We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #17 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a very nice stay. The rooms were nice, clean and cute. I liked having a bathroom attached to the room. The only negative was that there was a little too much furniture in the room we had. I did have to move things multiple times since we did not have an empty space to put multiple suitcases. The breakfast was great. Traditional English big breakfast that kept you going for a while.The parking was small but nice and we always had a spot. It was outside the city center but there were a couple of places to walk for dinner. We took the car into the center and there was a large parking area. It is on a busy street but I had no trouble sleeping and I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichelleSG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate your considered and helpful feedback. We are really pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and you were able to get the most out of your trip to Bath. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

It is a lovely guest house, a little bit outside the centre of Bath, but there are three different buses you can catch just outside the door...not a problem!
The breakfast is marvellous, with a great variety of hot and cold and a lovely buffet with cereals, fruitsalad, fresh fruit etc.
I had the room with a private bathroom across the landing, but that was not a problem!
Everything was very clean and the owner, Jane, even drove me to the station on day of my departure!

Room Tip: One could choose a room at the back of the house, as Newbridge Road is a busy road, especially if on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingridb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your week long exploration of Bath and we were able to provide you with a good service. We look forward to seeing you again this month. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Room small but confertable. Nice staff, good breakfast. But too far for a walking to center. Need a car or you can take the bus.
It was nice to see that the staff did their best to help us with tips for our visit. Unfortunatelu there was no close restaurant for a late dinner, so we had to go in the center after check in.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Bath. We have a doorstep bus service, which offers a great deal all day ticket for £4.00, for those that are not walkers. We have local pub restaurants which take orders for dinner up to 9pm. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Any holiday break you take will only be as good as the place you stay in. Aquae Sulis was as good as, in many cases better, than any my wife and I have stayed in before. A large room, comfortably appointed with all that anyone could expect. Slight downside was the traffic noise, even that failed to keep us awake as there is so much that's good to see in Bath you're on your feet most of the day and pleasantly tired at the end of it. Leave the car, the bus service is first class as well as the Guest House. The staff are also in that league, they were always attentive and polite. We only ate breakfast in and that meal was as good a starter for the day as ever I've had anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate your considered and helpful feedback. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a good experience of Bath. We enjoy providing a good service to our guests. Being in Bath, the city can be a little busy, but thankfully our road is not a commercial route, and we have little traffic late evening and night. We hope to see you again sometime. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our bus from London was delayed so we didnt arrive at the guest house until 11:15pm. We were pleasantly surprised that the manager, Ana waited up for us! The hospitality continued through our weekend there and we loved it. We had a nice family room with 3 beds on the top floor and so enjoyed the benefit of a slopped ceiling - it included a private bath and was quaint and efficient. The breakfast in the morning included both a buffet of cold items as well as made to order hot items so quite ample. The free WIFI was also appreciated! The only possible negative was that it was especially hot right now and being on the top floor, even hotter. There was a fan in the room as well as a cooling machine (which didnt seem to work very well, although I know it was not supposed to be a air conditioner) so it was a bit warm at night but given how rare this is in England, I would defintiely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellen_bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We particularly appreciate your comprehensive feedback. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a good service and you enjoyed your stay. We apologise for the heat, but we make every effort to keep the building as cool as possible. Thankfully, the weather has returned to a pleasant summer temperature. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel was neat, clean and comfortable. The staff where helpful in giving directions and advised a great restaurant for us.There was ample parking out front. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice, the dining area was elegant beautifully presented. If we ever go to Bath again Aquae Sulis Guest House will be our first choice.
Thank you staff for making our stay in Bath memorable.
Yuzhen Evan and Charles

Room Tip: Room 5 had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuzhen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate all the feedback that we receive. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a good service and you were able to enjoy the beauty of Bath. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed here many times over the past few years, visiting family, and it is such a friendly and welcoming guest house. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We park the car there then either catch a bus, with a stop almost outside, or walk into town along the tow/cycle path, a lovely way to get to see behind the scenes. Breakfast is great, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Free WiFi helps us keep in touch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your important feedback. We are pleased that we have been able to provide you with many comfortable stays in Bath and you have been able to enjoy the city and your family so much. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,916 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing