We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkside
Ranked #148 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were only here for one night but our room was large and very nice. It was also nice and quiet with a very comfortable bed. Inge was super nice and gave us directions to get places and called a taxi for us when we asked about one to get to the train station. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the fresh fruit which we had missed at the hotel we stayed at for several days before in another town. The breakfast room overlooked a nice small garden in the back yard and we enjoyed wandering there before breakfast. This was a Rick Steves choice for B&B's and he was right on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnfrun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    20
    9
    11
    6
See reviews for
16
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Reading the reviews I can see why the landlady had said this morning "If only all my customers were Americans"... it seems us Brits are not getting as good an experience as you Yanks. The B&B itself is fine: easy access into town, no hairdryer, only one biscuit in the bedroom!, no choices over breakfast - but otherwise adequate, and the breakfast was delicious, if small portions.

But the landlady's attitude to us was utterly bizarre. We overslept forgetting the clocks had gone forward and came down to breakfast only to find the dining room door locked and her seething at the door saying "You'll be lucky! you're an hour late!" No breakfast for us then. No enquiry how we'd slept, no small talk. We asked if we could leave our bags there while we went for the day - something she'd offered the American guests with huge smiles the morning before - only to be told sharply no.

It's unusual to stay somewhere and feel 'told off', and I hope Ingar if you're reading this that we just caught you on a bad day. But I'm afraid for £85 per night, this was a poor experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachelfrbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Nice room overlooking the street, view of allotment gardens. Close to Royal Crescent; walked into downtown Bath with coffee/tea shop on the way. Lovely breakfast room with view into their flowering garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I highly recommend the Parkside B&B. We discovered it through Rick Steve's book, and as usual, it was an excellent choice, The room was clean and comfy, the breakfast great and the location can't be beat. I like to jog and there is a beautiful park located a few steps from the B&B. Also, just a short walk into town to see all the attractions (never had to take a taxi anywhere). The owner, Inge, is friendly and helpful. If we ever get back to Bath, we'll be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 14erKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
402 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Like other TripAdvisor reviewers, we discovered this B & B through Rick Steves' 2013 Great Britain travel book. The guest house is conveniently located, only steps away from Royal Victoria Park and the magnificent Royal Crescent and 5-10 minutes from the bustling downtown of this centuries-old city. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms were clean and attractive, with comfortable bedding. The shower was very small, however. WiFi was disappointing, and inaccessible in our room; I had to sit on the steps outside our room to obtain a connection. The breakfast room was attractive, but there was no sitting room downstairs. Breakfasts were nothing special and monotonous. Our hostess was polite but seemed distracted and professed to have no knowledge of her Internet access or the location of the wireless router.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, BC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days here and found it to be a pleasant time. The B and B is located near a park and is not very far from the centre of Bath about a 10 minute walk. Our room was large, clean and had a big bathroom. It was a quiet location. The owner was very friendly and helpful as to things to see and do. Breakfast was fine and was in a nice and bright room with a view of the garden. WiFi was a little sketchy in the room but was fine when you went downstairs which was OK with us. We would stay here again and Bath has many things to do and we could have stayed a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delta_BCRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We found this place in Rick Steve's book after all the decent options on booking.com were either booked or very over-priced. I'm glad we chose this place. The location was just where we like it: close enough to the center to walk, but outside the immediate hustle and bustle of the tourist center. The host was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable, and there was equipment to make coffee or tea in the room. Breakfast was nothing spectacular but enough to get you started for the day.
Cons: Wifi, although free, was very spotty. It would work great for a few minutes, then crap out for 10 minutes. Shower pressure was about the lowest I've experienced in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#55 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornerways Bath
Cornerways Bath
#54 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#28 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elgin Villa
Elgin Villa
#158 of 160 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside

Property: Parkside
Address: 11 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing