We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, old hotel on the edge of Bath's historic area.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #23 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, old hotel on the edge of Bath's historic area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Oldfields House was a wonderful, quaint old home that has been converted into a very quiet, comfortable boutique hotel. Our room was quiet and clean with an exceedingly comfortable bed and great pillows. The en suite bath was large, clean, and updated with a great spa bath tub. The breakfast, which is included in the tariff, was excellent, with a wide variety of choices. The smoked salmon and eggs was particularly good, served with a very generous portion of delicious, fresh smoked Scottish salmon. When we arrived on a cold, blustery rainy afternoon, we were welcomed with tea and biscuits in the drawing room and were invited to sit before a warm fire. It was much appreciated on our part. The hotel sits on a hill on the edge of Bath's historic area, making it a bit of hilly walk to the center of town. However, cabs are readily available. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AbpWilliamLaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    272
    59
    8
    4
See reviews for
87
714
56
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booked this for a weekend away and to watch a rugby match in Bath. A lovely Bed & Breakfast establishment with very friendly staff and nice clean rooms, ensuite shower & a good choice of breakfasts in the morning (they even had some gluten free bread for my wife to have toast). 10 minute easy walk to the town although not so easy coming back as it's all up hill but at least it helps to walk off your dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked this stay based on previous reviews and would definitely recommend. Lovely welcome with advice on some of the sights over a cup of coffee. Very clean room, comfortable bed and powerful shower. Delicious breakfast with good choice. Easy walk down into the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

A great B & B as described in previous reviews. It is ten minutes walk from the city centre but the benefit is a very quiet location with no disturbance at all. In fact the stroll back after dinner was pleasant and helped the dinner go down. Some very good pubs but they get very busy so go in early or mid afternoon. The only improvement for me would be a cafetiere and ground coffee in the bedrooms. We took our own. Highlight was Cava at breakfast! After we had a glass just about all the other guests joined in with some having a refill or two. Lovely staff and quality service.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent refreshing stay in December for the Christmas markets. Welcoming cup of tea and scones, on the house while we waited for our room to be ready. Easy walk into the city, another cuppa on the house when we returned that evening and to cap it all, absolutely fabulous cooked breakfast the next morning.
Really nice waiting staff, all happy and smiley - good value for money all round. Would happily recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the attic are for shorter people - under six foot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuildfordTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from a wonderful two night stay in Bath. Oldfields was really easy to find and being able to park there was a massive bonus, the car park is small but if you park sensibly within the lines then it is eact to park there. A short 10 minute walk in town makes it ideally situated, you do have to walk up hill to get back but its not a difficult climb even in heels! We stayed in the double attic room which had just been redecorated and it was lovely and cosy. Enough drawers and wardrobe space to hang your clothes up in and both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean. Our room was not quite ready when we arrived but we were given some coffee and biscuits and some helpful information on getting into the town and other local pubs. The breakfast was lovely, they do stop serving at 9.30am but if you want a slower morning then its easy to get up, eat and then go back and get ready. I had requested some coca cola in our room as its my boyfriends favourite and it was there on arrival with champagne glasses and a note to let them know when we want some ice! We did also have some champagne and the ice bucket was with us in minutes. All free of charge. Already recommended to friends and family alike. All in all a wonderful stay in a lovely building and all the staff were so friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: The double attic room has a view to the right of The Royal Crescent in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieP1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for only one night in Bath and found Oldfields very pleasant. As we didn't have a car, we walked into the main part of town for dinner (10 mins). The room was well kitted out with self serve coffee and tea. The breakfast was delicious. All the ladies we dealt with were very accommodating and friendly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing