friends and definitely will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillywinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comprehensive review of Aquae Sulis. We always appreciate this valuable feedback. We very much enjoyed having you and your family staying with us. We are pleased that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one and be able to give you some extra help while your mother felt poorly. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    217
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
290
280
56
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Plenty of off-road parking, a friendly welcome from attentive and helpful staff. Beautiful room, crisp white linen on comfortable beds, wonderful bathroom toiletries, plentiful breakfast, a relaxing atmosphere throughout this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden was warm and sunny, it also made for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SelinaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We appreciate all your comments and feedback. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a good level of service in your trip to Bath. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Aquae Sulis was a really good find for me in Bath. It has good parking and is well located on a good bus route if you don't want to drive.
The room I stayed in was small, but it was comfortable and very nicely decorated and in very good condition. It wasn't a room for someone who couldn't cope with stairs, but again that was clearly described on the web site.
The breakfast was really excellent. There was a great choice of items and it was very well cooked.
Finally, the staff were great; very friendly and happy to help sort out bus information and othe local tourist hotspots. Recommended

Room Tip: If you can't cope with stairs make sure you read the web site booking information. It is all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much value your feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our service. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast menu. We are always careful to not place people with mobility issues in the second floor and we are always on hand to carry luggage, etc. Thank you very much again and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Recent stay for 3 nights was our second visit. Called in to see if we could stay for the night due to bad weather overnight in January after taking our daughter back to her student house nearby. Made very welcome and showed a couple of rooms to choose from! This time we stayed in the garden annexe; very comfortable in both rooms. Breakfast was excellent and staff really helpful - also ordered an evening snack and this was served in the dining room. Easy parking at hotel and very close to park and ride or bus stop to Bath/Bristol right outside. Would be happy to stay again and pleased to recommend others to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We read all our reviews carefully and appreciate your comments. We are very pleased that we were able to look after you at short notice and that you had an enjoyable stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again sometime in your future trips to Bath. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We only stayed one night whilst my daughter had a visit to the university. Really friendly service, with prior arrangement we were picked up and dropped back off at the station. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. Could not fault the room. Had a nice walk along the river into centre of Bath for evening meal. Took about 30 mins. Breakfast was really good, service was good and plenty of choice. We will hopefully come back for a longer stay some time in the future as we had a lot more we wanted to see but had to get back for work!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We read our reviews carefully and always appreciate all the feedback. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay on your visit to Bath and we look forward to seeing you again in the future, especially if your daughter chooses Bath Spa University! Thank you very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent welcome, friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable.
Nice to each have comfortable bed in the family room.
Breakfast was yummy and plentiful. Close to bus stop convenient to city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate your valuable feedback and we are glad that we were able to make your visit to Bath an interesting and enjoyable experience. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Staff were very friendly, room wad clean an tidy and setviced daily.Nothing was too much trouble. Staff were knowledgable and gave me great advice on what and where to visit Not far from town centre, took 30 mins walking along the canal.
Although there is a bus stop outside. Would I use the Guest House again? Yes i rate it 5*

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelsandspiritss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We are glad that you found Aquae Sulis comfortable and convenient and we were able to provide you with a good service. For people who do not like walking there is a good doorstep bus service every 12 minutes and a park and ride every 10 minutes. Thank you very much again and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 6 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing