We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a visit to Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #19 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a visit to Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Choose Aquae Sulis after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and Booking.com, and I have to say that I was not disappointed. My husband and I have been doing the University trek with our Son and have stayed in a number of guest houses now and Aquae Sulis has been the best of all. Wonderfully spacious family room. Clean and tidy. A very warm welcome awaits and a fantastic breakfast. We have always loved Bath and now that we have found this wonderful little gem of a guest house we will be coming back again for a long weekend. We would wholeheartedly recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1PnoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your considered review. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a good standard of service. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    221
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
298
286
57
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We are 3 motorbikers from Belgium who had a lovely stay at Bath. Clean, friendly, helpfull... perfect for a cityvisit and so a perfect stay. Price quality very good. Good breakfast to. Parking also good for bikers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and found us convenient for a visit to the city sights of Bath. As an ex biker myself, it was a privilege to look after your lovely bikes. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Two german families, we stayed for one night in two rooms. The rooms are designed so nice and it didn' t matter that everything is quite small. Such a beautiful atmosphere everwhere in the Guest House and the garden. We loved to stay at this house, enjoyed the lovelly breakfast and the very nice service. We would choose this location again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your considered review. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay and we were glad to be of service. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Danke schön!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable and clean B&B/hotel to stay with exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff.
There is a pretty back garden to enjoy and the breakfast is fantastic!
Although the location is not central, Bath centre is only a short bus ride away.
Our room was quite small, however it was clean and the bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We read our reviews carefully and appreciate the feedback. We are glad that we were able to make you feel comfortable and welcome. We have a doorstep bus service, which offer an all day ticket for £4.00, and other great deals. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I had already booked a double room at Aquae Sulis when we heard that our student son was without accommodation for a few days. The staff were very helpful. putting another bed in our room and making him feel as welcome as they did us.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road, but set back enough that the noise isn't a major factor. Still, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We consider our guests' feedback very important. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we were able to accommodate your son also. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent just one night in town. Nice clean room, good breakfast, sympathetic staff. 10 minutes drive to downtown. Although it has its own parking space, I was unable to use it by night and left the car in the street. Good choice in town!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We take careful note of our guests' feedback. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and found us convenient. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a family wedding, I couldn't have stayed in a nicer place the staff at Aquae Sulis were out of this world there was nothing they couldnt have done for us. The breakfast was amazing and so fresh. The rooms were so clean and spacious for triple rooms and it is only 5mins in a taxi to central Bath. I would 100% go back here again it really made our stay in Bath worth while.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really apprecite your feedback and take note of your comments. We do enjoy helping our guests get the most out of their stay with us. We are glad that the wedding went well. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 160 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing