We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay in Bath”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #20 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A great stay in Bath”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The guest house is an ideal choice if you travel in eastern England by car. A cosy, quiet and very clean room and a rich English breakfast allowed a good start in a busy day. Free and always available parking as well as free wi-fi made it easy to plan the next trip to Bath (nice foodpath along the river Avon) and into the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraft M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We always take note of and appreciate all the feedback we receive. We are glad that you made the most of your stay in Bath and that we were able to provide you with a good sleep and a good breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    224
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
301
293
58
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we were greeted so warm & friendly. shown to our room no9.miss hanna more room.plenty of tea & coffee milk.and an excellent CUPPA. very importent.teapot & a cosy.lovely room wonderful beds so comfortable.we slept well.breakfast excellent and two lovely bright & cheerful young ladies served us.well done girls you are first class.great variety of breakfast.lovely dining room.everywhere nice & clean.our room spotless clean towels changed daily. we ate @ the "boathouse" by the river. the best sirloin steak i've eaten. lovely food & nice atmosphere. recommend it.not far to walk. i choose aquae sulis because it was out of town, not far 10mins on bus to the centre i loved my room.thankyou to everyone.we enjoyed BATH & your wonderful hospitality.recommend highly.would stay again.jane lovely lady .very helpful

Room Tip: we had room no9 @ rear of house.house is on the main road BUT was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antoinette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate your comprehensive review and we appreciate the feedback. We are glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just enjoyed a lovely romantic break, excellent service, friendly staff and owners. We were very impressed with our room, very clean and smart, everything we needed
Nice area,
will definatly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guestmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We read all our reviews carefully and appreciate the feedback that you give us. We are glad that we were able to help you make your break a success. It would be hard for us here in Somerset / Avon to measure up to glorious Devon! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent just one night. It was a good stay. Good breakfast. Simple access to the city center. Reasonable size of the hotel car park. If it is busy you may leave your car in the street in front of the building free of charge. We recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had a family room (for 4) on the top floor. The size of the room was reasonable while bathroom wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojciech B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Bath and we take note of all the comments you have made. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A great value in Bath. It is a long walk into town, but there is a bus close by. (We never rode it and we are average in fitness) There is a fabulous local restaurant on the water, "The Boat House", that is within walking distance (a medium walk).

Guest house is cozy, but not modern. Very clean and the bathroom was very efficient. Nice common living area to lounge in. Tea biscuits (little wrapped cookies) were in the room each day with coffee/tea. Nice garden area in the back. Quiet. Large windows to open as there is no AC. Very friendly staff. Really great dinning area and on certain nights if you are too tired to go out they offer stuffed baked potatoes, salad, and pizza for a reasonable price. They will do your laundry for a fee. Breakfast is truly English and awesome. Freshly pressed decaf coffee is available. Would stay here again despite the distance from the town center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and you found our area of Bath to your liking. Walking into Bath is very pleasant if you cut up into Victoria Park and the Royal Crescent. We have a doorstep bus service every 12 minutes and they offer a very good all day ticket for £4.00. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a very nice stay. The rooms were nice, clean and cute. I liked having a bathroom attached to the room. The only negative was that there was a little too much furniture in the room we had. I did have to move things multiple times since we did not have an empty space to put multiple suitcases. The breakfast was great. Traditional English big breakfast that kept you going for a while.The parking was small but nice and we always had a spot. It was outside the city center but there were a couple of places to walk for dinner. We took the car into the center and there was a large parking area. It is on a busy street but I had no trouble sleeping and I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate your considered and helpful feedback. We are really pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and you were able to get the most out of your trip to Bath. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It is a lovely guest house, a little bit outside the centre of Bath, but there are three different buses you can catch just outside the door...not a problem!
The breakfast is marvellous, with a great variety of hot and cold and a lovely buffet with cereals, fruitsalad, fresh fruit etc.
I had the room with a private bathroom across the landing, but that was not a problem!
Everything was very clean and the owner, Jane, even drove me to the station on day of my departure!

Room Tip: One could choose a room at the back of the house, as Newbridge Road is a busy road, especially if on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingridb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We really appreciate your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your week long exploration of Bath and we were able to provide you with a good service. We look forward to seeing you again this month. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#30 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing