We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a touch of home!!!!!”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #20 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
swooley01
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just a touch of home!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This B&B has so over done its self and I wish to say Thank you to the staff, as well as Jane and Deve. I am so looking forward to my next trip and already booked to stay with them again. There is so much to see and do just a short walk in teh area and city center is not a bad walk also. If you are looking at a trip to Bath you MUST stop in here and say HI and spend a few nights with this great family. Thank you again for a great room, great breakfast every morning and just the little extra things you have done to make Aquae Sulis feel like a home for your guest! SEE YOU SOON!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swooley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    224
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
301
293
58
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This hotel is definitely a good choice.
Location is at a main street that has good public transport directly to town. And taxi from town centre only cost around 6pounds each way.
People are very friendly and nice.
Rooms are tidy and decorations are new and traditional.
the whole place is absolutely clean and neat.
They have wifi internet in many locations and I could just stay in my room and access the internet.
They have skyTV in the rooms and during my 2 nights stay, I watched carling cup games in both nights.

The only consideration would only be the price. But after all I would still recommend you to go there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I decided to go to Bath and booked the Aquae Sulis..the website was very helpful giving a very good idea of what to expect in each room and helped me in making my decision. It was also good that they have a per night charge for two people sharing a room ( rather than per person charge) and a reasonable charge for any additional people in the room. I found the fact that they offered a pick up service from the train station to be a very good touch..you feel welcome from the start and the owners Jane and David are very thoughtful and go out of their way for you. A suggestion would be to offer a continental breakfast as well as the English breakfast and cereals etc.I cannot fault anything though. One does need to use public transport or drive to the centre of Bath from the hotel , but would be ideal for people who don't like the noise that comes with being more centrally located. On the way back in the evenings, it was the most lit up hotel in the area! Looked lovely! The website's online booking option let you chose and book your rooms which is great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redrose176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We enjoyed three nights here for the British Transplant Games in August.
Lovely room (possibly a little dated), very clean, good location on outskirts of beautiful Bath. Excellent breakfasts (best meal of the day !), served by exceptional staff. Everyone was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble - top marks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConwayReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Great place to stay. We had terrific service from the greeting when we arrived to the information of getting around Bath and when to see sights. We were very grateful for the service of storing our bags and then delivering them to the train station when we were departing. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. We had a very delicious and plentiful breakfast in the morning. The servers were especially friendly at breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaSegstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My boyfriend and I thorough enjoyed our stay at this lovely guesthouse recently. The hospitality far surpassed anywhere I've stayed before! The owners went out of their way for us and we're very grateful having never been to Bath before. We only stayed one night but that didn't make any difference to how we were welcomed. The room we stayed in and it's private bathroom were both fantastically clean & comfortable with everything we could need. Choice of breakfast was wide and wonderful, and delicious! Totally recommended! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alocinbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights beginning of May. First impression, very friendly, the girl who checked us in was helpful regarding bus times\numbers, how to get into Bath, where we could smoke etc.

We stayed in the Dr Oliver Annexe, we chose this so we would have quick access to the garden for smoking. It was very private with its own entrance to the street as well as the garden access. The garden was well kept with tables and chairs. If the sun had been shining it would have been lovely to have a drink sitting out there.

Small but well stocked bar, comfortable lounge. What we did notice was how clean everything was, the bedroom had plenty of storage, a lovely shower room and everything as advertised on the web site. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful.

Bus into Bath centre was £2.20 single or a taxi cost just over £6.00.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#30 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing